We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great coffee and scones!”

Harlequin Coffee and Tea House
Ranked #18 of 46 Coffee & Tea in York
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Recent winner of an all-GB coffee/espresso competition. Quiet, inexpensive, locally-popular -- great sandwiches, sweets, coffee
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great coffee and scones!”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Great waitress service, lovely coffee, very tasty scones with jam and cream, all served very
nicely. Good value.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tattydo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    36
    15
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good quality food”
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

The staff are always friendly and ready to please. Food is freshly prepared with a daily specials board. You must try the wensleydale and chutney sandwiches and home made soups, they also have a good range of cakes and own blend coffee

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beverley s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“50's style without the retro vibe”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Called in here for a coffee stop as had read reviews. Desperately disappointed ! Totally dull environment in every sense, Formica table from 50's without the retro vibe. Americano lack lustre.
You win some you loose some.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RioSriOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Search This Independent Coffee Shop Out!!”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Up a small flight of stairs and well worth the climb! We only had tea (served in a lovely pot with hot water to add), coffee (my husband won't sleep for a month - it knocked his socks off!), toasted tea cake (beautiful cinnamon flavour) and shortbread. We noticed others receiving their orders which looked beautiful and very large portions!! We wished we hadn't been so full of English Breakfast from our B & B as we would have loved to have sampled the delicious, fresh looking lunches served here. We'll just have to come back!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howden, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best Coffee for Miles and Miles”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

What a great little coffee shop. On the face of it, this little restaurant is hard to find and looks quite ordinary but inside coffee drinkers will find a paradise of flavours served by experts. This is one of the best small coffee houses in the area and a must for die-hard coffee connoisseurs.
I visited on the recommendations of a coffee expert from Dorset and was glad I made the effort. Don't be put off by the local roadworks!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Harlequin Coffee and Tea House also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Harlequin Coffee and Tea House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing