We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once again ... Excellent!!!!”
Review of Hedley House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hedley House
Ranked #14 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Once again ... Excellent!!!!”
Reviewed 9 November 2012 via mobile

Had a 2 night stay during october half term. Everything was fab.. Had the same room as last year (21) plenty big enough for myself, my hubby & my son. Everything about Hedley House is just spot on...the location, the rooms, the breakfasts & of course the staff. They're all very friendly and helpful. Can't wait to return soon :)

Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ruth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,556 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    841
    507
    143
    46
    19
See reviews for
245
879
35
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

A special get-together with friends from Edinburgh and Cheshire (I'm from Australia) for my birthday. Hedley House is in a perfect location to wander the Museum gardens, the York Art Gallery, into the streets of York.
There were four of us, all happy with our rooms and the friendly hospitality. Our Sunday night meal was particularly enjoyable as we were the only guests in house and felt 'special' to be provided with such good dining and enjoyable service (see my beef pie attached). Highly recommend staying at Hedley House.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Had a lovely stay at Hedley this weekend, we were made to feel very welcome.

Our room (no. 30) was very spacious, with far more wardrobe space than even I need for a weekend away! The room was lovely and warm and the shower was wonderful. Didn't really hear much of the trains across the road at all.

My only criticism would be that from about 7:45am we could hear the staff going up and down the corridor above us, but it wasn't really a problem as it was time to get up for breakfast anyway!

Breakfast was typical English breakfast and was faultless. Service was quick but equally we didn't feel rushed.

In addition, the location was great, only 5-10 minutes walk to the Minster and was a really good base for a weekend exploring York. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gregHotel, Owner at Hedley House, responded to this review, 5 November 2012
Thank you for the great review and we hope to see you again soon

Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 November 2012

This was our 3rd stay at hedley house. As always, a brilliant stay with lovely clean room (one of very few 5bedded rooms in York) and fantastic hospitality. Would recommend to anyone looking for reasonably priced accommodation with second to none service. Only down side was the kids moaning about climbing the stairs!! Thank you Greg, Louise and all the staff

Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Helen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gregHotel, Owner at Hedley House, responded to this review, 5 November 2012
Its great to read people enjoy staying with us

Thank you for the review

Regards

Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Five UK Trippers from the US enjoyed our stay with Greg and Louise at the Hedley House Hotel. The breakfasts are remarkable: from light fare, to full English, to specialities of the region. Our rooms were spacious, and included kitchenettes, ensuite baths, and we each had our own bed. We especially liked having washing machines in our suites so we enjoyed clean clothes mid-way in our three-week tour of the UK. Hedley House is well-situated from the train station, York Minster, the city park, and the delightful Shambles boutiques and eating establishments. Louise is a personable, helpful host. The dining room is lovely. The dining room staff is helpful and conscientious. Sara is an extraordinarily helpful, kind, and personable manager. We were able to keep our packed luggage safe until our mid-afternoon departure. For service, cleanliness, location, and superb staff and owners, head to Hedley House.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

First time we have stayed at this lovely hotel and will definitely be booking again. Spent three nights and the hotel is superbly located only 5 minutes from the centre of York in a quiet street. Room was large and clean, meals very good and all the staff very friendly and helpful. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gregHotel, Owner at Hedley House, responded to this review, 29 October 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am really pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay

Regards

Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Many aspects of our stay at Hedley House were wonderful, but the lingering impression is of a a warm, friendly atmosphere and very attentive service. In particular, Sarah made us feel at home, attending to our needs and cheerfully preparing a fine and relaxing dinner even though she was the only employee on staff that evening.

The room was basic but fine, offering relatively new beds that were quite good. We had just come from a far more costly Lake District hotel with remarkably bad bedding, so we were delighted to enjoy a good night's sleep at Hedley House.

Breakfast was good as well, and the dining room was pleasant, with remodeled decor.

The location is terrific - close to the wall and Minster as well as the railroad museum.

Our sense was that we received good value for our expenditure, and that feeling raised our spirits after the preceding very costly bad sleep in the Lake District.

Again, kudos and thanks to Sarah for a great, "home-like" experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,303 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#19 of 47 in York
1,497 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Churchill Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hedley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hedley House

Property: Hedley House
Address: 3 Bootham Terrace, York YO30 7DH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in York
#4 Spa Hotel in York
#5 Family Hotel in York
#10 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hedley House 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hedley House Hotel - A 3 Star Silver Award Hotel, within an 8 minute walk of the city. All rooms en-suite & all recently refurbished. Free wireless internet access. Off street car-parking, restaurant & lounge bar. 6 person outdoor aqua spa. Ample parking charged £10 per day. Electric car charging station Free wifi Deluxe rooms available with Apple TV ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hedley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hedley Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing