We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“FABULOUS”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of 15 Stonegate Court

The Minster from our piazza
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Minster from our piazza
Sitting area Sitting area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
57 reviews
The Minster from our piazza
Sitting area
Sitting area
Dining area
Kitchen
Master bedroom
Second bedroom: super-king configuration
Second bedroom: twin-beds configuration
En suite bathroom
Main bathroom
Our private south-facing terrace
Floor plan
Another view from Stonegate Court's piazza
The Shambles
Low Petergate
Betty's Café - 50 yards from our door!
Walking the wall
A local resident...
The Minster organ
Another local resident...
The Archbishop and friends...
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 57 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sagn15
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“FABULOUS”
Reviewed 18 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Had a great time in York due to the great location of the flat. Central for the shops, sight seeing and the night life. Flat had everything that we needed, was spotless and john could not have been a better host.

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gturner50
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Could not ask for anything more”
Reviewed 13 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This is a wonderful place to stay. In the heart of York, close to everything. I felt like I was living in medieval times but enjoying all the modern facilities. Thank you for the welcome package waiting for us. Enjoyed it after a day of travel.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LBKJ
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Fantastic location, superb apartment which is home from home”
Reviewed 18 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Location is great we had our grandchildren so if they needed to eat or take time out it was minutes from the central attractions.
Apartment is comfortable and has everything you could ask for and more.
we were able to walk everywhere as we were so central. & this made the York Pass a bargain.
Everything that John has written to describe the apartment is true.
We are looking forward to visiting York again as a couple & hoping o rent the apartment again.
Having a place to park the Car the whole time we were there was a Bonus.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing apart from the Dishwasher door flying open
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elspeth3
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfectly situated”
Reviewed 7 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This is a great flat, perfectly situated in the centre of York, well supplied with cake & wine too! John is very helpful & flexible. We would definitely rent this flat again.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traveller...
Cape Town
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Central location and lovely apartment”
Reviewed 29 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This apartment is beautifully appointed, spacious and very centrally located in the centre of York. The apartment itself is very quiet and peaceful. We found it to be clean with extra surprises waiting for us to indulge in. It was a pleasure dealing with John who responded promptly to email communication and made an effort to pop around to the apartment but we were out at the time. Although the lift was out of order while we visited, we didn't need to use it as the apartment is on the first level.
We especially enjoyed listening to the bells chiming and the evensong emanating from the Minster which gives the elusion of being almost next door to the apartment.
A memorable visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and space
Liked least: dust on some of the furniture and carpet perimeters
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy C
Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great apartment”
Reviewed 4 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Stayed here for 4 nights. We all loved it. Very clean modern apartment. No need for a car as it is right in the city centre and everything is within walking distance


John was very helpful from the very start and has thought of everything needed to make a great holiday

We hope to be back soon

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Modern and clean
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jrose1g
Miami, FL
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This apartment is lovely, well-equipped, quiet, and perfectly located in the heart of York.”
Reviewed 24 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We have rented various apartments in York over the last 20 years - all of them perfectly acceptable - but this one was outstanding in its comfort, location, and quiet. Even though it is in the very heart of York, less than a 5-minute walk from York Minster, the city walls, the Shambles, etc., and even though the city centre of York is usually bustling with activity, once you go into the building with the apartment, it is absolutely quiet. From the terrace area outside the apartment, you see the towers of the Minster just over a couple of red tile roofs, and if you open the windows, you can hear the cathedral bells. Otherwise, it is its own little haven of quiet in the center of the city. The apartment was ideal for 4 adults traveling together - spacious, comfortable, and with a well-equipped kitchen. The parking space for the car is an easy walk away, making day trips to places like Whitby, the Moors, and Fountains Abbey quite simple. We especially enjoy the choral services at York Minster, and this apartment allowed us to walk over in literally 5 minutes. Also, the wifi set-up is excellent. Getting to the apartment to unload is tricky because of the streets of York and the hours that cars can enter the city, but our apartment owner gave us detailed, explicit directions that made it work well. Be sure to print out and read and follow the directions he provides ahead of time and as you drive in, if you arrive by car.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and comfort
Liked least: There was not a thing I didn't like.
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing