We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could do better.”
Review of Aagrah

Aagrah
Ranked #289 of 874 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$19 - US$25
Cuisines: Indian, Pakistani
Dining options: After-hours, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Could do better.”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

It used to be a special 'curry' occasion when we went to the Aagrah, instead of one of the more local Indian restaurants. We went last week to find both the service and the food weren't as good as before. It's never had a great atmosphere here, but there was absolutely none this time around. The most disappointing aspect was the food, not only in taste but also presentation. We won't be rushing back, which is unfortunate as it really was a bit special in the past.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jorvik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    26
    11
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boroughbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Still very good”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Enjoyed a most excellent meal here with friends on Saturday evening, must be all of twelve years since I last visited. It was very good then and I'm pleased to say that it was very good this time too. Nicely furnished, excellent bar area to have a pre dinner drink or while waiting for your table to be readied.
Extensive menu which made my choice very difficult to decide on, would have been happy to eat any number of the dishes on offer.
Friendly welcome together with good service and reasonable prices.
All in all an a very enjoyable experience.
Hope it's not another twelve years before I come again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Exceptional quality over at least 15 years”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My friends and I have been coming here since at least 1997 and have never had anything other than a first-rate experience. The food is always consistently excellent; the atmosphere is always perfect; and the staff are the best. Every regular customer is welcomed by name and we have got to know the staff over the years and heard about them getting married and having families. If we ever try a different Indian restaurant, we always end up disappointed. I recently came with 2 non-curry-loving friends and their English dishes were just as amazing as our curries. I think Luke13256 must have written about the wrong place!
Aagrah - we love you and will keep coming for meals in and take-aways for as long as we are able.
Pauline and Friends

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paulinehogg8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Shocking food! Stay away”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Been here tonight with a group of friends was very disappointed in the overall experience! Cheese and garlic naan was overloaded with cheese it felt like I was eating a pizza with my dry tasteless curry! As for the starters I believe my dog would have turned his nose up at the Lamb tikka, was it mutton I was eating?! Nothing positive to say about this seemingly popular eating establishment! Stay away!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Luke13256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great every time!”
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

I love Aagrah. Food is delicious and service is always fast and friendly. There's loads of choice so something for everyone, and the atmosphere is great for getting together with friends. A perennial favourite!

Helpful?
Thank ToSeaSee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Aagrah also viewed

Wakefield, West Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Aagrah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing