We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a great weekend in york”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hedley House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hedley House Hotel
Ranked #15 of 45 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“a great weekend in york”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2012

got to york in torrential rain but only had a short run into the hotel from the carpark. Good exercise climbing to the 2nd floor but worthwhile as room was spacious and clean. Hotel location is brilliant as the Minster is only a 5 minute walk. Best memory of the hotel is the friendly helpful staff.

if you are looking for good pub nearby then try the Exhibition but if a curry is on your menu then keep away from the Raj.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulc301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,527 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    824
    497
    141
    46
    19
See reviews for
237
860
35
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2012

We used Hedley House Hotel as a base for a wedding. The room was up-to-date and clean and contained everything we needed. However, the most impressive part of this hotel is the service. The staff really were happy to go an extra mile to help (including providing us with the manager's parking permit when the hotel car park was full!) They happily obliged us with an early check in and late check out on request, the breakfast was lovely and the location is great for the centre of York.

Room Tip: Lots of stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swallowsandsweetpeas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2012

My mum and I stayed at Hedley House for 2 nights to celebrate her 60th birthday. Hotel is conveniently located 10 mins from the train station and 10 mins to the centre of York. The hotel staff couldn't have been more welcoming. After a quick check-in, we were offered complimentary tea and coffee in the lounge. Our room was an extremely spacious 3 bedded room with en-suite - very comfy beds! We ate in the hotel restaurant the 1st night, although a bit pricey the food was great as was the wine! Breakfast was varied and filling. All staff were very friendly and welcoming. Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2012

Me and my girlfriend just got back from a really enjoyable two night stay at the Hedley House Hotel. We couldn't find anything to fault with the hotel or the staff and the location is perfect being only five minutes walk from the shops. We enjoyed a lovely three course meal on our first night, my girlfriend's steak was very tasty and I had the pork which had a sauce that was delicious and the breakfast was filling and tasty. The staff were polite and efficient and we liked the way we could come and go as we pleased. The rooms were warm, clean and spacious. We really enjoyed our stay in York and would return to this hotel and recommend it as a place to stay. Thanks.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Si B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2012

Just got back from two days in York staying at Hedley House Hotel ,Good location you can walk into the city so no parking costs as York is very expensive to park your car.Staff were very helpful and the breakfast was good the rooms were clean but quite basic they could do with revamping. we were in the attic room, very quiet so a good nights sleep, if you have time the railway museam is very good

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vickyandalbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2012

Stayed at Hedley House for 2 nights to do Xmas shopping and see St Nicholas Fayre. The staff at Hedley House were very friendly and welcoming but the room we had was a bit tired - could do with modernising!!!!! The hotel was extremely busy but the breakfasts were excellent and the staff couldn't do enough for us, The location of the hotel was good with only a 10 minute walk to centre - ideal.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
198 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2012

We spent two nights here and would certainly return. The hotel is in a really good location. We walked from the railway station (less than 10 minutes) and also walked easily into town (again about 10 minutes). It is situated on a lovely quiet road, so no passing traffic. Our attic room was a reasonable size and we had a great view of York Minister. It was quite a challenge up all the stairs with luggage, but our 4-year old loved the climb - saying it was great fun! We were made really welcome upon arrival and it was a lovely touch to be offered free tea, coffee or hot chocolate in the lounge when we had settled in and unpacked. The bar / lounge area was really useful and lovely to go and sit for a drink and read of the newspaper after a busy day. Breakfast was a more mixed experience. A rather limited selection of cereals and fruit, but then the cooked breakfast on Day 1 was one of the best I have had for a long time. They seemed to struggle a bit more with numbers arriving for breakkfast at the same time on the second day and the food was not quite as good. Overall, location and welcome get top marks and breakfast gets above average. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hisimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 45 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
St Denys Hotel
St Denys Hotel
#1 of 45 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#17 of 45 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hedley House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hedley House Hotel

Property: Hedley House Hotel
Address: 3 Bootham Terrace, York YO30 7DH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in York
#4 Spa Hotel in York
#5 Family Hotel in York
#10 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hedley House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hedley House Hotel - A 3 Star Silver Award Hotel, within an 8 minute walk of the city. All rooms en-suite & all recently refurbished. Free wireless internet access. Off street car-parking, restaurant & lounge bar. 6 person outdoor aqua spa. Ample parking charged £10 per day. Electric car charging station Free wifi Deluxe rooms available with Apple TV ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Lastminute, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hedley House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hedley Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing