We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”
Review of Hedley House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hedley House
Ranked #14 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
arbroath
Level Contributor
150 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Just returned from the Hedley today after a 2 night kgb deal stay.We stayed in room 9 which was very nice.Huge kingsize bed and also a single.Lovely big bathroom.Good quality flat screen tv.Tea and coffee making facilities.Hair drier and plenty sockets in the correct positions (ie next to the mirror for straighteners etc). Ironing board and iron provided on each floor.Lovely friendly staff throughout who catered for your every need.Nice breakfast with plenty of choice of good quality food.The hotel is situated in a great location just a 5 minute walk from the hustle and bustle of the city centre.But extremely quiet and a good nights sleep is guaranteed.All in all i can't recommend this establishment highly enough....Thanks for the lovely stay in your beautiful city.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank stuart w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThebossYork, Owner at Hedley House, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Its so rewarding to hear / read you enjoyed your stay so much

Thank you

Regards

Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,540 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    832
    502
    141
    46
    19
See reviews for
239
871
35
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I stayed here with my family (2 adults, 2 chn) last weekend, and the hotel suited out needs perfectly. Room was small but we didn't need stacks of space - just somewhere warm and clean to rest up. Breakfast was great - more choice and higher quality than I expected. A great location - York is such a beautiful city it's hard to find anywhere central which isn't a great location. No complaints at all.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLOakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThebossYork, Owner at Hedley House, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you for reviewing HH - great to read we met your expections

We hope to see you again soon

Regards
Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We've just got back from a 2 night stay at Hedley House. Staff were v friendly throughout the hotel. We found it v warm in our room, even though there was no heating on! Maybe it's just because our house is usually quite chilly! Hotel is close to city centre too and was an ideal base for us. Thought York was expensive especially drinks and meals. When we came last time (about 10 years ago) with our children, the museums and Minster were free to view but there was a charge now. There is still plenty to do in York and we really enjoyed our break. Would recommend the hotel to our friends and family.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in a very good location; only a few minutes' walk from the Minster and all the lovely shops, but in a quiet street with no traffic noise so you should get a good night's sleep. The room and public areas were clean and nicely decorated and the bar, although quite small, is welcoming. The staff were all very friendly and helpful.

Our room (no. 5) was rather small for a double, and the end of the bed was only about 6 inches from the wall so it was very difficult to negotiate around the bed. We were only staying for one night so it didn't really bother us, but it could become annoying if you are staying for longer. The bathroom wasn't big, but was spotlessly clean with lovely thick towels - our only small complaint being that there were no shelves or surfaces where we could put our toiletries, toothpaste etc. the addition of a small shelf would have made a big difference.

Overall though our stay at Hedley House was very pleasant and we wouldn't hesitate in staying there again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jainpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stayed at the Hedley House in December 2013 for a pre christmas birthday break and was impressed with the quality and level of service for the price, rooms very good and food very tasty

highly recommended

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CraigDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Overall pretty good, room clean and a good size. However small things that did let it down were signs of green mold around the window, outside door in the bathroom area had seen better days, sealant around bath and shower tray,crack on wall behind bed. Things that could easily be put right with a bit more attention to detail in the maintenance department. Plus point yes it had a "Car Park" which was good considering HIGH parking charges in York down side space is limited and can be very tight.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Carpet was filthy not hoovered, I had a young baby so wasnt ideal a dirty floor. The pictures of the room on the interent was nothing like the room at all extreamly basic, bathroom had slight mould very dissapointed for the money we paid.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
1,198 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#20 of 46 in York
1,467 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 46 in York
606 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hedley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hedley House

Property: Hedley House
Address: 3 Bootham Terrace, York YO30 7DH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in York
#4 Spa Hotel in York
#5 Family Hotel in York
#10 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hedley House 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hedley House Hotel - A 3 Star Silver Award Hotel, within an 8 minute walk of the city. All rooms en-suite & all recently refurbished. Free wireless internet access. Off street car-parking, restaurant & lounge bar. 6 person outdoor aqua spa. Ample parking charged £10 per day. Electric car charging station Free wifi Deluxe rooms available with Apple TV ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Lastminute, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hedley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hedley Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing