We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local cinema - not the best”
Review of Vue Cinema

Vue Cinema
Ranked #11 of 22 Fun & Games in York
Attraction details
York, UK
Level Contributor
484 reviews
125 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
“Local cinema - not the best”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This is our local cinema.

Since our last visit the ladies & gents toilets have had a complete makeover - but the smell of urine still hits you as you walk in !

The seats in the screen area are fraying and tatty. They are on a gentle slop - so quite often your view of the screen in partially blocked if a "large" person sits in front of you.

It could do with more money spending on it to make it feel fresh, vibrant and up to date.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Skeldergate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    23
    32
    31
    19
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Vue Lego movie”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Great movie and time schedule to fill kids evenings whilst on holiday in a B&B. Location is not so great and only ok if you have a car. The cinema is a bit tired and dated. Kids should use the booster seats provided, as the seating arrangement is almost level with the seat in front of you. Frankie & Benny's restaurant next door.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank DRMOJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Take Your Thermals!”
Reviewed 24 January 2014

This is the second time this year we have visited this cinema and have been absolutely frozen both times. The first time I complained and received some complementary tickets, and assurances that they would monitor the temperature more carefully, so we went again this week. The screen was very cold when we walked in so I asked a member of staff if he could have the heating turned up. He told me that, because it is the first showing of the day, the heating isn't turned on until the trailers and it would soon heat up. It didn't! There were only 8 people in the screen, rapidly reducing to 6 when one couple walked out, so I'm assuming there weren't enough of us to warrant the expense of heating the room.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank LynneYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“cinema -just ok-film crap!”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

went to see mosh monsters! apart from the film being diabolical and ob very cheaply made, the cinema was ok!although got the feeling that the heating had been turned off towards the end of the film,another half hour and I think it would have been freezing!took our own drinks and snacks so cannot remark on the prices.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank noreen1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Left with teeth chattering!”
Reviewed 15 November 2013

It was very cold in the Cinema as it always is, we had to sit with our coats on and we were still very cold!! This will make us think twice before visiting again.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 729Chrissie21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vue Cinema also viewed

 
York, North Yorkshire
Malton, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Vue Cinema? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing