We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Welcoming, warmth & clean.... a must when staying in York from now on.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hedley House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hedley House Hotel
Ranked #15 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
manchester
1 review
“Welcoming, warmth & clean.... a must when staying in York from now on.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2010

From the warm welcome and the kind and attentive service, my first impression of the hotel could only get better. The room was clean, tidy and spacious. The shower was impresibly big, and the Cadbury hot chocolate available on the drinks tray sold me over.
The bed was confortable, and no outside noise came into the room, which aided the peaceful sleep.
Quick and excelent service, from the tour on the premises to the check out goodbye.
Included free parking also very handy, since the city centre is barely five minutes walk away.
From now on, Hedley House hotel is a must when staying in York.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seenitall011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gregHotel, owner at Hedley House Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2010
Thank you for your kind review, I'm pleased to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hedley House. Kind regards, Greg & Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,527 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    824
    497
    141
    46
    19
See reviews for
237
860
35
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2010

We stayed at Hedley House for 2 nights to celebrate our wedding anniversary. The staff were all very friendly, helpful and professional and the room was clean spacious, with up to date decor and a nice en suite.
Breakfast was cooked to a very good standard and to order. We had dinner at the hotel on the first night and it was very very good. Really good value for money and as good as the food on our honeymoon which had 3 AA stars.
The hotel felt like it was between a b and b and a hotel which suited us. It was very close to the Minster area (5 mins walk). We tried the Guy Falkes Pub for food the second night and would recommend that for food too. Nice candlelit atmosphere and better than average pub food.
Great stay all in all - thank you to Hedley House.
PS - off street parking was very important too!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happytravellers_imps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2010

Had a great weekend despite the wet valentine weather. Convenient location 10 minutes walk from the town centre. On site parking a bonus. The owners are on site to ensure all runs smooth, service excellent from courteous staff. If you have difficulty with stairs let the owners know, we were on the top floor, not an issue for us but for someone less agile a fair climb. The personal care of the owners made a refreshing change from the copy book chain hotels.
We had dinner in town at a well known restaurant (It's blue and has two wheels) on the Friday night and in the Hedley House on Saturday. The dinner at Hedley out shone the restaurant by a mile and for 60% of the cost.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SprintSTLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gregHotel, Owner at Hedley House Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2010
Thank you for your kind review, it makes all of our hardwork worthwhile when we read reviews like yours. We hope that we can welcome you back to Hedley House Hotel sometime in the future.
Kind regards
Lou & Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
97 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2010

Greg & Lou have got themselves a good team of people who will go out their way to make sure your visit is a pleasure from start to finish.
The hotel is only a short walk from the centre of York.
I must disagree with another reviewer about the carparking at Hedley.
1) It is a free carpark to the rear of the property yes it is a bit of a squeeze to park at times.
2) Any cars which are blocking you are quickly moved so it is no bother...
Also they will cook your choice of breakfast to your requirements !

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaytee53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rio de janeiro
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2010

We loved this hotel. Very comfortable rooms, great breakfast and also extremely well located in an adorable city. We hope getting back there in the summer!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jarbasvasconcelos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cleveland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2010

stayed for valentines weekend, the hotel is in a great location, the rooms are lovely and clean and very spacious. The breakfast was lovely, and staff very helpful. Would go back to this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akmc26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffs
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2010

Stopped for two nights in Feb' 10. When we arrived we were directed to the car park at the rear of the hotel, which was very compact and needed a bit of time to park my car into a small space. We found the staff to be very helpful and polite and showed us to our room which was of a good size and of an ok cleanliness. it was very well heated and had a great bathroom with power shower, clean towels were always on hand and changed daily, our room had quite thin walls and could hear a lot of noise from adjoining rooms so once or twice we were awoken by late incomers in the early hours. As for food the breakfast was offered with a varied choice from cereal to the full english, which was an adequate portion and again the staff were very good, the only criticism was of the evening menu for the valentine's weekend which had limited choice as we wanted to eat at the hotel. Me being a bit of traditionalist and quite boring regarding food would have liked to have seen maybe a steak or red meat dish on the menu but thats me. Anyway we decided to eat out in the city, as we found the hotel to be great for the location, with city walls being around ten minutes walk away from the hotel. On the whole it's just about ok for the money, maybe a bit overpriced for a two star. I would recommend this hotel for location and good staff.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hucky29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,096 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
St Denys Hotel
St Denys Hotel
#1 of 46 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#19 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hedley House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hedley House Hotel

Property: Hedley House Hotel
Address: 3 Bootham Terrace, York YO30 7DH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in York
#4 Spa Hotel in York
#5 Family Hotel in York
#10 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hedley House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hedley House Hotel - A 3 Star Silver Award Hotel, within an 8 minute walk of the city. All rooms en-suite & all recently refurbished. Free wireless internet access. Off street car-parking, restaurant & lounge bar. 6 person outdoor aqua spa. Ample parking charged £10 per day. Electric car charging station Free wifi Deluxe rooms available with Apple TV ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Lastminute, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hedley House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hedley Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing