We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Happy Visit”
Review of Hedley House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hedley House
Ranked #14 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 May 2014

As an ex-travel Agent I can say that Hedley House is one of the best small hotels I have visited.
I especially appreciated being able to invite friends to a delicious dinner, which went on a long time and we all very much enjoyed! I shall recommend Hedley House to friends in the UK and abroad,.
Moira.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela-Edward-Moira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gregHotel, Owner at Hedley House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Great to have you back and we look forward to seeing you again soon

Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,567)
There are newer reviews for Hedley House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

507 - 513 of 1,567 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2014

My friend and I had a lovely couple of nights stay at Hedley House....The staff were lovely, Our room was spotless, The beds were comfortable. The breakfast was excellent and good value for money... The hotel is within easy reach of the shops and restaurant and bars ect.
They think of everything, even down to the umbrellas on a rainy day.

We will most certainly be coming back again and we will recommend it to our friends and family.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jennypoohs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We booked two nights and wish we could have stayed longer. Every thing was first class and will certainly be the only place we will stay when we next visit York. Staff are pleasant,The hotel is impressive and tastefully decorated. The food was excellent too. No complaints at all. A big thank you to all.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fred H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We spent a couple of nights at the Hedly House last week and had an excellent stay. Great location within a few minutes walk to town centre and railway museum. Breakfast was fantastic and our room was clean and bright. Friendly staff helped make this an enjoyable visit. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a good location at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Worth upgrading to larger room.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Just spent two nights at Henley House. Lovely room with a huge bathroom both fantastically lit with natural light. Staff were genuinely welcoming and couldn't be more helpful. Great breakfast. Our only negative was we couldn't find the car park! We throughly enjoyed our visit.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard2803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

AMAZING! Really enjoyed our stay. Very friendly, helpful staff. Thank you for having us. Would recommend. Short walk from the centre. Very accommodating. Good parking. Clean room. Very big comfy beds. It's all the extras that make headley house stand out from the rest! They have thought of everything from umbrellas for those Rainey days to straighteners for those forgotten essentials. Perfect.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennie_Byron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We booked this on a Groupon deal and we were a little worried it might be a shabby little place trying to drum up business. How wrong we were.
We had a big room with all the usual amenities. Soft bed, ample sized bathroom. Very helpful friendly staff, from the owners to the chef. (More about him later)
We were given a helpful guide around a local map, which came in very handy and were shown to our room by Andy, the Manager.
We also chose to eat one night in the restaurant. We were not disappointed. Sean Hammond is the resident chef and his food,, quality and portion size is excellent. We had a proper meal for 4, lots of variety and everything served up was excellent. Even if you don't stay here, go for a meal.
The hotel is ideally placed for the town, without being in the middle of the hustle and bustle. A 10 minute walk from the town centre, 5 mins from the buses and railway station and 3 minutes to the river. A great early morning walk for those that way inclined.
I honestly haven't been able to fault the place. The breakfasts were served efficiently by the staff and the quality of the food from the bread to the bacon was obvious. We also had bar snacks one day, again, great portions of quality.
There is also a modest spa, including jacuzzi that you can book by the hour and massages too, all at extra cost , but we didn't have time to try that.
If I ever visited York again, if Lou and Greg still owned the place, I wouldn't bother going anywhere else.
Perfect. We can't thank you all enough.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the back. There is a local railway line and whilst not very frequent, they can...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gregHotel, Owner at Hedley House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to add your comments

Its great to read you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again soon

Regards

Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,339 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#17 of 47 in York
1,505 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hedley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hedley House

Address: 3 Bootham Terrace, York YO30 7DH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in York
#4 Spa Hotel in York
#5 Family Hotel in York
#10 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range: £86 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hedley House 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hedley House Hotel - A 3 Star Silver Award Hotel, within an 8 minute walk of the city. All rooms en-suite & all recently refurbished. Free wireless internet access. Off street car-parking, restaurant & lounge bar. 6 person outdoor aqua spa. Ample parking charged £10 per day. Electric car charging station Free wifi Deluxe rooms available with Apple TV ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hedley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hedley Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing