We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend on every level”
Review of The Deramore Arms

The Deramore Arms
Ranked #266 of 914 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Deramore Arms is a historic pub in the York suburb of Heslington, close to the University and Science Park. We serve a wide range of real ales, craft beers and seasonal British food. We have a large carpark, beer garden and a microbrewery on the premises.
Reviewed 26 January 2020

My daughter and I were visiting the area for the university open day and came up the day before. We had dinner here and it was a lovely experience. We were made very welcome when arriving and the staff were all polite and friendly. It was a very busy night with a lively, happy atmosphere. I has a steak that was cooked to perfection and their chips are amazing. My daughter had the chicken and that was lovely too.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank teeceh2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (266)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 266 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2020

Food took 45 minutes to come out (only 3 tables occupied in pub). My mum and I ordered the halloumi and red pepper stack from the ‘on the grill’ section of the menu, the halloumi was totally undercooked, just slightly warm and the singular half a tomato was burnt (advertised as grilled cherry tomatoes on the vine). We told the waitress and she took it back and returned to tell us it’s cooked in the oven (not a grill?) so won’t look like grilled halloumi but they’ll cook it a bit longer. So the others had basically finished by the time ours came back out.

The actual ‘stack’ consisted of 2 tiny pieces of halloumi, 2 portobello mushrooms and a tiny piece of red pepper.
The chips were nice though.

Food was expensive for a really average meal

The decor of the pub is nice though so I imagine it would be nice just for drinks, and they do let dogs in

Date of visit: January 2020
1  Thank Abbey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2019

We had an excellent family meal at this pub on Chrismas Eve. The food was delicious and the service was very good. Very enjoyable.

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank LindaS-StephenS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2019 via mobile

Went to the Deramore for Xmas lunch with work colleagues. It's a nice pub with great beer choice, very pleasant staff, and run by a family who work tirelessly to make it work in a tough trade. The food was good value, the Leeds Pale on form, a good atmosphere and a pleasant afternoon all round. Thx!

Date of visit: December 2019
1  Thank andyr862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2019

We booked for lunch. Drinks... No brandy available. Goats cheese tart.... Overdone with balsamic, pastry hard and dry.
Roat turkey... Large lump of gristle from the breast bone. Yorkshire, very dark, hard and dry. Vegetables overcooked. Menu said sprouts ( note it is plural). I had one and 3 extra leaves, all overcooked.
Really sad as I remember this place being excellent value, but at £24 feel it was a bit of a rip off. They were busy but only after we started eating

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank patricia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Deramore Arms also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
Lealholm, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Deramore Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
$USD
United Kingdom
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.