We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very dull and boring”
Review of The Bay Horse

The Bay Horse
Ranked #379 of 869 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$65
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A contemporary and traditional public house with separate areas for drinking and dining, separated by an unusual four sided bar. We have an extensive menu of traditional pub food and food from around the world, all locally farmed or sourced. We also have a room to the rear which is suitable for small functions such as private dining or funeral occasions.The letting rooms in the property are basic yet spotlessly clean. The rooms are en-suite with T.V, tea & coffee making facilities and free internet access. The rooms are gradually being upgraded and we request that guests appreciate that this is a public house b&b and not a boutique hotel.
uk
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very dull and boring”
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Visited lunchtime. Don't bother with this place. It is a "cliquey" pub for the locals who all turn and stare at you as you walk in if they don't know you. It is dull, characterless and grubby with dirty loos and offhand staff. Don't waste your money here. The Pavillion Hotel just along the road is a much more pleasant place to eat/drink

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jetsom00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick M, Owner at The Bay Horse, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Sorry to hear of your disappointment with your visit to The Bay Horse. We constantly strive to provide all guests with an enjoyable visit and would like to take the opportunity to investigate further. we do, however, need to establish both the date and time of your visit to address certain elements of your 'complaint'.
We must stress that every effort is made to ensure the highest standards of cleanliness throughout the pub at all times, which is an area that we usually receive praise for, even in previous reviews.
To respond to one point in particular, our toilet facilities are awaiting a full refurbishment by Enterprise Inns, a process that we have no control over the time scale involved, but is currently in hand. Although the toilets may appear dated, they are clean.
Finally, the establishment mentioned in your review is part of a multi-million pound group who have access to vast funds to maintain and improve at will. It is also a 4 star rated hotel which we do not advertise ourselves as being and as such offer a different experience to a public house. The Bay Horse is a privately owned business which is being upgraded as and when funds become available.
Should you wish to discuss your visit further, please do not hesitate to contact us through the usual methods.
Regards
Nick Milner
Co Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    22
    7
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Shocking.”
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Visited last Thursday afternoon with my mum where we had the chicken, bacon and mayo sandwich for lunch - delicious. That was the deciding factor for hubby's birthday, forget the usual Indian curry it had to be The Bay Horse, Fulford. When we arrived at 7pm the place was very quiet which wasn't a problem as we were there with our young son. Hubby and I ordered the roast of the day and our son ordered steak and ale pie. The meat and carrots were bland, the gravy was delicious and the peas were like bullets. I could say that the peas seemed under cooked but they were more like when they have aged and dried up. Our son said the meat in his pie was dry and the peas were crunchy. I was prepared to pay over the odds for hubby's birthday but I couldn't even consider this food as fair.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DozeyRosey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick M, Owner at The Bay Horse, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
I would appreciate the opportunity to respond to this review after taking time to speak with members of our team who were on duty on the evening in question.
As we have posted in the past, all customers are asked, within 5 minutes of having their meal brought to their table, if everything is to their satisfaction. Once again, the customer said yes. To eat everything on the plate apart from the peas and then expect to pay nothing is, in our opinion, unacceptable.
Every effort is made to ensure that customers receive our best attention and top quality produce at all times.
We will and very infrequently do accept criticism and matters are dealt with in a prompt, polite and efficient way to appease any complaints.
We do conduct spot checks and use mystery shopper companies to monitor and maintain our high standards as part of our commitment to provide an outstanding offer.
We have no intention of upholding this complaint as the customer was clearly unreasonable in both his complaint and attitude to our staff on this occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Button Busting Portions”
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We recently went to York, and were looking for somewhere to have an evening meal, my Partner, Mother-in-Law and myself, we had looked at the most local pub, but were not impressed, so had a walk up Fulford Road, it was further than we thought, so my Partner went back for the car. We drove past the first pub, nothing said good food every day, so went further along, and found this fantastic pub.

The menu was realisticly priced, and offered some old favourites, such as Beer Battered Fish, Hand cut chips and mushy or Garden peas, small and regular portion, Lasagne, burgers, steak's, salads, a roast of the day, to name but a few, on the first night two of us went for the Fish, Chips and Mushy peas, small portion for Mother in Law, regular for me, and my Partner had Scampi, chips and side salad, all had a small dish of tartar sauce, a wedge of lemon and came on hot plates, the small portion was not much smaller than the regular one, but neither of us could finish our dishes, my Partner had 12 pieces of scampi, loads of chips and the side salad, which was almost a full portion size, WOW the chips are to die for, nice and thick without being greasy, mushy peas were nice, not the usual sad taste they usually have, and the fish was Haddock, which was lovely and white flesh, coated in a lovely crisp golden brown batter, Scampi was coated in golden crumb, the same hand cut chips and the side salad, comprising of fresh Spanish onion, leaves, tomato, and red pepper, neither of us could finish our meals, as the portions are so generous, but it was well worth the money, all three came in at under £25, including a pint of Black Sheep beer, half of larger and lime, and a pineapple juice, it was so good, we went back the next night, and took my Partners Daughter, (34), she had Chilli with Nachos, nice and spicy, served with sliced jalapeño chilli, and dips, Mother in Law and I had Lasagne, with a side portion of chips, and side salad, salad as before, but I had no tomato, the Lasagne, was piping hot, it was still bubbling in the dish when it arrived at the table, the same chips as the night before, they are to die for. My Partner had Beef and Theakstons Ale, and Mushroom pie, with new potatoes and peas, the pie had a short crust pastry lid, loads of succulent pieces of well cooked beef, and loads of mushrooms, a good portion of new potatoes, with the skins on, and garden peas, with a lovely meat juice based gravy, as before, we couldn't eat all of it, but we were very happy with the meals and would have gone back for the Sunday lunch, if my Partners Daughter had not booked somewhere else, I recommend this pub, as it has lovely food, attentive food staff, good service, and is nice and clean, spacious and friendly bar staff, its worth visiting York to go to the Bay Horse, and we plan to go back again soon.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dawn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick M, Owner at The Bay Horse, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
I would just like to say thank you for the positive review and how happy we are that we provided you with a good experience.
Our aim is to provide great quality, local food and drink at an affordable price and this ethos seems to be paying off.
Thankyou for visiting us and we hope to see you again should you be visiting York.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Bay Horse delivers again!”
Reviewed 4 May 2013

As stated in my previous review, we often visit the Bay Horse for their tasty food and the friendly and welcoming atmosphere. I recently held my 70th birthday party at the pub where relatives and friends very much enjoyed a meal in the conservatory. Nick, Tiffany and excellent staff made sure that all went smoothly and the conservatory seated us all comfortably and it looked great. We were able to enjoy going into the garden after our meal as it was a nice sunny day. We went back again last night to enjoy another meal along with a few friends, again in the conservatory. It was much enjoyed by all. Once again, Nick,Tiffany and staff did their utmost to make sure that the evening went smoothly and although the lounge and bar were packed out and all the staff were extremely busy, they made sure we weren't neglected and the evening was brilliant. Thank you again - we will be back of course!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beryl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Superb Food”
Reviewed 4 May 2013

Had an excellent meal here with a colleague while in York on a business trip. The food was excellent and massive portions; if you want to feel full after a meal then this is the place for you. The size of the burgers is verging on the point of ridiculous; there is even a food challenge but neither of us was up for that. Good atmosphere in the pub with a good selection of beers. Would definitely eat here again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank biggerbige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bay Horse also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Bay Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing