We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Within walking distance to the train station and York Minster”
Review of Hedley House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hedley House Hotel
Ranked #14 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Within walking distance to the train station and York Minster”
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Loved the hospitality at this brilliantly situated hotel. The breakfast was the best I have had for a long long time. I hope to return shortly and the hotel staff have already sent me a great offer to use the spa area .

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bev_j_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gregHotel, Owner at Hedley House Hotel, responded to this review, 12 October 2012
Great to read you enjoyed your stay

Thank you for the review

Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,534 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    827
    501
    141
    46
    19
See reviews for
237
867
35
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North West
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

It's always a risk when you do a last minute booking (24hrs until arrival) as you don't really have time to do much research, and when the rooms are disappearing under your nose as you type you have to react fast! So I booked and then looked on here! And boy did it live up to all it's good reviews! We were in room 16 right at the top of the hotel and right next door to the staircase. Both of which could have been a concern. But no worries, we heard the revellers - hen party - leave and apparently my husband heard them come back - but I slept through it so the sound proofing must have been OK!
My only worry was the shower, the water disappeared -probably because it was such a long way up to reach us! But it was very hot and filled the bath admirably so not too much of an inconvenience. The receptionist took note and said somebody would look at it - and I believed her.
The homemade granola (as spoken about in an earlier review) is lovely,and the cooked breakfast was great (says hubbie). Staff attentive and efficient. All round a good day out!

Room Tip: Our room was small if you were there for more than a couple of nights, but out of the way so quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lancashire_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gregHotel, Owner at Hedley House Hotel, responded to this review, 8 October 2012
Thank you for the review

The plumber has been notified.. The hotel has had a full hot water re fit but room 16 sometimes struggles when there is REALLY high demand. Sorry about that!!

Regards

Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012 via mobile

Excellent 2 nights spent here.
The hotel is ideally situated, just a short walk to the city wall.
It is clean and warm and extremely welcoming.
The breakfast was delicious and more than enough on your plate.
The car park is a definite bonus as parking in york is ridiculous.
All the members of staff were very polite and helpful.
Will definitely be returning very soon.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gregHotel, Owner at Hedley House Hotel, responded to this review, 8 October 2012
Thank you for taking the time to add a review

Keep your eyes out or call for the latest special offers

We hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2012

Three nights spent at this lovely hotel, eight ladies on their yearly 'convention', staff so friendly, we even had our own room for breakfast and an evening meal, food excellent. Set in a great position for the city just a short walk, Cannot find fault with this hotel highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ToptartKentEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012 via mobile

We went to the hotel for a wedding at the hospitium and stayed with my wife and 6 month old baby.
From the moment we arrived the staff could not have done any more.
We were on the top floor as these had the biggest rooms so getting up 3 flights was a good workout but the staff helped.
The breakfast was lovely.
We needed to get the bottles cleaned and sterilised but the staff did this for us which was lovely.
We are in the hotel one night and the food was out of this world. I was very surprised how good it was.
Overall a very child friendly hotel and we would recommend to everyone.

Thank you and we will see you soon so you can see Jack

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kimamatthews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThebossYork, Owner at Hedley House Hotel, responded to this review, 2 October 2012
Thank you for taking the time to add a review.

Lou and I have 3 young children and know only too well how much those little extras help!

P.S New menu starts this week......


Regards

Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

I stayed at the Hedley House Hotel for four nights, during a conference in York. The staff were helpful, warm and welcoming. My room was charming, cosy and the bed was deliciously snuggly. The breakfast was delicious and, the one night I ate in the hotel, the meal was outstanding.

I can't say enough about how comfortable and what a warm experience I had staying there. I just can't find fault with a single thing. I highly recommend the hotel if you're visiting York. Which is a spectacular city.

Room Tip: The downstairs rooms are charming, spacious and very light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank remittancegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gregHotel, Owner at Hedley House Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
wow - what a fab review. Thank you

See you next time you are in York

Regards

Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Stayed at this hotel at the weekend, it was a last minute getaway for the night with wife and children. Having stayed in bob type hotels before I wasn't expecting much, this hotel is fantastically located just a few minutes from the city walls, the staff are incredibly friendly, room was adequate ( no lift to top floor) breakfast was lovely I recommend the home made granola. One thing that made me laugh, a foreign guest ordered his english breakfast from a foreign waitress and wanted only 1 slice of bacon, so that's what he got 1 slice of bacon, on its own on a plate!

Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ritchiefamily_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 46 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#21 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hedley House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hedley House Hotel

Property: Hedley House Hotel
Address: 3 Bootham Terrace, York YO30 7DH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in York
#4 Spa Hotel in York
#5 Family Hotel in York
#10 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hedley House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hedley House Hotel - A 3 Star Silver Award Hotel, within an 8 minute walk of the city. All rooms en-suite & all recently refurbished. Free wireless internet access. Off street car-parking, restaurant & lounge bar. 6 person outdoor aqua spa. Ample parking charged £10 per day. Electric car charging station Free wifi Deluxe rooms available with Apple TV ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hedley House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hedley Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing