We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay at Hedley House Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hedley House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hedley House Hotel
Ranked #17 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
lichfield
2 reviews
“Great stay at Hedley House Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2009

Firstly id like to say that this hotel is ranked so highly because of its value for money and location, not because its a 5 star hotel (because its not its a 2) but its not pretending to be 5 star.

The hotel is a 5 min walk to the minster and the town centre. Its easy to find and is within 10 mins walk from the train station so the location is great.

The hotel is quiet even though its across the road from a railway line it was still quiet. We even stayed when a large group of young school children were staying and we didnt hear them once.

The rooms were very clean and the beds excellent! The decor was not exactly modern but still very acceptable and in good condition. The rooms have large flat screen tvs with about 11 channels most of the main freeview ones.

Breakfast was excellent all cooked fresh and grilled so not swimming in grease.

The evening meal was ok good value for money but nothing special.

The hotel has off street parking its a little tight to get in but it looked secure. Its free while you stay and if after you check out you want to ventre back into york for the day you can leave your car there for £3 which for parking in the centre of york its a bargin.

All in all this is a great place to stay if your not looking for 5 star but if you want a safe, quiet, clean, cheap, comfortable place thats close to the centre of york then this is the place to be!

Thank you Hedley House

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank groll4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,516 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    817
    493
    141
    46
    19
See reviews for
234
853
35
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2009

Stayed three nights at Hedley House, and I have to start by saying the staff were extremely friendly and accommodating. We stayed in one of the basement rooms (sorry, I know there's another local name for it than "basement" but can't recall it, but it certainly didn't look or feel like a "basement") which was extremely roomy and with comfortable furniture, lots of storage and a bathroom with separate bath and shower. Even though we were in one of the rooms farthest from the center, we still had good wireless internet in the room. Breakfasts were excellent and the dining and sitting areas were beautiful. They are very knowledgable about all the local going-ons. The House itself is just a few blocks outside the city walls in a safe neighborhood, and very easy walking distance to the town center (and all the attractions there) and the train station and close to quite a few restaurants (and a grocery if you just want to pick up a few snacks or light dinner for your room). We stayed so busy there were a number of amenities we didn't get around to - the bbq, the hot tub and both tea and dinner in the restaurant (but which both looked very good!). Thank you! - Stosh & Melissa Kowalski, Virginia, USA

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank s_m_kowalski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney australia
Level Contributor
174 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2009

Only a 5 minute easy walk to the town walls of York and the Minster - in a quiet street and friendly staff with good breakfast and comfortable clean room. Would recommend

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank julphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SCOTLAND
Level Contributor
90 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2009

We stayed in one of the hotel's self-catering apartments, which was very comfortable. There were two rings and a grill/oven as well as a microwave, kettle, toaster and fridge. The bed was very comfortable, and the shower room was small but well-fitted with a great shower.
We did not use the cooking facilities as it only takes 5 minutes to walk into the centre with a huge choice of places to eat. Ideally situated for walking into the centre, in the park or by the river - plenty of choice.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivien2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2009

This is a great hotel and good value for it's location in York. This isn't a 5* hotel, but it is clean, in good condition, with welcoming staff and a fab breakfast.

I get the impression that the staff will do anything they can to help. We got a map and a discount voucher for the viking centre.

Breakfast is the highlight. Everything is cooked to order, is excellent quality and very generous portions. The lady who served us (the owner??) was charming, helpful and funny.

Unless you are looking for luxury and lots of hotel facilities, then I would recommend this hotel.

(Didn't eat an evening meal there due to the number of options in the city)

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank v28kab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2009

Just got back from a two night stay at The Hedley House.
On arrival I was alone and the directions from the train station were spot on and easy to follow. Receptionist was really welcoming and provided a map and directions to the city which was just a five minute walk round the corner.
The room was very large and bright and the bed was huge with lovely comfortable bedding, I had two wonderful nights' sleep. The location is very peaceful just got woken up by the sounds of the birds which is the way I like it!
The bathroom was large and bath and shower were excellent, also providing plenty of bath/shower gel and moisturiser.
My boyfriend was pleased he had a flat screen Tv to keep him happy and I noticed that they do provide DVD's for people to use if desired.
We didn't eat in the restaurant but the breakfast was delicious.
The only possible improvement could be a tiled floor in the bathroom and maybe upgrade the light fittings in the room but this is just a small criticism to an otherwise lovely stay.
I would be happy to stop here again and recommend to my friends!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ItchyfeetShrewsbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west lothian
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2009

Find it strange how this large b&b (cause thats what it really is) has such great reviews yeah the location is very handy and the staff also very plesant but apart from that trust me its nothing special,One main problem for us when you turned the shower on it went all over the floor the bracket that held it was broken and held together with tape this was really annoying as when your out and about its nice to come back to a nice hot shower it was just so tacky but what bugged me more was when we asked about this the nice lady said yeah we know about it(so why book us in there?) The plumber arrived on our second night at 6.30 ISH to fix it at which point we were getting changed to go out so we sat and waited for the plumber to fix this, all going well till he recieved a phone call which went on for twenty + minutes talking to a punter of his about a leak in her boiler ,Had to knock on our bathroom door to tell him we needed in so could he get out lol (shame nice little bloke not his fault really) Anyway fed up ranting not the worst place but in my eyes you defo could get better value for your money ,A think the owner should be proud of his staff as i reakon they are the people that earn the great reviews cause it aint the b and b sorry HOTEL.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steveandell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gregHotel, Proprietor at Hedley House Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2009
Dear Madame

It is with great regret to hear you were not entirely satisfied with your stay at Hedley House Hotel. Things do occasionally break and we try our upmost to rectify the problems as quickly as possible. The broken bracket did not render the bath or shower unusable. I apologise for the plumber coming in at 6pm on a Saturday. He was due to come Friday and his phone calls are out of my control!

Bed and breakfast establishments do not serve evening meals nor have a bar, sauna, Jacuzzi, free internet access, all en-suite rooms, a reception open 7.30 am to 11pm, off street car parking or conference rooms.

The staff are a great asset to the hotel of which they are proud to work at.

Best regards

Greg Harrand
The proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Middletons York
Middletons York
#23 of 46 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
0.8 mi away
St Denys Hotel
St Denys Hotel
#1 of 46 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hedley House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hedley House Hotel

Property: Hedley House Hotel
Address: 3 Bootham Terrace, York YO30 7DH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in York
#4 Spa Hotel in York
#5 Family Hotel in York
#10 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hedley House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hedley House Hotel - A 3 Star Silver Award Hotel, within an 8 minute walk of the city. All rooms en-suite & all recently refurbished. Free wireless internet access. Off street car-parking, restaurant & lounge bar. Gym, 6 person outdoor aqua spa. Ample parking. Electric car charging station free for residents Free wifi Deluxe rooms available with Apple TV ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Lastminute, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hedley House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hedley Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing