We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home from home in York !”
Review of Hedley House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hedley House
Ranked #13 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 February 2010

Greg & Lou have got themselves a good team of people who will go out their way to make sure your visit is a pleasure from start to finish.
The hotel is only a short walk from the centre of York.
I must disagree with another reviewer about the carparking at Hedley.
1) It is a free carpark to the rear of the property yes it is a bit of a squeeze to park at times.
2) Any cars which are blocking you are quickly moved so it is no bother...
Also they will cook your choice of breakfast to your requirements !

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaytee53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,604)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,470 - 1,476 of 1,604 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2010

We loved this hotel. Very comfortable rooms, great breakfast and also extremely well located in an adorable city. We hope getting back there in the summer!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jarbasvasconcelos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2010

stayed for valentines weekend, the hotel is in a great location, the rooms are lovely and clean and very spacious. The breakfast was lovely, and staff very helpful. Would go back to this hotel again.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank akmc26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2010

Stopped for two nights in Feb' 10. When we arrived we were directed to the car park at the rear of the hotel, which was very compact and needed a bit of time to park my car into a small space. We found the staff to be very helpful and polite and showed us to our room which was of a good size and of an ok cleanliness. it was very well heated and had a great bathroom with power shower, clean towels were always on hand and changed daily, our room had quite thin walls and could hear a lot of noise from adjoining rooms so once or twice we were awoken by late incomers in the early hours. As for food the breakfast was offered with a varied choice from cereal to the full english, which was an adequate portion and again the staff were very good, the only criticism was of the evening menu for the valentine's weekend which had limited choice as we wanted to eat at the hotel. Me being a bit of traditionalist and quite boring regarding food would have liked to have seen maybe a steak or red meat dish on the menu but thats me. Anyway we decided to eat out in the city, as we found the hotel to be great for the location, with city walls being around ten minutes walk away from the hotel. On the whole it's just about ok for the money, maybe a bit overpriced for a two star. I would recommend this hotel for location and good staff.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hucky29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2010

I wanted to book a hotel in York for a Saturday night only and this is one of the few places which would accept our booking , at a reasonable cost. As a group of 10 work colleagues celebrating a retirement, we reserved two triple and two double rooms. Most of the rooms were in the annexe and were large and spacious. Everything was spotlessly clean, and we were able to drop off bags and check in early.

I think other York hotels need to look at the 'minimum 2 night stay' rule . We were charged an additional £5 per person because we were only staying for one night but I would have gladly paid more. Hedley House was fantastic, the staff extremely courteous and the breakfast choice was very good. The hotel was also perfectly situated- under 10 minutes walk from the Minster, but far enough away from the city centre noise to allow a great nights sleep. Several of our party are already planning return visits.

  • Stayed: February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moaning_Jock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2010

Pleasant staff, greeted with a smile and taken personally to our room. Clean room. Comfy bed. Clean and spacious bathroom. 5 minutes from town centre but down a small street so there is little noise. There is parking but it is cramped.

The only thing that spoilt or stay was the breakfast. It was probably because it was over-hyped in the literature in the room...locally sourced from local farms/ suppliers or something. The sausages may have been locally sourced but they were pink and unpleasant. Maybe it's because I am from Lincolnshire and therefore a bit of a sausage connoisseuse :-) It was also a very stingy portion, but then maybe that's just me too. They did do me an egg white. Like I say the staff were very nice and accommodating.

All in all an economic choice for a night or two in York.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank duckylaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2010

Having stayed here for one cold night in February we found it very clean , cosy and comfortable. We were so pleased we chose to dine in the restaurant in the evening as the home-cooked food was of a very high standard being beautifully cooked and presented. The following morning the full and satisfying breakfast was of equal quality in terms of freshness and healthily cooked. We are seasoned travellers and have sampled many hotels - this one is high on our list of where we would recommend and also stay again! An added bonus was being able to park the car for both days as the hotel is 10 mins walking distance from the centre of the city. Excellent thank you for a lovely and welcoming stay.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NottinghamshireSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 47 in York
1,505 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#17 of 47 in York
1,562 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.2 mi away
B+B York
B+B York
#5 of 47 in York
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hedley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hedley House

Address: 3 Bootham Terrace, York YO30 7DH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in York
#4 Spa Hotel in York
#10 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range: £85 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hedley House 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hedley House Hotel - A 3 Star Silver Award Hotel, within an 8 minute walk of the city. All rooms en-suite & all recently refurbished. Free wireless internet access. Off street car-parking , restaurant & lounge bar. 6 person outdoor aqua spa. Ample parking charged £12 per day reservation is essential . Electric car charging station. Free wifi Deluxe rooms available with Apple TV.Breakfast is £9.95 per person ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hedley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hedley Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing