We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in York”
Review of Hedley House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hedley House
Ranked #14 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 September 2009

This place has all the benefits of a hotel and a B&B. Airy large rooms, modern comfy beds, over-the-top personal service, and a perfect location. While it's nice and quiet, it's a five minute walk from all York's top attractions. There's a jacuzzi and sauna free to guests and a peaceful garden area. A gourmet dinner is available at a good price. Breakfast was lovely. Every staff member was friendly and helpful. You'll be delighted with the Hedley.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,591)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,481 - 1,487 of 1,591 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2009

Thank you Greg and Louise for looking after us when we turned up late at night because of a tyre blow out. We were very tired, hungry and in need of a drink. You fed us and gave us a strong drink which was well needed. You went out of you way to make us feel welcomed. The rooms were clean and comfy. I will definitely be back I've fallen in love with York and will be back to explore more, I've already recommended you to the Training department in BTCV and will recommend you to any friends or family that go to York.
Thanks again and hope to see you in April when I come back with my boyfriend.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank babybelleNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2009

firstly the negatives. yes the decor is a bit dated and it could do with a lick of paint here and there, and the car park is a bit of a squeeze, but dont let that put you off
We arrived there at around 5pm without booking and got a double room B&B for £80. getting to the room was a bit of a climb, but we were told that before we paid.
the room we had was in the loft conversion (room 14) and it was clean, comfortable and spacious; double bed, 2 single beds, 2 comfy chairs, nice sized bathroom with shower and bath.
for breakfast there was cereal, juices, hot freshly cooked food to order, and tea and coffee. the location was great too, only 5 mins walk to the city walls, and about 10 to the minster
I would have no qualms in recommending this hotel

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leftfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2009

My wife and I stayed at Hedley House to see York and were very pleased with the service location and off road parking for our Motorcycle.
We took the evening meals both nights we were there and found it to be of a very good quality.
The rooms are clean and adequate and for a city centre are very good value for money.
We would definatly use Hedley House again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank delboybiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2009

We were looking for a nice place central in York to get a flavour for the city on a stopover driving from Scotland to Wales. The reviews were good but it was quite a let down. The reception desk is rarely manned. The room was a reasonable size but probably had the noisiest floorboards I have ever know. There was no remote for the tv and no replacement available when asked for. There was no in-room reception for the advertised wireless internet. The table light did not work and neither did the mirror light in the bathroom. There was some unrecognisable sticky substance on the table light. After pointing out the problems at check out we were offered no apology, only charged £3 to leave the car there for the morning.
The breakfast was good and the in-room directory nicely laid out but some information was inaccurate. We had the feeling they were close to a good product but letting too many small things slip by.
The location was great - just 7 minutes easy walk from the city - but I would not return.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank walescan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2009

Service does not get any better than the Hedley House! When our taxi didn't arrive to take us to the train, the owner, Greg, took us in his own car. We dropped off our laundry on our way to dinner and it was in our room when we returned. And the location is perfect: A short walk from the town center and incredibly quiet. The breakfast included sustainable and local products. The room we had was quite large with a bathtub - rare for a European b&bs I've stayed in, plus every convenience, hair dryer, iron, etc, - again, often not offered without asking at other b&bs.. The only reason I gave it a four rather than a five is because the room could use some minor updating. Page through the Hedley House booklet when you get to the room - it has a ton of valuable information.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lmrheights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2009

We were looking for a pleasant (but not too expensive) hotel in York for a stopover on the way home from a holiday in Northumberland. The positive trip advisor reviews and attractive hotel website made Hedley House Hotel seem inviting. I phoned and reserved a family room for £150.00. The hotel did not live up to our expectations. The room was in an annexe and, although it was fairly spacious, the furnishings were cheap and flimsy and it smelt slightly musty. Apart from the flat screen TV and a few fancy toiletries, it was more like a room in a student shared house than a hotel room. There was no bath, only a shower. Sound proofing was poor and we were woken up in the night by people returning to the hotel. In the information provided in the room pack a £3 charge is listed for internet access even though the hotel website claims to offer free wireless internet access. The hotel information in the room also claimed that there was a games machine where you could play arcade style games. But when we made enquiries it turned out this had gone. Parking was very tight and we had to leave our keys with reception as we were blocking other cars. When I went to retrieve the key the receptionist found it buried under papers on the desk – which was often left unattended. The breakfast menu listed ‘Cumberland sausage’ – but it wasn’t Cumberland (and it wasn’t all that nice). The scrambled eggs were more like an omelette which had been torn up into little bits. Overall everything was just about adequate – and the location is good – but it was all pretty lacklustre and (even for York) seemed overpriced.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CambridgeSarahBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
659 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#17 of 47 in York
1,535 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hedley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hedley House

Address: 3 Bootham Terrace, York YO30 7DH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in York
#4 Spa Hotel in York
#5 Family Hotel in York
#10 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range: £87 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hedley House 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hedley House Hotel - A 3 Star Silver Award Hotel, within an 8 minute walk of the city. All rooms en-suite & all recently refurbished. Free wireless internet access. Off street car-parking, restaurant & lounge bar. 6 person outdoor aqua spa. Ample parking charged £10 per day. Electric car charging station Free wifi Deluxe rooms available with Apple TV ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hedley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hedley Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing