We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful way to see the city” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Walking Tours - Association of Voluntary Guides

Walking Tours - Association of Voluntary Guides
Ranked #17 of 57 Tours in York
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful way to see the city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013

Our guide was very kind and knowledgeable - he has lived in York for over 70 years (!) and had a lot of interesting stories. Would recommend to anyone who wants to learn about the history of York and have a couple of hours in the city.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank LiorE_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    10
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
201 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“The best two hours you'll spend in York”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2013

Simply amazing. The guide was a wealth of information, the tour was interesting and captivating, the places we saw were brilliant examples of "living history". Simply the best two hours you'll spend in York. And it's free!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank agfoxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crieff, Scotland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“This should be in the top five!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2012

Can't believe this isn't further up the best attractions list. This was one of the best things we did in York. You meet outside the art gallery beside Bootham Bar and don't have to book. You are welcomed by a tour guide who takes you on a two hour walking tour of the city and points out lots of bits and pieces which as a tourist you could easily miss. The walk goes at a gentle pace with lots of stops for history talks and trivia and little snippets of info. Our guide was very knowledgeable but also great fun and quite down to earth. A good guide can make or break a tour and he certainly made it. He didn't just churn out facts but made it fun and interesting.
We were in a small party of two Scots (us), two English and two Canadians so we got a ribbing about some historical points but all in good fun. The tour is free but I would have willing paid for it, it was so good. A big thank you to the volunteers who give up their time to offer this fab service.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank babymac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mendoza, Argentina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“superb - the best 2 hour intro to this amazing city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2012

Colin was our tour, and there cannot be a better introduction to this amazing city... a gentle walk, some fun facts, some fascinating gems, a lot of history... the perfect mix for your introduction to his extraordinary city

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank arj404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Walking Tours - Association of Voluntary Guides also viewed

 

Been to Walking Tours - Association of Voluntary Guides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing