We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic weekend - again!”

Morsel House Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in York
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Morsel House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #97 of 192 York B&B and Inns
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Fantastic weekend - again!”
Reviewed 16 April 2013

This is the third time that my husband and I have stayed at Morsel House and it will defintely not be the last. We love the family feel of the house. It really is like staying with members of the family! Bedroom and en suite were smartly decorated and clean and the memory foam mattress offered a lovely nights sleep for us both even though my husband is a notoriously bad sleeper because of a bad back. The family history around the house shown in fabulous photos and paintings really gives the house character and its location is very relaxing. This would suit anyone who likes the outdoors and a real "get away from it all" break.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RosFK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
11
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2013

The room was lovely and homely as well as clean, with an en suite bathroom. Everything that could have been required was provided, from towels to tea and coffee, as well as extra luxuries such as biscuits and books to read. This was the second time I stayed at the house, and I have thoroughly enjoyed both stays here. The price is reasonable, and well worth it for the quality as breakfast is also included with a large choice and good quality food. The owners are extremely helpful and welcoming, making you feel comfortable to ask should you experience any problems or require anything.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaymay7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 March 2013

At Morsel House our hosts were friendly, efficient and attentive without ever being intrusive upon our stay. Our rooms were kept to a very high standard and were condusive to a good night's sleep. The real pleasure of Morsel House was the dining room; in keeping with its Grade Two listed status it had a wonderful period interior which served as the perfect backdrop to the perfect full English breakfast. I cannot reccomend Morsel House highly enough.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

I discovered this B&B some years ago and always enjoy going back. It's a great location - not too far from York and easy to get to from the A1. The Orr family always give you a warm welcome and it's a real home-from-home experience. The en-suite rooms are comfortable and well appointed. And it's blissfully quiet. All the right ingredients for an excellent night's sleep. I'm usually in the area on business and it's great to know that I will be starting the working day feeling well rested. The breakfasts are perfect - I usually have a 'continental' style breakfast but the cooked breakfasts look very tempting! One of these days I plan to go to Morsel House for leisure and explore all that the surrounding area has to offer for sightseeing. It's a great spot. I can't recommend this accommodation highly enough.

Room Tip: I usually sleep in the twin room which is very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HolidayGirl50055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We stayed at Morsel House over the past weekend due to attending a wedding at the nearby Aldwark Manor. We found the owners Nick and Nel to be extremely accommodating and very friendly. We booked far in advance and they were happy with us staying for just one night despite the date coinciding with the York races, something which other local B&Bs were not happy to compromise on.

The area around the traditional farmhouse is very quiet and peaceful. Nick and Nel have created a homely environment that we immediately felt comfortable in. We arranged to come back at midnight, but were let down by a local taxi firm, and ended up rolling in at gone 1.00. We felt bad sneaking in but Nick and Nel were both lovely about it! The room itself was large and airy, with an en-suite bathroom attached. Both were very clean. The room had tea and coffee making facilities, biscuits and mineral water ready when we arrived.

The breakfast was excellent, served in a traditional dining room with the option of English or continental breakfast, with cereal and toast on the side if required. We both opted for the English (perfect kick-starter after an all-day wedding!) which was excellent. If we had had more time in the morning it would have been nice to say hello to the horses we saw in the stable!

To summarise, a peaceful traditional farmhouse that offers peace, a warm welcome and an affordable alternative to staying at the wedding venues in the area, which I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend or book again. Thanks!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stuart P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near York
2.5 mi away
Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel
2.4 mi away
Thistledown House B&B
Thistledown House B&B
#1 of 2 in Green Hammerton
143 reviews
1.8 mi away
Manor Guest House
Manor Guest House
#1 of 1 in Linton-on-Ouse
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Wood Farm Bed and Breakfast
Wood Farm Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 3 in Shipton-by-Beningbrough
154 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Bay Horse Inn
The Bay Horse Inn
#2 of 2 in Green Hammerton
125 reviews
6.6 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morsel House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morsel House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Morsel House Bed and Breakfast
Address: Morsel House Moss Hill Lane | Thorpe Underwood, York YO26 9SY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run bed and breakfast placed conveniently between York, Harrogate, Ripon, Knaresborough and Wetherby.Formerly a working farm, the style of Morsel house is very much in the traditional farmhouse manner. The rooms are appointed as a private house would be and not as an hotel. Breakfast is prepared from locally sourced produce as far as is possible. We are set in a rural location and, although there are excellent nearby links by local and national rail, the A1(M) and Leeds Bradford Airport, a car is really needed as we are some three miles from the nearest rail halt.Visitors to York and the surrounding towns, those attending events at the Harrogate Conference Centre, the Great Yorkshire Show, The Harrogate Flower Show as well as people who wish to explore the North Yorkshire National Park, Herriot country or Bronte country will find that they are all in easy reach and that Morsel House offers a quiet and tranquil haven tucked away down a cul de sac - accessible but away from the bustle of it all. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing