We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Central location”
Review of Hedley House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hedley House Hotel
Ranked #14 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
cleveland
1 review
“Central location”
Reviewed 14 February 2010

stayed for valentines weekend, the hotel is in a great location, the rooms are lovely and clean and very spacious. The breakfast was lovely, and staff very helpful. Would go back to this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akmc26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,536 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    829
    501
    141
    46
    19
See reviews for
238
868
35
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Staffs
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 February 2010

Stopped for two nights in Feb' 10. When we arrived we were directed to the car park at the rear of the hotel, which was very compact and needed a bit of time to park my car into a small space. We found the staff to be very helpful and polite and showed us to our room which was of a good size and of an ok cleanliness. it was very well heated and had a great bathroom with power shower, clean towels were always on hand and changed daily, our room had quite thin walls and could hear a lot of noise from adjoining rooms so once or twice we were awoken by late incomers in the early hours. As for food the breakfast was offered with a varied choice from cereal to the full english, which was an adequate portion and again the staff were very good, the only criticism was of the evening menu for the valentine's weekend which had limited choice as we wanted to eat at the hotel. Me being a bit of traditionalist and quite boring regarding food would have liked to have seen maybe a steak or red meat dish on the menu but thats me. Anyway we decided to eat out in the city, as we found the hotel to be great for the location, with city walls being around ten minutes walk away from the hotel. On the whole it's just about ok for the money, maybe a bit overpriced for a two star. I would recommend this hotel for location and good staff.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hucky29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jockland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2010

I wanted to book a hotel in York for a Saturday night only and this is one of the few places which would accept our booking , at a reasonable cost. As a group of 10 work colleagues celebrating a retirement, we reserved two triple and two double rooms. Most of the rooms were in the annexe and were large and spacious. Everything was spotlessly clean, and we were able to drop off bags and check in early.

I think other York hotels need to look at the 'minimum 2 night stay' rule . We were charged an additional £5 per person because we were only staying for one night but I would have gladly paid more. Hedley House was fantastic, the staff extremely courteous and the breakfast choice was very good. The hotel was also perfectly situated- under 10 minutes walk from the Minster, but far enough away from the city centre noise to allow a great nights sleep. Several of our party are already planning return visits.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moaning_Jock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincolnshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2010

Pleasant staff, greeted with a smile and taken personally to our room. Clean room. Comfy bed. Clean and spacious bathroom. 5 minutes from town centre but down a small street so there is little noise. There is parking but it is cramped.

The only thing that spoilt or stay was the breakfast. It was probably because it was over-hyped in the literature in the room...locally sourced from local farms/ suppliers or something. The sausages may have been locally sourced but they were pink and unpleasant. Maybe it's because I am from Lincolnshire and therefore a bit of a sausage connoisseuse :-) It was also a very stingy portion, but then maybe that's just me too. They did do me an egg white. Like I say the staff were very nice and accommodating.

All in all an economic choice for a night or two in York.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank duckylaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottinghamshire
1 review
Reviewed 8 February 2010

Having stayed here for one cold night in February we found it very clean , cosy and comfortable. We were so pleased we chose to dine in the restaurant in the evening as the home-cooked food was of a very high standard being beautifully cooked and presented. The following morning the full and satisfying breakfast was of equal quality in terms of freshness and healthily cooked. We are seasoned travellers and have sampled many hotels - this one is high on our list of where we would recommend and also stay again! An added bonus was being able to park the car for both days as the hotel is 10 mins walking distance from the centre of the city. Excellent thank you for a lovely and welcoming stay.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NottinghamshireSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east anglia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2010

I would recommend this hotel to everyone. We have stayed in different hotels in York and this was the certainly the best. The location was superb, the place spotless, and the staff friendly and helpful. We would not hesitate to come back again.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EastAngliaJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2010

Stayed for two nights with own and another family. Good experience from start to finish. Arrived at 8.30pm and enjoyed a very good quality meal in the dining room (last service 9pm). Our room was large with a very comfy bed and a clean , good size bathroom. In fact the whole hotel feels roomy with high ceilings throughout. Very good location , just five minute stroll to City walls and just off a main road. Own car park which is handy. Rooms are on B&B basis , so don't miss the breakfast - freshly made and swiftly served it was delicious both mornings. We have tried several small hotels in York over the years and rate Hedley House as one of the best.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GuildfordTravelbug59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,146 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 46 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#21 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hedley House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hedley House Hotel

Property: Hedley House Hotel
Address: 3 Bootham Terrace, York YO30 7DH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in York
#4 Spa Hotel in York
#5 Family Hotel in York
#10 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hedley House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hedley House Hotel - A 3 Star Silver Award Hotel, within an 8 minute walk of the city. All rooms en-suite & all recently refurbished. Free wireless internet access. Off street car-parking, restaurant & lounge bar. 6 person outdoor aqua spa. Ample parking charged £10 per day. Electric car charging station Free wifi Deluxe rooms available with Apple TV ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Lastminute, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hedley House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hedley Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing