We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy, spotless rooms, lovely staff and great food!”
Review of Hedley House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hedley House
Ranked #14 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 March 2010

I used to Live in York and now visit regulatly. I always stay at Hedley House becasue they're a smashing bunch of people who run an excellent establishment. I also like to leave the car behind and walk into the historic City; so being within walking distance to everything is a big plus too.
Apart from warm and well appointed rooms, the restaurant is top notch.
Highly recommended.
Be sure to check out their selection of locally brewed ales too!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Corh_Hat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gregHotel, Owner at Hedley House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2010

Thank you for your review, makes our efforts worthwhile. We hope to see you again the next time you visit York. Regards Louise Harrand

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,590)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,447 - 1,453 of 1,590 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2010

A great welcome from Mandy as usual on arrival. I tried the omlette for a change for breakfast after fresh fruit and yoghurt which was lovely. Also dropped in for a nightcap after evening meal in the bar area as well which is something we haven't done before. Perfect end to a perfect evening! Evening meal is also available which we haven't tried yet. I commented that there wasn't anything that my son (fussy eater) would like. I should have known better and being a regular I know that they will and do cater for fussy eaters or dietary requirements given a little notice!!!! So yes, we will definitely be sampling the menu next time!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CHIPMUNKCHOPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2010

We stayed for two nights in Hedley House and came away with mixed feelings. It is in a good location, only 5-10 mins stroll from the Minster and has reasonable parking provision. It is relatively quiet too for a hotel close to the city centre, However the room was disappointingly small, with barely room between the foot of the bed and the wall to get through, although it was spotlessly clean and well equipped.
One of the main problems we found was with breakfast service - it was truly chaotic. The staff were doing their best, but the dining rooms are too small for the number of guests and the kitchen wasn't coping well. The breakfast buffet was constantly running low of fruit and juices, service was patchy and there seemed to be a significant issue with getting the right orders to the correct tables - not just our table, but also others around us all got the wrong breakfast orders.
It is certainly not a bad hotel, but it gave the impression that it had grown too much and the infrastructure could not cope with a full hotel. It is also fairly expensive, and these issues make it rather poor value for money.
York is certainly a city worth visiting. Would we stay at this hotel again? Possibly for its location, but we would hope that the hotel was not full as we are sure that all the other reviews cannot be wrong!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yamana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gregHotel, owner at Hedley House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2010

We would like to think that being ranked 4th by tripadvisor visitors is not just 'good luck'. We are sorry to hear that you experienced problems with breakfast service, none of these issues were brought to our attention at the time, or as guests checked out. Unfortunately some weekends when we are full all of our guests come down to breakfast all at once and we may experience busy spells. Our staff cope with these situations brilliantly and ensure that all guests receive the same level of service regardless of how many other guests are staying. Kind regards, Louise Harrand

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2010

We decided to stay here on the basis of reviews on this site, big mistake. We were in the annexe which is actually a house two streets away. Room was nice enough, the only one on the top floor but it was freezing. To make matters worse we asked at reception if they could do something about and it were told that it it only comes on for a couple of hours in the morning then doesn't come on again till 5 in the afternoon going off at 10, so unless you were in bed snuggled up by 9 you were feeling it. They kindly extended the heating time by a mere fifteen minutes in the evening! The place is pretty expensive for a two star so I think its a bit rich - heard others from the main hotel complaining about the cold too.
No sound insulation either - kept up for two nights with the guy in the room below snoring.
And I agree with other reviewers about breakfast - seems impossible for them to get your order correct.

I'm not usually one for posting on sites like these but I noticed a sign in reception saying that if you enjoyed your stay to post a message on tripadvisor and if you didn't to tell management! Well I did try to tell you guys but you didn't listen.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank natureloverGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gregHotel, Owner at Hedley House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2010

We're very sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. As we have all experienced this winter the weather has been particularly cold. When our rooms are not taken we do turn the heating to minimum to conserve energy, hence why rooms feel cold on arrival. When the matter of the heating was brought to our attention, it was put onto constant, not extended by 15 mins as you thought. Also we cannot help other guests snoring, and I'm afraid old victorian terrace houses were not built with thick walls!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2010

We stayed at Hedley House recently, and it was a mixed experience. After this, I couldn’t recommend this place with a good conscience as our room was the bad part of the experience.

The good stuff:
- The people. Everyone’s friendly, helpful, and in general, act like you’d expect in a much more expensive hotel.
- The breakfast. It made me mind the bad stuff less.
- The location. It’s pretty close to everywhere you want to go.
- It’s clean.

The bad stuff:
I think they’ve expanded a bit too much. I don’t think Hedley House should put guests in our room (which was billed as standard and not economy, by the way--I asked the person at the front desk) for these reasons:
- Our room was a lower ground floor room, the entrance of which was actually outside the hotel. It was pretty disconcerting to read the “please lock your cars” notice on the bulletin board and have one door lock between us and the outside world.
- This room was only quasi-heated and was uncomfortably cold. The bathroom had absolutely no heat at all and it was literally painful to walk in there without shoes on as the floor was freezing cold.
- This room was directly beneath the kitchen. While it’s great that this place offers dinner quite late into the night and breakfast reasonably early, this meant a very, very noisy room. There was no sleeping past 7 a.m. which really isn’t great when you’re on holiday. The noise of people walking above is really, really loud.
- I’d be surprised if this room meets local fire code. There’s one exit—the door—and you have to lock yourself inside (which is a fiddly process) at night. I can’t imagine that you could get yourself out of this room quickly if you needed to. There’s a smoke alarm but no sprinkler system and no phone in the room that one might use to call for help. Because this room is next to basement storage and not actually in the main hotel, I doubt the fire service would think to look for you here if you needed them.

We were pretty disappointed as my review above indicates, especially in light of what we’d read in trip advisor. If you get a room inside the hotel, you’ll probably be thrilled. I wouldn’t book, however, if you risk having to stay in the room we had, which was a full-price standard double.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sassypanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gregHotel, Owner at Hedley House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2010

Sorry to hear that you weren't fully satisfied with your stay at Hedley House. The room you were allocated should have been explained to you on booking as we like to inform guests about the location, possible noise etc. This must have been overlooked as you booked through an independant booking agency. The room does have an alternative exit which can be used in case of emergency and is up to current safety regulations.
The notice regarding locking your car states that people should not leave valuables, sat navs etc in the cars overnight and should ensure cars are locked as a precautionary measure. We get very few problems and we would like to keep it that way.
Regards
Louise Harrand

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2010

From the warm welcome and the kind and attentive service, my first impression of the hotel could only get better. The room was clean, tidy and spacious. The shower was impresibly big, and the Cadbury hot chocolate available on the drinks tray sold me over.
The bed was confortable, and no outside noise came into the room, which aided the peaceful sleep.
Quick and excelent service, from the tour on the premises to the check out goodbye.
Included free parking also very handy, since the city centre is barely five minutes walk away.
From now on, Hedley House hotel is a must when staying in York.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seenitall011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gregHotel, owner at Hedley House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2010

Thank you for your kind review, I'm pleased to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hedley House. Kind regards, Greg & Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2010

We stayed at Hedley House for 2 nights to celebrate our wedding anniversary. The staff were all very friendly, helpful and professional and the room was clean spacious, with up to date decor and a nice en suite.
Breakfast was cooked to a very good standard and to order. We had dinner at the hotel on the first night and it was very very good. Really good value for money and as good as the food on our honeymoon which had 3 AA stars.
The hotel felt like it was between a b and b and a hotel which suited us. It was very close to the Minster area (5 mins walk). We tried the Guy Falkes Pub for food the second night and would recommend that for food too. Nice candlelit atmosphere and better than average pub food.
Great stay all in all - thank you to Hedley House.
PS - off street parking was very important too!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happytravellers_imps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
659 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#17 of 47 in York
1,534 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hedley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hedley House

Address: 3 Bootham Terrace, York YO30 7DH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in York
#4 Spa Hotel in York
#5 Family Hotel in York
#10 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range: £85 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hedley House 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hedley House Hotel - A 3 Star Silver Award Hotel, within an 8 minute walk of the city. All rooms en-suite & all recently refurbished. Free wireless internet access. Off street car-parking, restaurant & lounge bar. 6 person outdoor aqua spa. Ample parking charged £10 per day. Electric car charging station Free wifi Deluxe rooms available with Apple TV ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hedley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hedley Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing