We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good food and service”
Review of Hedley House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hedley House
Ranked #13 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 October 2010

We spent 3 nights at Hedley House Hotel. Great location, only a few minutes walk into York. Our room was a large double at the front of the hotel and to say it was so near to York there was no city noise. Breakfast was good and the one evening meal we had was excellent. We would stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan1315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,610)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,387 - 1,393 of 1,611 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2010

My wife and I stayed for 3 nights on a special offer of £200 (double room with breakfast). Staff excellent. Although room was in the basement it was large, very clean with loads of storage. Tea & coffee making facilities and a flat screen TV fixed to wall. We had 2 showers in our ensuite (shower cubicle & shower located over the bath). Breakfast was very good and set you up for the day - extra toast was provided on request. Location is excellent - only 5 minutes from Minster. Parking available at rear of hotel but it should be noted parking spaces are very tight. If you are not competent at parking in tight spaces you could easily damage your car. All in all this hotel provides very good value for money for York where hotels tend to be expensive.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fluteplayer1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gregHotel, Owner at Hedley House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2010

Thank you for your kind review, we're pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to Hedley House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2010

Hedley House is a great deal for York, where hotel rates tend to be high. The property is extremely clean, and all of the people who work there impressed me and my friend as friendly and knowledgeable. The location is excellent--on a quiet street 5 minutes walk from the MInster and 15 from the railway station. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank onegoodyank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gregHotel, Owner at Hedley House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2010

Thanks for the review. We're pleased that you thought we were knowledgeable! Having lived in York for 37 years I should know a thing or two about the area!
We hope to see you again, Regards Lou Harrand

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2010

Hedley House is a perfect base for a stay in York. I couldn't fault the room, and thought that the restaurant was excellent. (I intended to try a few restaurants while there, but ended up eating in the hotel restaurant on all but one of the seven nights). I think this hote offers great value for money. The free off-street car park is a real bonus in York.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike106635
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gregHotel, Owner at Hedley House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2010

Thank you for your great review, we're so pleased that you had such a comfortable stay with us and enjoyed the restaurant too. We hope to see you again. Regards Greg & Lou Harrand

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2010

beautiful hotel and we had a great evening in the jacuzzi and sauna. Great personal service in a luxurious setting and perfect location for all of Yorks attractions. We will definately use this hotel again when we are in York. Very comfortable bed and new facilities throughout. can't rate this hotel enough.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank siobhanthew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gregHotel, Owner at Hedley House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2010

So glad you took advantage of all of our facilities and had a great stay. We hope to see you again at Hedley House. Regards, Lou& Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2010

For a tourist. this is a great location, We found the staff very friendly and helpful and enjoyed the meals and choices

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kisan037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gregHotel, Owner at Hedley House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2010

Thank you for your kind review, we hope that you enjoyed the rest of your trip. Regards Lou Harrand

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2010

Our stay at the Hedley House Hotel was great we stayed for one night, our room was a good size, beds very comfy, very clean, and bright.The hotel is only a short walk to all the shops and pubs.Very nice breakfast a good selection of cereals,toast and the full english was excellent and a very nice cup of tea!!!!! York is a great place, we are planning to go back again in a few weeks.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank northfield5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gregHotel, Owner at Hedley House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2010

Thank you for your review, we're glad that you enoyed your stay with us. I do think a good cup of tea is essential, I'm pleased it was to your satisfaction! Regards Lou Harrand

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,551 reviews
0.2 mi away
B+B York
B+B York
#6 of 47 in York
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Churchill Hotel
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#17 of 47 in York
1,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hedley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hedley House

Address: 3 Bootham Terrace, York YO30 7DH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in York
#4 Spa Hotel in York
#10 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range: £87 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hedley House 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hedley House Hotel - A 3 Star Silver Award Hotel, within an 8 minute walk of the city. All rooms en-suite & all recently refurbished. Free wireless internet access. Off street car-parking , restaurant & lounge bar. 6 person outdoor aqua spa. Ample parking charged £12 per day reservation is essential . Electric car charging station. Free wifi Deluxe rooms available with Apple TV.Breakfast is £9.95 per person ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hedley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hedley Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing