We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Short break”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hedley House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hedley House Hotel
Ranked #15 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Short break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

Very friendly and comfortable with excellent food. Upgraded to a self catering room with a double and a single bed and full kitchen / dining area which would be ideal for family. Will stay here again without doubt

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OPaul1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,527 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    824
    497
    141
    46
    19
See reviews for
237
860
35
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

This hotel is a real gem! It's location is very good - approx 5 easy minutes walk to York Minster, which can be seen from the Hotel. We stayed 2 nights and had a downstairs room which was lovely - beautiful wood floor and a sleigh bed. Bathroom was large with bath and separate step in shower. Nice toiletries are provided and fluffy towels.Weather was cold but room was warm & cosy. Breakfast was very good - nice quality food. Staff were very good, efficient, pleasant and seemed genuinely enthusiastic about the Hotel - wanted us to enjoy our stay. York is a lovely place and we would definitely stay at Hedley House again.

Room Tip: Room 30, downstairs, is easy to get to and very good for car park access. It's quiet as nobody p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Curranv1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHEFFIELD
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

We stayed here on KGB deal and fr bed and breakfast it was good value.it is a 5 minute walk into the city centre through some beautiful gardens onto Museum Street.
We upgraded to a larger room for a small amount and the room was spacious and comfortable.
Breakfast was excellent with really good choice and home made items, bags of tea.
Staff very accomodating , helpful and friendly

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PETERSCOTHORN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swindon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

Stayed for two enjoyable nights, waking up to a good breakfast served by very pleasant staff.
The hotel is ideally situated for the shops and Railway Museum, which are both just ten minutes walk away. The added benefit of parking is useful and the hotel allowed us to park on the final day for just £5.00 to help us get some extra shopping done.
Can`t wait to go there again, will certainly recommend a stay, it was very clean and all the staff were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ground floor number 20 was very spacious with an extra bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keith b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

Spent two nights at this centrally located small hotel with my wife on a Christmas shopping trip having found the hotel on line. As described it is ideally located and just a short walk into the centre of York, an easy five-ten minute walk. The hotel is clean and bright with friendly staff who give a warm welcome. The room we were in was on the very top floor and this requires negotiating several flights of stairs which was not an issue for us but for elderly visitors would certainly be a problem. So if you feel this would be a problem make sure you check on booking as there is no lift to use.

Our room was clean and modern with a good sized bathroom, clearly the room and bathroom had been modernised. The room was a large family room with a double and two single beds and would have easily accommodated a family of four.

The breakfasts were superb, a great choice of cereals and fruit juices and a fabulous full English all served by attentive an friendly staff.

The car parking was a plus when booking and is just as described on line, it is tight and requires some negotiating but not an issue to a competent driver.

Would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 213Alan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

We stayed three days during October half term week. The location is ideal for walking - we parked the car at the hotel and didn't use it. The room was good, comfy bed, good breakfast, and not expensive even for an apartment room with kitchen. Will use it again. Staff very friendly, and the hotel was full.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maisondubois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

Very friendly hotel, very handy for all of the main visitor attractions in York, but in a quiet street. Lovely evening meals and a very good breakfast. We enjoyed our stay there and would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank myrabell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,096 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
St Denys Hotel
St Denys Hotel
#1 of 46 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#19 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hedley House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hedley House Hotel

Property: Hedley House Hotel
Address: 3 Bootham Terrace, York YO30 7DH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in York
#4 Spa Hotel in York
#5 Family Hotel in York
#10 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hedley House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hedley House Hotel - A 3 Star Silver Award Hotel, within an 8 minute walk of the city. All rooms en-suite & all recently refurbished. Free wireless internet access. Off street car-parking, restaurant & lounge bar. 6 person outdoor aqua spa. Ample parking charged £10 per day. Electric car charging station Free wifi Deluxe rooms available with Apple TV ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Lastminute, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hedley House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hedley Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing