We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Review for room 23? lower level (USA = basement)”
Review of Hedley House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hedley House
Ranked #13 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2009

Was a one night stop between London and Edinburg, family recomended York vs (Manchester and Newcastle), and that was great advise. Hedley house choice was just research from your website. Our family ended up in room 23 (lower level suite) which was a good sized room for a family of five. But it was a little musty (smell) and not well maintained. It was only for one night rest - and we decided to stay. Securing a room ( credit card info over an email - which I did not do) we took a chance and drove there and asked if any rooms were still available - and appeared the same room that was offered over email was available at the same price 155 pounds. Expensive compared to what you can get for that price in the USA.

Location was close to town, and the family enjoyed the atmosphere and the food of the historic city.

Breakfast at the B&B was great. Coffee was the best we had to date. Food was prepared well.

Bottom Line for this place - know where your room is (above ground) probably better!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jek_review
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,599)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,503 - 1,509 of 1,599 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2009

Firstly id like to say that this hotel is ranked so highly because of its value for money and location, not because its a 5 star hotel (because its not its a 2) but its not pretending to be 5 star.

The hotel is a 5 min walk to the minster and the town centre. Its easy to find and is within 10 mins walk from the train station so the location is great.

The hotel is quiet even though its across the road from a railway line it was still quiet. We even stayed when a large group of young school children were staying and we didnt hear them once.

The rooms were very clean and the beds excellent! The decor was not exactly modern but still very acceptable and in good condition. The rooms have large flat screen tvs with about 11 channels most of the main freeview ones.

Breakfast was excellent all cooked fresh and grilled so not swimming in grease.

The evening meal was ok good value for money but nothing special.

The hotel has off street parking its a little tight to get in but it looked secure. Its free while you stay and if after you check out you want to ventre back into york for the day you can leave your car there for £3 which for parking in the centre of york its a bargin.

All in all this is a great place to stay if your not looking for 5 star but if you want a safe, quiet, clean, cheap, comfortable place thats close to the centre of york then this is the place to be!

Thank you Hedley House

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank groll4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2009

Stayed three nights at Hedley House, and I have to start by saying the staff were extremely friendly and accommodating. We stayed in one of the basement rooms (sorry, I know there's another local name for it than "basement" but can't recall it, but it certainly didn't look or feel like a "basement") which was extremely roomy and with comfortable furniture, lots of storage and a bathroom with separate bath and shower. Even though we were in one of the rooms farthest from the center, we still had good wireless internet in the room. Breakfasts were excellent and the dining and sitting areas were beautiful. They are very knowledgable about all the local going-ons. The House itself is just a few blocks outside the city walls in a safe neighborhood, and very easy walking distance to the town center (and all the attractions there) and the train station and close to quite a few restaurants (and a grocery if you just want to pick up a few snacks or light dinner for your room). We stayed so busy there were a number of amenities we didn't get around to - the bbq, the hot tub and both tea and dinner in the restaurant (but which both looked very good!). Thank you! - Stosh & Melissa Kowalski, Virginia, USA

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank s_m_kowalski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2009

Only a 5 minute easy walk to the town walls of York and the Minster - in a quiet street and friendly staff with good breakfast and comfortable clean room. Would recommend

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2009

We stayed in one of the hotel's self-catering apartments, which was very comfortable. There were two rings and a grill/oven as well as a microwave, kettle, toaster and fridge. The bed was very comfortable, and the shower room was small but well-fitted with a great shower.
We did not use the cooking facilities as it only takes 5 minutes to walk into the centre with a huge choice of places to eat. Ideally situated for walking into the centre, in the park or by the river - plenty of choice.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vivien2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2009

This is a great hotel and good value for it's location in York. This isn't a 5* hotel, but it is clean, in good condition, with welcoming staff and a fab breakfast.

I get the impression that the staff will do anything they can to help. We got a map and a discount voucher for the viking centre.

Breakfast is the highlight. Everything is cooked to order, is excellent quality and very generous portions. The lady who served us (the owner??) was charming, helpful and funny.

Unless you are looking for luxury and lots of hotel facilities, then I would recommend this hotel.

(Didn't eat an evening meal there due to the number of options in the city)

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank v28kab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2009

Just got back from a two night stay at The Hedley House.
On arrival I was alone and the directions from the train station were spot on and easy to follow. Receptionist was really welcoming and provided a map and directions to the city which was just a five minute walk round the corner.
The room was very large and bright and the bed was huge with lovely comfortable bedding, I had two wonderful nights' sleep. The location is very peaceful just got woken up by the sounds of the birds which is the way I like it!
The bathroom was large and bath and shower were excellent, also providing plenty of bath/shower gel and moisturiser.
My boyfriend was pleased he had a flat screen Tv to keep him happy and I noticed that they do provide DVD's for people to use if desired.
We didn't eat in the restaurant but the breakfast was delicious.
The only possible improvement could be a tiled floor in the bathroom and maybe upgrade the light fittings in the room but this is just a small criticism to an otherwise lovely stay.
I would be happy to stop here again and recommend to my friends!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ItchyfeetShrewsbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
674 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 47 in York
1,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#17 of 47 in York
1,544 reviews
0.7 mi away
Middletons York
Middletons York
#25 of 47 in York
892 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hedley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hedley House

Address: 3 Bootham Terrace, York YO30 7DH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in York
#4 Spa Hotel in York
#10 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range: £87 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hedley House 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hedley House Hotel - A 3 Star Silver Award Hotel, within an 8 minute walk of the city. All rooms en-suite & all recently refurbished. Free wireless internet access. Off street car-parking, restaurant & lounge bar. 6 person outdoor aqua spa. Ample parking charged £10 per day. Electric car charging station Free wifi Deluxe rooms available with Apple TV ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hedley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hedley Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing