We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend on every level”
Review of The Deramore Arms

The Deramore Arms
Get food delivered
Ranked #270 of 946 Restaurants in York
Price range: US$6 - US$25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Help more people discover your website by promoting it: your Page Page tips Get more calls You could get more people to call your Page when you create an ad for your Call Now button. How to create effective posts Short, visual posts created for the right audience are more successful. Create ad How would you like to grow your business? Product picker Free Facebook Business tools Insights See all Last 28 days: 26 May - 22 Jun Set your Page up for success Finish setting up your Page so people on Facebook know that you're a credible business. 12 of 14 steps completed About Main St Heslington YO10 5EA York Promote your business locally to lead people directly to Main St Heslington YO10 5EA York. Putting the community spirit back into the heart of the Heslington village pub, the Pinckney family and their team work hard to offer the whole community a warm and homely atmosphere with freshly made food and quality alcoholic & hot & cold soft drinks. See less Over the last three years we have
Reviewed 26 January 2020

My daughter and I were visiting the area for the university open day and came up the day before. We had dinner here and it was a lovely experience. We were made very welcome when arriving and the staff were all polite and friendly. It was a very busy night with a lively, happy atmosphere. I has a steak that was cooked to perfection and their chips are amazing. My daughter had the chicken and that was lovely too.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank teeceh2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (275)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 275 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2020

Food took 45 minutes to come out (only 3 tables occupied in pub). My mum and I ordered the halloumi and red pepper stack from the ‘on the grill’ section of the menu, the halloumi was totally undercooked, just slightly warm and the singular half a tomato was burnt (advertised as grilled cherry tomatoes on the vine). We told the waitress and she took it back and returned to tell us it’s cooked in the oven (not a grill?) so won’t look like grilled halloumi but they’ll cook it a bit longer. So the others had basically finished by the time ours came back out.

The actual ‘stack’ consisted of 2 tiny pieces of halloumi, 2 portobello mushrooms and a tiny piece of red pepper.
The chips were nice though.

Food was expensive for a really average meal

The decor of the pub is nice though so I imagine it would be nice just for drinks, and they do let dogs in

Date of visit: January 2020
1  Thank Abbey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 December 2019

We had an excellent family meal at this pub on Chrismas Eve. The food was delicious and the service was very good. Very enjoyable.

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank LindaS-StephenS
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 December 2019 via mobile

Went to the Deramore for Xmas lunch with work colleagues. It's a nice pub with great beer choice, very pleasant staff, and run by a family who work tirelessly to make it work in a tough trade. The food was good value, the Leeds Pale on form, a good atmosphere and a pleasant afternoon all round. Thx!

Date of visit: December 2019
1  Thank andyr862
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 December 2019

We booked for lunch. Drinks... No brandy available. Goats cheese tart.... Overdone with balsamic, pastry hard and dry.
Roat turkey... Large lump of gristle from the breast bone. Yorkshire, very dark, hard and dry. Vegetables overcooked. Menu said sprouts ( note it is plural). I had one and 3 extra leaves, all overcooked.
Really sad as I remember this place being excellent value, but at £24 feel it was a bit of a rip off. They were busy but only after we started eating

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank patricia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed The Deramore Arms also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
Lealholm, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Deramore Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.