We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but overpriced”
Review of Hedley House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hedley House
Ranked #14 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
165 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Good location but overpriced”
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We stayed one night at Hedley House on a hot July night. The good: the hotel location is excellent and within an easy walk of the Minster and several good eateries. The car park is conveniently located behind the hotel with access through the back of the hotel.

The not so good: Our room furnishings were drab and dated. The bed was comfortable and the bedding clean, but it appeared old and grayish giving the feeling that it wasn't clean.

We were there during a summer hot spell. Our second floor room faced west and no attempt had been made to shade the sun pouring in through the day or even to open a window to cool the room. Therefore the room was extremely hot. Certainly the hotel can't control the weather, but they can control those few items to keep the rooms as cool as possible. When we requested a fan, we were told there weren't any more available, but they'd try to find something, which they did... a beat up old noisy table fan with a fan cage that kept falling off. Of our ten nights in the UK, this was our worst.

Perhaps another room in this hotel on a cooler day would be better, but for the price it's a poor value.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gregHotel, Owner at Hedley House, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you found some faults with your stay, we hope that it didn't spoil your visit to our beautiful city. We have been out and bought some more fans as this hot spell seems to be lasting - we generally don't need them in this part of the country!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,540 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    832
    502
    141
    46
    19
See reviews for
239
871
35
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2013

What a pity the executive room we had booked we were taken to was dirty, with bedding which was soaking wet. The bathroom floor was worn and black, the bath panel was damaged and the settee cushions were filthy.

What a pity we didn't study paragraph 24, sub-section 2 of the booking terms and conditions when we were offered a room change.

What a pity the executive status of the alternative room we were moved to was due only to it having an ensuite bathroom. The board outside the hotel states that all rooms are ensuite, not all are assigned executive status.

What a pity we didn't realise that the room's iron was actually in a cupboard across the landing in a separate corridor.

What a pity the checkout receptionist seemed to have misplaced her customer focus when I raised the question of the condition of the bedding in the first room. The reception staff having offered to change the wet bedding was sufficient grounds to dismiss my complaint.

What a pity we didn't stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterMN2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gregHotel, Owner at Hedley House, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
What a pity you felt the need to leave this review

What a pity the check out receptionist (aka the owner) does not respond well to being shouted at first thing in the morning

What a pity you stormed off before we could address your issues properly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

The four of us stayed for three nights at the end of July in two rooms which were very comfortable, ours at times being a little too warm due to the very hot weather outside. We ate there twice in the evenings and the food was delicious, all freshly prepared. I particularly enjoyed the roast vegetables served with the main course. The hotel is well placed for walking back into the centre of York - my 85 year old mother-in-law did not find the walk at all difficult. The staff are very friendly and helpful and we would certainly stay here again when we next visit York.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OakwoodEN2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2013

The staff were absolutely great, friendly and helpfull. Room was very spacious, clean and airy. The whole experience of stopping in this property is magnificent, Definately worth a visit, I am hoping for a 10 night stay next time not just 5.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angela p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

3 of us stayed at Hedley house 25th July it was great.We had a room for 4 at the top of the Hotel it was really clean and comfortable.
We had a meal at night in the restaurant wow!!! it was fantastic the food was cooked to perfection. I had the Duck, Sarah had the steak and Christine had the fish of the day which was a rather large tuna steak. The standard of the food carried on the next day with the breakfast it was great.
The final day we left our bags and walked into York to do some shopping we returned approx 4pm and had a sandwich and drink in the garden we then walked to the train station to go home.
We couldnt praise the stay enough, the only downer was the hot tub was being cleaned so we didnt manage to get in it, but we had a back massage which was wonderful.
We hope to come back later in the year and stay for 2 nights instaed of 1

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CazBaz58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Hedley House hotel is in a good location on a quiet street close to the city centre. The staff are lovely and very friendly and efficient. Our room was a little disappointing as it was very small....not one of the ones shown on the website and the décor was a bit old fashioned and dull. However, the bathroom looked very modern and the room was spotlessly clean. Breakfast was very good.

Room Tip: Room 10 is very small but has a good bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thebradfords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Arrived friday afternoon for the weekend. we booked in and were taking to a room which was in the attic half way there we had to stop the guy the stairs were a nightmare,so we got our second room which was red hot no air con ,or fan, and to top it off the window did not open so on to our third room in the basement no windows, looking out onto a wall it was ok but went out on saturday night came back to find a car blocking the entrance to our room. we also think it was well over priced NEVER AGAIN ............

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandnilsmaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
1,198 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#20 of 46 in York
1,467 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 46 in York
605 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hedley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hedley House

Property: Hedley House
Address: 3 Bootham Terrace, York YO30 7DH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in York
#4 Spa Hotel in York
#5 Family Hotel in York
#10 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hedley House 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hedley House Hotel - A 3 Star Silver Award Hotel, within an 8 minute walk of the city. All rooms en-suite & all recently refurbished. Free wireless internet access. Off street car-parking, restaurant & lounge bar. 6 person outdoor aqua spa. Ample parking charged £10 per day. Electric car charging station Free wifi Deluxe rooms available with Apple TV ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hedley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hedley Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing