We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another splendid week in York.”
Review of Hedley House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hedley House
Ranked #14 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Mellieha, Malta
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Another splendid week in York.”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

It was Hedley House again for a group of 25 students and 4 teachers. Very clean rooms, a special area just for us for breakfast and dinner....Food great and both students and teachers loved every meal. Very close to city centre and nearby gardens...It will be Hedley House again for our next visit to Yorkshire.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marojMellieha_Malta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,549 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    837
    504
    143
    46
    19
See reviews for
243
876
35
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Loango National Park, Gabon
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This independent hotel sits in a quiet street off a busy main road close to York city centre a train line runs past the front of the hotel but the noise level was minimal and our first floor room faced directly on to it. There is parking at the rear which is very convienient but you will certainly not need your car as there are three different ways to walk into the centre of town, along the main road and through one of the "gates" next to the minster, through the museum gardens when they are open and along the river side each one taking no more than 15 minutes. The hotel itself has a small bar and reception area with wifi (which you can pick up in some of the rooms) a functional dining area but with some pleasant window seating, the rooms and especially the bathrooms are large (well ours was) with one of the best showers I have ever encountered on my international travels nothing fancy just easily adjustable with excellent pressure. A well cooked breakfast is available in the dining room.

Room Tip: The hotel does not have a lift so rooms on the lower floors are best if you have luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Major99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mablethorpe, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This is our second visit we came in April and loved it that much we booked there and then for the le Tour de France... Food was lovely the staff so helpful and friendly nothing was no trouble.. The rooms was lovely clean and fresh... Now how does a fully booked hotel cope with everyone coming down to breakfast at the same time due to us all wanting to watch the tour?? I don't know how you all did it but you did... Well done the stress didn't show on any of you well done and thank you for a fab weekend see you later on in the year. A very relaxing hotel nice and quiet too.

Room Tip: A short walk into town very handy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poughkeepsie, New York
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

This is a beautiful hotel, well run, though a bit pricey. Breakfast was excellent, the room was very adequate, and the en suite bath was fine (although my wife slipped on the tile floor and fractured her pelvis). Parking is available in the back, although it takes a bit to find the entrance to the car park.

Room Tip: There's no elevator, so if you have a problem call ahead for a ground or first-floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leathem04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, MI
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We recently stayed at the Hedley House in York. Very clean and nice.. The service was excellent. However, the wifi did not work in our room so we were forced to sit in the lobby to use it. And the mattress in our room definitely needed to be replaced. Overall the location was excellent with just a short walk to downtown.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tornadomom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Was delighted on arrival polite friendly .
Questioned the receptionist regarding the outdoor spa room outside our bedroom window ... What time it was locked up for the evening 10 pm we were told. At 1.45 am the party was still going in the spa .... No staff member around to notify !!!! Second night pleasant enough was given a apology and a speach that WEEE have forgotten what it is like to be young !!!!
Next night nice enough third day our shower takes on it's own life and stops and starts when it likes ....next night up till midnight with my partner in the roof doing plumbing duties because the night manager doesn't know what to do calls the owner who calls the plumber to give us directions to fixing the problem !!!!
Not even a thank you !!!!
Wt??? At 110. Pounds a night I wouldn't bother!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Monica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Stayed for one might over half term. The staff are very helpful and friendly. The location couldn't be better a few minutes walk into the centre of York via the river and the museum gardens. The room we had was small but a huge bed and brilliant ensuite. Reasonably priced for location and have recommended to family and friends. Also loved Oscar and Riley.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giraffe07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,249 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
621 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#18 of 47 in York
1,478 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hedley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hedley House

Property: Hedley House
Address: 3 Bootham Terrace, York YO30 7DH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in York
#4 Spa Hotel in York
#5 Family Hotel in York
#10 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hedley House 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hedley House Hotel - A 3 Star Silver Award Hotel, within an 8 minute walk of the city. All rooms en-suite & all recently refurbished. Free wireless internet access. Off street car-parking, restaurant & lounge bar. 6 person outdoor aqua spa. Ample parking charged £10 per day. Electric car charging station Free wifi Deluxe rooms available with Apple TV ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hedley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hedley Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing