We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Multiplex Cinema”
Review of Vue Cinema

Vue Cinema
Ranked #11 of 24 Fun & Games in York
Attraction details
York, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Multiplex Cinema”
Reviewed 25 November 2012

Multiplex cinema in the Clifton Moor area of York, north of the city. Kids club on a Saturday and Sunday morning with films that were out a few months earlier. Plenty of parking and eateries nearby. Also various shops including Tesco nearby. Good out of town cinema.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    24
    35
    32
    20
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Overpriced, tatty and terrible”
Reviewed 11 November 2012 via mobile

The multiplex cinemas were a good idea when they were invented, but all that tends to happen is they go down hill through neglect.

This cinema feels justified in charging £8.40 per adult to attend and then more for vastly over inflated drink/ snack prices (one tea, one coffee and two small bags of sweets £13.80). Indeed check your purchases, a neat trick they tried this time was adding an additional snack item to the purchase and only removed it when challenged.

The seating is uncomfortable again unless you pay even more to sit in the "VIP" faux leather seating. And the gents toilets are no better than a town public loo, dirty,smelly and unsanitary.

Simply put if you want to pay over the odds to sit in an uncomfortable seat and be charged excessively for a snack, then feel free to go to Vue in York, personally I think I will either wait for download or pay £3 less per person to see the same movie at Pocklington Art House a couple of weeks later.

Vue, wake up and charge responsibly!

Helpful?
1 Thank Nomadion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“There are better cinemas in York”
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We've been here quite a few times over the last couple of years.
Although it's quite a convenient location at Clifton Moor, you get the distinct feeling that they just keep it going without investing anything in the site or staff training. It went downhill ever since it became a Vue.
The staff seem all grumpy and just don't want to be there, the prices for the tickets are ludicrous, the screens are dated, seats uncomfortable unless you want to pay extra for slightly less uncomfortable leather seats which are sunk below the row in front and therefore have a worse view, and the concessions so heavily overpriced a quick trip to the pictures ends up being very expensive day out for a family of four.
This is a cinema where you're not treated like a customer but with contempt. Avoid at all costs.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Be warned”
Reviewed 28 August 2012

A warning to all parents of teens who may look younger than they are. ID is required for any child wanting to view a 15 or over film. We were refused entry as they did not believe our son was over 15 and - oddly enough - we don't tend to carry his passport with us. I can't comment on anything else as we left - very upset that our day out was runined

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Blulou3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Customer service”
Reviewed 11 August 2012 via mobile

Having been re-directed to another till, we waited some time whilst four members of staff had a chat about which ice cream thy should purchase. They proceeded to serve themselves. No pricing available in view as to what the film would cost, slightly taken back at £8 a ticket. Unable to enter to our seats fifteen min prior to start time as theatre in use

Helpful?
1 Thank Rustymatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vue Cinema also viewed

 
Malton, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Vue Cinema? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing