We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relatively ok, but not what the adverts say!”
Review of Hedley House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hedley House
Ranked #14 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Derbyshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Relatively ok, but not what the adverts say!”
Reviewed 30 December 2010

We stayed 4 nights in December. It was a very cold long weekend with pleanty of snow and ice. Our room was actually in another part of the building, not attached at all. Although the owners state they will be building in 2011, combining all 3 buildings, it is unfair to call this a hotel. It is in fact a glorified B&B.
We had to ask several times if the heating in the room could be turned on as it was very cold indeed. The Radiator was eventually repaired, thank goodness. However the heating was on a timer and went off at midnight and on again at 7am. Although on our last night (Monday), the heating was turned off at 9pm. C'mon people, it was mid winter, old victorian house without double glazing or insulation... What can I say!
I understand there are a fair few visitors to this B&B, but I prefer more home comforts and a choice on when to have heating......most hotels offer this today.
It was overall an okay place to het your head down, it was different, although I would not recommend as a favourable place to stay and for the price per night, there was slightly more modern and less restricted hotels in York.
Size of the room was good for 3 or 4 people.
Shower was quite small
Quite cold in the rooms without the heating
Two of the 3 cups were broken even though a note was left on top of them
You do get 1 pack of two biscuits per couple
It's not what you see in the advert and I was a little disappointed and it was the only thing that really lowered the weekend break.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jac_Mally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,556 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    841
    507
    143
    46
    19
See reviews for
245
879
35
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 22 December 2010

We arrived in York for the Festival of Angels weekend, and were not disappointed!! The hotel is absolutely beautiful; perfectly placed for a 5 minute stroll into the city centre (either by road or through a gorgeous nearby park), the staff were amazing from the moment we stepped through the door, breakfast was excellent - amazing coffee and full english breakfast cooked to order, and the rooms were spacious and clean with attention to detail. We stayed in the Gates Hotel - a couple of doors down from the main hotel, and couldn't fault anything! Thanks to Greg and all the staff for helping to make our weekend as perfect as it was!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SAE156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield
Level 6 Contributor
252 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2010

The description of the hotel being in Clifton was a little mis-leading as it is only a few minutes' walk from Bootham Bar i.e. the town centre. Lovely breakfast and friendly staff.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2010

Every year my daughters & I spend a "girls" weekend in York to finish off our Christmas shopping.
This is the second year running that we have stayed at Hedley House - in a lovely triple room. We discovered it last year & certainly will be staying again.
The Hotel is very nice indeed & within walking distance of the centre of York. Off road secure parking.
Breakfast is excellent. Staff are all very friendly. Rooms are very clean, warm & comfotable.
All in all a very pleasant stay again in York.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jebbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 December 2010

Stayed for two nights in Dec 2010 as part of Christmas Shopping trip. Staff all very helpfull, room a good size and well equiped. Hotel has parking and is 10 mins walk from the city centre. Would recommend this hote

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WiganHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2010

We had a very good week-end and a good dinner at Hedley House Hotel. The hotel was very warm and cozy in a cold winter and the staff were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela-Edward-Moira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2010

Recently booked a two night stay after reading reviews but was sadly disappointed, although I have to say the location is excellent just a few minutes from the Minster. Nevertheless, the room was not in the building named Hedley House but two doors down in a self catering building and so each morning had to don hat and coat as it was snowing to go down the road to have breakfast. We were not advised of this fact when booking. Breakfast was very small one slice overcooked bacon, one sausage which actually wasn't a sausage but a tiny chipolata, one egg, ok for me but not mansize. BUT most dangerous of all.second night the fire alarm went off, bearing in mind we were at the very top of the house on the third floor with only velux windows out onto a slopping roof. Everyone came out and utter confusion no one knew what to do, no smoke but we all decided to go down to the ground floor, no one from the hotel came to check on anyone at all or apologise, or explain. It was freezing cold and everyone just wanted to go back to bed, there is no fire alarm information in this room which might even be illegal. We had to ask for our heating to be checked as well one the second night and one other couple complained they had no heating not very good when it's minus 6! I really don't like to complain as it was an excellent location and the hotel seemed full, it was clean and tidy although sheets and towels are not changed nightly, so expensive at £100 a night. I am an experienced traveller and so overall disappointed although York was wonderful, Betty's, the Minster everything so not regrets on the visit.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vb52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThebossYork, Owner at Hedley House, responded to this review, 11 December 2010
Thank you for your review, we do take all criticism seriously. We do apologise that you did not enjoy your stay at Hedley House. The issue with the fire alarms being set off could have been dealt with better, but our manager did go and check that all of the evacuation points had been cleared of guests. Fire information is contained in all of our bedrooms within the information pack. You should have been informed on making your reservation that you were in the annex, the house next door to the main hotel, I do apologise for this oversight. We are looking at changing the layout of the 4 victorian buildings to avoid this, but it has rarely been a problem before now. I hope that you still enjoyed your stay in York. Regards, Louise Harrand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,301 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
633 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#17 of 47 in York
1,497 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Churchill Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hedley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hedley House

Property: Hedley House
Address: 3 Bootham Terrace, York YO30 7DH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in York
#4 Spa Hotel in York
#5 Family Hotel in York
#10 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hedley House 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hedley House Hotel - A 3 Star Silver Award Hotel, within an 8 minute walk of the city. All rooms en-suite & all recently refurbished. Free wireless internet access. Off street car-parking, restaurant & lounge bar. 6 person outdoor aqua spa. Ample parking charged £10 per day. Electric car charging station Free wifi Deluxe rooms available with Apple TV ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hedley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hedley Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing