We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and room”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hedley House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hedley House Hotel
Ranked #15 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
hemsworth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent location and room”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2009

Myself and my wife stayed just the one night to have a good night out around town. We were pleasantly surprised at the size of the room and the superb facilities. The hotel is only a few hundred yards from the city walls and the olde worlde pubs. We will definitely be staying again.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HemsworthNettie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,527 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    824
    497
    141
    46
    19
See reviews for
237
860
35
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2009

I'll get the negative out of the way first, because it's minor - the decor in the room (8) was a little dated and the bedside lightshades were cracked (looked like the screws had been overtightened). I usually prefer frosted glass in a bathroom, but as this would affect the look of the front of the building then it wasn't any hassle to pull the blind down when using the bathroom. Did any of this affect the functionality of the room, the comfiness of the bed or our enjoyment of our stay here? No! On arrival we were accompanied to our room and asked if it was suitable for us. The lady who showed us to the room looked as if she genuinely wanted to make sure the room was ok before she left us and not as if she was just going through the motions. Everything in the room worked, there was hot water whenever we needed it, and the temperature was comfortable at all times. We ate in the hotel the first night and the food was fabulous. It was beautifully presented and the steaks were cooked exactly as we'd asked. This may be a 2* hotel but there is attention to detail that would put some 4* establishments to shame (and I've stayed in some of them). If you're a light sleeper, I'd suggest taking some earplugs as there are a lot of creaky floorboards and you may get a neighbour like ours in Room 7 who didn't know how to shut a door without letting it bang behind them. The location is ideal, only five minutes walk from the city wall at High Petergate - and you can always break the walk up by visiting a few of the pubs on the way. We had a lovely stay in a comfortable room, with everything we needed and were looked after by friendly, welcoming people. Louise in particular seemed keen to make sure that we enjoyed our stay and that we were being looked after. We'll stay again.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allybee13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesex
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2009

Great couple -Greg & Louise running Hedley House Hotel with a hands on, genuine contact with guests, always about the hotel to make sure guests have all they need. Hedley HH is only 4min walk from City wall on Bootham Terrace. Hotel has been recently extensively refurbished and is as well appointed as any 4star establishment. Geat staff with friendly manner, convey a sense of happiness about their work. Intimate in-house restaurant , with lot`s of choice on menu. I had a great stay

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irisheyespjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2009

This place has all the benefits of a hotel and a B&B. Airy large rooms, modern comfy beds, over-the-top personal service, and a perfect location. While it's nice and quiet, it's a five minute walk from all York's top attractions. There's a jacuzzi and sauna free to guests and a peaceful garden area. A gourmet dinner is available at a good price. Breakfast was lovely. Every staff member was friendly and helpful. You'll be delighted with the Hedley.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2009

Thank you Greg and Louise for looking after us when we turned up late at night because of a tyre blow out. We were very tired, hungry and in need of a drink. You fed us and gave us a strong drink which was well needed. You went out of you way to make us feel welcomed. The rooms were clean and comfy. I will definitely be back I've fallen in love with York and will be back to explore more, I've already recommended you to the Training department in BTCV and will recommend you to any friends or family that go to York.
Thanks again and hope to see you in April when I come back with my boyfriend.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babybelleNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2009

firstly the negatives. yes the decor is a bit dated and it could do with a lick of paint here and there, and the car park is a bit of a squeeze, but dont let that put you off
We arrived there at around 5pm without booking and got a double room B&B for £80. getting to the room was a bit of a climb, but we were told that before we paid.
the room we had was in the loft conversion (room 14) and it was clean, comfortable and spacious; double bed, 2 single beds, 2 comfy chairs, nice sized bathroom with shower and bath.
for breakfast there was cereal, juices, hot freshly cooked food to order, and tea and coffee. the location was great too, only 5 mins walk to the city walls, and about 10 to the minster
I would have no qualms in recommending this hotel

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leftfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2009

My wife and I stayed at Hedley House to see York and were very pleased with the service location and off road parking for our Motorcycle.
We took the evening meals both nights we were there and found it to be of a very good quality.
The rooms are clean and adequate and for a city centre are very good value for money.
We would definatly use Hedley House again.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank delboybiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,096 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
St Denys Hotel
St Denys Hotel
#1 of 46 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#19 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hedley House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hedley House Hotel

Property: Hedley House Hotel
Address: 3 Bootham Terrace, York YO30 7DH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in York
#4 Spa Hotel in York
#5 Family Hotel in York
#10 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hedley House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hedley House Hotel - A 3 Star Silver Award Hotel, within an 8 minute walk of the city. All rooms en-suite & all recently refurbished. Free wireless internet access. Off street car-parking, restaurant & lounge bar. 6 person outdoor aqua spa. Ample parking charged £10 per day. Electric car charging station Free wifi Deluxe rooms available with Apple TV ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Lastminute, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hedley House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hedley Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing