We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Stay!”
Review of Hedley House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hedley House Hotel
Ranked #14 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Stay!”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Stayed at Hedley House Hotel at weekend and it was a perfect stay.
We travelled to York by train, as the hotel was easily accessible to/from the station (including the perfect directions sent to us!). The hotel was also very central to York City Centre.
Our room was spotless and very comfortable. We also loved the hot tub and the fact it was all done by pre-booking which meant we had the hot tub and steam room all to ourselves.
The hotel was busy, which was good to see. However busy the hotel was, the staff were always helpful and in the morning, breakfast was served quickly and was delicious.
It had been many years since we last visited York, however after our stay at Headley House, we will certainly return very soon!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,534 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    827
    501
    141
    46
    19
See reviews for
237
867
35
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Staff very helpful and friendly. Rooms nice and clean - big en suite bathroom. The best bed I have ever slept in at the hotel! Great location - close to the city centre but nice and quiet. Tasty breakfast. Definitely going to come back.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Viconiaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Nice, welcoming hotel and only a short 10 minute walk (max) to the city centre.
Bed's aren't the most comfortable in the world and not being on a top floor can mean noisy neighbours in the early hours from the rooms above.

All in all, very decent and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SniperY2K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stalybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Absolutely loved this place, its far enough out to be very peaceful but only 5-10 mins walk to the centre. Easily accessible from the train station so no need to take the car, hotel provides handy easy to follow instructions where to go.

The room was a twin on 2nd floor very comfortable and extremely clean. The hotel is beautifully decorated throughout and nice and cosy in the lounge area. As a guest we went in the sauna and hot tub which were outside, it was lovely, the staff brought out towels, robes even wine!!!

Breakfast was continental with the option of having cooked as an extra but there was more than enough without. Nice quality ingredients with the chefs own jams, lemon curd, marmalade and granola. All the food was fantastic and a good selection of beers and wines it would be hard not to find something.

We stayed as a group on deal not realising the hotel also do their own deals so worth checking the website. All the staff were very helpful and really do make a difference. Will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HDyson75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We loved our stay, all the staff were brilliant and rooms were also great. This hotel made the trip in York even better. The breakfast was fresh and the choice was excellent. The location is amazing. It is only 5mins walk from York minister.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jake D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Please note, I can be a very harsh critic of hotels as I used to work in tourism.

We booked as a party of four for a birthday weekend in York. We did a great deal of looking and wanted to be in the same room or adjoining rooms. We stumbled across Hedley House and it was by far the best offer compared to other B&Bs, small hotels and hotel chains in York.

We had our own apartment as such, with lovely bathroom and kitchen which meant we could do our own thing without going in and out of the hotel. We paid for the breakfast which I'm glad we did as it was faultless food - lots of choice, healthy and cooked the way we liked it with plenty of tea/coffee and toast all round.

Had a fantastic weekend in part due to a great hotel - thank you for your kind hospitality and customer service.

NB: We saw the refurbishments taking place but they in no way affected our stay and think the updates really make the place quite stylish.

Room Tip: Larger rooms (quadruple rooms) are massive self contained decent apartments and are undersold on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ysmum84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atherstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Stayed here with family for a weekend break in a 3 person room. The room was spacious, comfortable and well equipped, the shower was amazing. The staff were really friendly and helpful with directions in York and arranging a taxi for us on the Saturday night. The breakfast was very nice and they catered for one of our party who is gluten free, which was great. Brilliant location, 10 minute walk into the Centre of York. The only negative was how difficult it was to find the place once in York, because of the one way system. Clearer directions are needed as our SatNav was trying to send us up a one way street to get to the post code. Other than that, absolutely ideal hotel for a weekend break in York.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 46 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#21 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hedley House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hedley House Hotel

Property: Hedley House Hotel
Address: 3 Bootham Terrace, York YO30 7DH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in York
#4 Spa Hotel in York
#5 Family Hotel in York
#10 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hedley House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hedley House Hotel - A 3 Star Silver Award Hotel, within an 8 minute walk of the city. All rooms en-suite & all recently refurbished. Free wireless internet access. Off street car-parking, restaurant & lounge bar. 6 person outdoor aqua spa. Ample parking charged £10 per day. Electric car charging station Free wifi Deluxe rooms available with Apple TV ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hedley House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hedley Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing