We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“would definitely recommend this hotel to family and friends”
Review of Hedley House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hedley House
Ranked #13 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2009

had a lovely 2 night stay at this hotel with my mum. the rooms are lovely and clean and the evening meal we had on our first night was excellent. dined out at the chinese in town on the second night and wished we had dined at the hotel instead. the centre of york is only a ten minute walk and there is a short cut under the railway line, ask at reception for directions. loved york and cant wait to return.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jandbWorcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,598)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,496 - 1,502 of 1,598 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2009

Hedley House is extremely well located for walking in York and driving to the Dales and other points north, as Bootham Road turns into the A19. The Minster is less than a 5 minute walk, and everything in the city center in under 20 minutes walking. The hotel itself is three Georgian properties on a quiet side street, with a free car park in back (this is no small perk, let me tell you!) and even a hot tub (though you do need to request it before the time you want to use it, which we didn't have time for).
We booked Saturday morning for Saturday and Sunday night after seeing Rick Steves' recommendation, and got a large double room on the top floor for 80 GBP. We were apprehensive as they told us there we no windows, only skylights, but that was even better as we had two large skylights in bedroom and one in the large bathroom, for lots of fresh air and sunshine. The room had a large flatscreen TV, modern furnishings, but charming touches, like the tiny original fireplace (not functional).
Breakfast was a nice fry-up, probably the best of our 10 day trip - a focus on local products is something we look for. Others said they missed the "yogurt and cereal" that other B&Bs provide, but honestly what's the point of paying for a cold yogurt you could pick up at Sainsbury's while walking? We go to B&B's for the home-cooked breakfast!
The staff were excellent, helping us with parking and laundry. Greg, the owner, was on hand each morning and was happy to brew us an excellent (REAL!) cup of coffee for no charge, even after breakfast was over. Even though it's bigger than most B&Bs the service couldn't be friendlier or more accomodating. We were able to get ice from the kitchen fairly late at night, use their wi-fi network for free, and leave our car in their car park all day even after we had checked out. Loved this place!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank misswesolowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2009

A warm welcome at Hedley House awaits you, all the staff at this hotel were extremely helpful and ensured our stay was a pleasant one, I would defiantly recommend staying at this hotel. The hotel is clean and spacious in the heart of the city with all York's great tourist spots on the door step. If you are planning on spending a few days in York to experience eating out, don't bother, once you have dined at Hedley House, you won't want to eat anywhere else, fantastic menu and the finest food. Thank you to front of house and the top chef!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rose09London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2009

We stayed just one night while visiting York and it makes for a perfect low cost stop over. Our room was very clean and comfortable but we had chosen the 'economical' room so it was slightly on the small side. Apparently they have larger rooms available at slightly more cost but it didn't worry us.

But whatever you do, don't skip breakfast - in fact ask for the 'larger' serving as it is delicious and puts higher class hotels to shame with the quality of the food.

Finally a very useful service was the ability to leave the car so close to the town centre all day for a small fee.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SideShowPob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2009

Excellent location in a quiet street a short walk from the railway station and town centre. We walked to various restaurants at night that were recommended on Trip Advisor. We had a clean pleasant room with bath on the second floor.
When we checked in with the late receptionist ,who was excellent, she advised us there was a school group in the hotel so we would need to take our breakfast according to the group who used every table and more in 3 dining rooms. We had intended to take our first evening meal in the hotel but this was not available either. There seemed to be bedrooms left for about two couples. We happily breakfasted after the group on days 1 and 3 but needed to catch an early bus to Castle Howard on day 2 so in the end breakfast was brought to our room. The children were very well behaved and controlled by the teachers but children will run everywhere so we had the sound of them running up and down stairs at around 8 am and 9.30-10pm, also of the teachers checking on them. I have to say that I would have changed hotels if I had known in advance so I suppose that is why we were not prewarned. So this review is a warning to those who may wish to check on the school group situation before going there as we could see from the guest book and thank you letters it happens often. We didn't meet the owners but I think Greg was in reception one day with his son when we were checking out. and it would have been nice if he had proferred a sympathetic ear or thank you over us having to work round the school group but we didn't even get a "good morning".

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lignum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2009

We are an older couple travelling with 2 children under 2.... so we needed a place that was self contained, organised and comfortable without being full of things our children might like to touch!
The instant we walked into Hedley House (for a 3 night stay) Louise (owner) helped us in every way to feel comfortable and settle into our room, even down to giving us extra bedding for the cots just incase and a baby monitor so we could sit in the garden and hear the children.
Later that night Greg (other half of Louise) held our baby so we could eat dinner.
I really felt that they did these things for us because they genuinely care about their guests and wanted us to enjoy our stay.
The food was awesome and the staff even helped us "take away" our lovely posh dinner one night so we could eat in out room when the children wouldn't settle.
My husband loved the fact you could get a variety of beers from the fridge and walk past reception tell them your room number on the way back to your room!!!
We loved York and its people and were very sad to leave.
If you are traveling with children and a stroller I would recommend buying some backpacks as we found it much easier to carry them on our backs as opposed to the cobbled streets and you can't walk the wall with a stroller (well not easily!).
Thanks Greg and Louise for making our stay such a welcome one.
Kylie, Jim, Harri and Quinn Australia

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scubadogz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThebossYork, owner at Hedley House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2009

It makes our job worthwhile when we have guests like you guys to stay. It was a pleasure to meet your lovely family and we're thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. Also thank you so much for the photograph that you left for us, we were deeply touched. Please come and see us again if you're ever in York, Lou & Greg Harrand

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2009

Was a one night stop between London and Edinburg, family recomended York vs (Manchester and Newcastle), and that was great advise. Hedley house choice was just research from your website. Our family ended up in room 23 (lower level suite) which was a good sized room for a family of five. But it was a little musty (smell) and not well maintained. It was only for one night rest - and we decided to stay. Securing a room ( credit card info over an email - which I did not do) we took a chance and drove there and asked if any rooms were still available - and appeared the same room that was offered over email was available at the same price 155 pounds. Expensive compared to what you can get for that price in the USA.

Location was close to town, and the family enjoyed the atmosphere and the food of the historic city.

Breakfast at the B&B was great. Coffee was the best we had to date. Food was prepared well.

Bottom Line for this place - know where your room is (above ground) probably better!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jek_review
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
672 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 47 in York
1,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#18 of 47 in York
1,543 reviews
0.7 mi away
Middletons York
Middletons York
#25 of 47 in York
891 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hedley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hedley House

Address: 3 Bootham Terrace, York YO30 7DH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in York
#4 Spa Hotel in York
#10 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range: £88 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hedley House 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hedley House Hotel - A 3 Star Silver Award Hotel, within an 8 minute walk of the city. All rooms en-suite & all recently refurbished. Free wireless internet access. Off street car-parking, restaurant & lounge bar. 6 person outdoor aqua spa. Ample parking charged £10 per day. Electric car charging station Free wifi Deluxe rooms available with Apple TV ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hedley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hedley Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing