We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, average serve”

Plonkers Wine and Beer Bar
Ranked #88 of 888 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$26
Cuisines: Thai, Pub, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Plonkers is a family run business which has been in the same hands for over 20 years, we serve quality homemade food everyday 10am-9pm, we have a wide selection of beers, wines and spirits and offer a relaxed, welcoming atmosphere which can in turn be lively and upbeat in the evening.Open everyday 10am -2am
Huddersfield
Level 6 Contributor
337 reviews
207 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Great location, average serve”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Situated right on the River Ouse, this pub couldn't have a better location. We ate outside but both food and drink took an eternity to arrive. Reasonably priced and decent food.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    145
    30
    21
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Simply brilliant”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Took my son as a treat for passing his A levels. The food was totally superb and the service excellent. We has a great afternoon.

Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Unfriendly staff”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

We have been going in here for over ten years, the staff use to be friendly and welcoming, how things have changed! The staff are rude, unfriendly, and ignorant, they have no time for the paying customer and do not make you feel welcome, they spend all their time congregating at the end of the bar talking amongst themselves rather then paying attention to their customers! When you do get their attention and ask for a drink, rather then a welcoming smile it's a grunt and pulled face, poor customer service skills, will not be going back!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
11 Thank Bedford81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent Bar”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We didn't have a meal as we did not go in until late, but the atmosphere was excellent, a very wide range of drinks on offer, including special offers of reduced drinks. The Staff were very pleasant and always had a smile. All the facilities were clean, and the bar is quite large inside compared to the outside. Well worth a visit....oh and the tables and bar area was not sticky !...

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A very pleasant surprise”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

We saw the tables on the front but as it was a very hot day we wanted to sit inside. From the outside it didnt look much but inside it was lovely, a nice atmosphere, very quaint with beams and lots of wood. The staff were very cheerful and couldnt have been more helpful. The beer was excellent and the food choice was really good. The food was plentyful, tasty and very good value.
An example of how helpful the staff were, a newly wed coulle came in, complete with full dress, bridesmaids etc. the bride enquired if they had a free table for 10. Not only did they accomodate them but they also opened up the first floor eating area so they could have some privacy. Excellent service, thats how you get repeat custom. If your in York its worth a visit

Helpful?
Thank Trishalouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Plonkers Wine and Beer Bar also viewed

 
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Plonkers Wine and Beer Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing