We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable, Friendly & Central”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hedley House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hedley House Hotel
Ranked #15 of 45 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable, Friendly & Central”
Reviewed 30 November 2010

A big plus for this guest house is its location, a very plesant 5 - 10 min walk to the city centre and its attractions. We had a room on the 3rd floor (lots of stairs, but we were told this at the time of booking) it was spacious & clean with very comfy beds and lovely fluffy towels. We were accommodated for dinner at short notice and the food was all freshly cooked and delicious. For me the greatest asset here is the genuine hospitality extended a very different experience to similar priced bed factories!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank narnia51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,525 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    823
    496
    141
    46
    19
See reviews for
237
858
35
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2010

We stayed in York for one evening at the Hedley House. The B&B style hotel is cozy but with all the amenities and just a 5 to 10 minute walk to the city center or the train station so it was very convenient. While we didn't have dinner at the Hedley House they have a great breakfast where they actually make you an english breakfast on the spot which was delicious.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank khpittman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 November 2010

Have just ejoyed a weekend in York, and Hedley House is an ideal base. Friendly staff, clean rooms and just a short (10 minute) walk from the city centre. Would certainly consider staying again in future

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CudgieHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2010

We travelled with another couple and arrived just after 7pm on a Friday night. Check-in was confused and confusing - we were met at the desk by a lady who continued to use her mobile phone whilst informing us that she 'wasn't really working tonight'. Another person eventually checked us in and showed us to our rooms. These were not in the main part of the hotel but in a set of rooms in one of the adjoining terraces along the row. Both rooms were spacious, light and spotless, although some of the soft furnishings had seen better days (eg: the bed cover, though clean, was frayed in places and looked tired). Breakfast was a bit of a scrum: the buffet area where all the cereals, fruit, etc were set out was very small and when used by two or more people meant a queue developed with little space for anyone to wait as serving staff tried to reach nearby tables. Breakfast itself was adequate, although no-one asked how we would like our eggs cooked or if we would like more tea or toast - we had to ask for all of these. All in all, I was disappointed with our experience at Hedley House, espeially as their website looked so inviting. There was nothing that could be complained about in particular, everything was OK - but that was it, just OK. It's a comparatively pricey place to stay and for what we paid I don't think it was good value for money: we had the feeling the hotel was a bit of a money-making machine, rather than somewhere where service and guests' comfort is paramount. I've stayed in York quite a few times and there are far nicer places to stay at far better prices.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HOwen63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keighley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2010

Cannot fault this hotel in this price range. The staff were charming. The service efficient. The rooms very well sound proofed and well equipped.The food very good. We were accommodated for a very nice evening meal at very short notice. The location was a stone's throw from the centre of York but quiet. Parking was tight but to have it was excellent. Just sorry we didn't get chance to try the hot tub. i would definitely recommend it and stay again.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rackette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2010

We went to York for a short break and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The staff is very friendly, their service prompt and they are ready to go out of the way to help their guests. The location is great with all sights within walkable distance. Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank occassionaltraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmfirth
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2010

Just returned from a 2 night stay at Hedley House as part of a small hen do. We had two large attic rooms that slept 4/5 people. The rooms were very clean and beds were very comfortable. Dinner at the hotel on the first night was lovely as was breakfast on both mornings. All staff were very friendly and efficient. The hotel was very well located for walking into York during the day and also back again at night. The only issue we had was getting blocked in the car park on the day of our departure. The hotel keeps the keys of cars that are causing an obstruction but we were suprised to be asked if we minded moving the car ourselves! It took us a while to work out how to actually drive such a modern car with no hand brake!! I am only mentioning this so you are aware in case you need to depart in a hurry However, hotels with free parking so close to the city tend to be very expensive and we all thought this was very reasonably priced.

We all enjoyed our stay and would happily return in the future.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa_Holmfirth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 45 in York
1,082 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
St Denys Hotel
St Denys Hotel
#1 of 45 in York
574 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#17 of 45 in York
1,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hedley House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hedley House Hotel

Property: Hedley House Hotel
Address: 3 Bootham Terrace, York YO30 7DH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in York
#4 Spa Hotel in York
#5 Family Hotel in York
#10 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hedley House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hedley House Hotel - A 3 Star Silver Award Hotel, within an 8 minute walk of the city. All rooms en-suite & all recently refurbished. Free wireless internet access. Off street car-parking, restaurant & lounge bar. 6 person outdoor aqua spa. Ample parking charged £10 per day. Electric car charging station Free wifi Deluxe rooms available with Apple TV ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Lastminute, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hedley House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hedley Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing