We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just wasn't our day!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The York Tap

The York Tap
Ranked #130 of 858 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Wheelchair Accessible
nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Just wasn't our day!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

In theory, it's perfect for grabbing a snack and a drink before catching your train as The York Tap opens straight onto the station platform. So we were heartbroken to discover that:-
(1) they'd run out of Jaipurs beer;
(2) they'd run out of white wine
(3) they didn't do veggie-type snacks and sandwiches

Better luck next time maybe?

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MyDearOldThing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    69
    23
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
384 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“A pub not to be miss”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Located in the train station, this a grand place to stop for a beer while waiting for a train. One of the larger selection of beers on tap I spotted during my UK stay. One can sit inside or outside watching the trains go by. I can not think of a better place to relax while waiting for your train.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
york
Level Contributor
144 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Not to be missed at the station”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

I hadn't written about this place before, but have visited many times.

Always manage to get a seat, if you're prepared to squeeze in!
Great beers, nice staff, cold wine.

A good set up and will visit as soon as!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank clare i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Location and selection make this a great tavern stop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

Right between the train platform and the Royal York Hotel, this became out go-to stop for a pint or two in the evening. People-watching was great, and we were impressed by the breadth of beers and ales that were on tap. Definitely a place to drop by when you're in York.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NCTraveler27312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent range”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

I struggle coming here as there are just too many beers to choose from! A superb range of real ale, mostly from smaller brewers, and helpful staff who will always make an excellent recommendation.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank echo82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The York Tap also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The York Tap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing