We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice little cafe” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dyl's Cafe Bar

Dyl's Cafe Bar
Ranked #235 of 850 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice little cafe”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Very pleasant morning by the river enjoying scrambled eggs. Averaged priced and the food was good quality as you would expect. What makes this place a bit different is the location as York has a shortage of outside seating in cafes and bars. I would certainly spend a few more afternoons in the sun sat at Dyl's.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    33
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“quirky”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

visited this quirky quaint little place with family and friends. Perfect to sit out by the river on a hot sunny day with cold drink.
A good choice of food and drink, all well presented and served by very friendly and competent staff.
Looking forward to returning very soon.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank vera h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Amazing Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

We saw this cafe bar on trip advisor so when we decided to see what it was like. It was lovely to sit outside with a bottle of pink Proseco and a plate of strawberries over looking the river and watch the world go by. I went inside to see what it was like and fell in love with the way it looked. After climbing the steep staircase there was this lovely little room at the top that was tiny. The staff made us very welcome, the food and coffee were good, so we went there every day, last Thursday it was twice, can't wait to go back .

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank glo35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice little find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

We were walking across the bridge and could see this cute little cafe by the riverside and thought we would sit in the sun for a morning drink. My 3 sons had the giant icecream milkshakes and thought they were great. I had the mango ice tea with lots of chopped apples, strawberries and orange, very nice. Husband ordered a pot of Earl Grey tea and their giant fruit scone but the scone never appeared (saw others eating one and they looked huge!). Would definitely go back and would recommend.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lisagreen789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice Cafe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Great spot, excellent view, good meal, quaint little cafe bar. perfect sunny day to sit outside overlooking the river.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JenBow0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dyl's Cafe Bar also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Dyl's Cafe Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing