We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Third world latrine” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The York Tap

The York Tap
Ranked #147 of 850 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Wheelchair Accessible
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Third world latrine”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Picked up my wife from the station and popped in for a drink.
I immediately picked up the smell of urine and then had to use the gents toilet. It was literally swilling with the proverbial.
A real shame as it has the potential to be a great local.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joss H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YorkTapResponse, General Manager at The York Tap, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Hello

Firstly i would like to apologise for the poor cleanliness of the toilets when you visited the York Tap.
We have since your visit, replaced the urinals and refurbished the toilets to try and combat the problem. As you can see from other reviews toilets have been an issue in the past and though we have changed the facilities and layout on 3 occasions, poor drainage meant that the problem still occured. Since we have changed the urinals themselves, plumbed in a whole new system internally with East Coast sorting the plumbing externally we believe we have stopped the problem.

I hope that if you decide to return to York Tap at any stage you will find both the bar and toilets at a state of cleanliness that is more satisfactory.

Apologies again and we look forward to you re-visiting.

Regards

Rich Cockram

General Manager
York Tap
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    66
    22
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster
Level Contributor
73 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Proper pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

the Tap is in a beautiful edwardian building, has a nice atmosphere and no loud music or fruit machines. Just a great selection of beers and some good wines. Located at the railway station.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lynda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brecon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
337 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Beer drinkers paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

We found this bar in CAMRAS good beer guide, and what a treat it was, with 19 real ales on hand pump, we tried a few between us and they were all well kept and in good condition. We are thinking of catching the train to York just to revisit this bar!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank MrMrsW50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Beer drinkers paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

Wow! Another recommendation, 20 beers on cask which the 2 I tried were in tip top condition and 12 on keg plus a vast array of bottled beers this really is a beer drinkers paradise.

Plenty of bar snacks which include crisps and pies, I am just pleased I didn't have to catch a train because I would have certainly missed it otherwise.

Inside is vast with lots of seating and topped off by an impromptu display by a group of Scottish sword dancers made for a great early start to an evening.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent bar, look forward to returning one day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

This place has an excellent range of beers. 30 pumps are available of which 20 are real ale, and the others for world beers. The prices are all very reasonable for a railway station location. There is also an extensive range of foreign beers (many from USA) available in bottles. There is no food menu as such, but they do specialise in pies and have a selection available. The staff are all very knowledgable and friendly too. It would get a 5* rating from me if they had free wifi! which they don't and is the only thing I can fault with this place.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank mattgen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The York Tap also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The York Tap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing