We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, friendly and helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hampton by Hilton York
Ranked #8 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
shropshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, friendly and helpful staff”
Reviewed 31 October 2012

This is a really good hotel for the price especially with breakfast included, the hotel is 2 minutes from a carpark for which you get your ticket validated at reception and pay a reduced price of £10 per day, our room was on the third floor and at the back as requested by us after the reviews I read about noise from the club and we didnt have any problems at all, room was lovely and well equipped, a fridge would have been nice but this is a budget hotel albeit a nice and quite fancy one, the premier inn close by is more expensive for example and this hotel is by far better than that, we did have to ask for more tea and milk as the cleaning staff hadnt refilled them but they were replaced straight away. Decent variety for breakfast as already mentioned by another reviewer, dining room is too small for the needs of the hotel but we were lucky every morning and got a table easy.
I wouldnt hesitate to stay in this hotel again.
Fabulous places on the doorstep to eat, Thida Thai, Akbars Indian and Red Chilli Chinese.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beaubrummie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 1 November 2012
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was delighted to read that you liked the hotel and that you enjoyed our free hot breakfast.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the not too distant future.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,270
    838
    192
    29
    15
See reviews for
557
1,006
82
253
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 October 2012

we have just returned from a 2 night stay in York. My husband and I together with our 2 children (ages 5, and 7), shared a double room, with sofa bed. The room was just right for a short stay. Children loved it. Great location into York centre, 5-10 minute walk and you are into the centre...
only downside was breakfast area very busy and can be noisy too - it does seem on the small side to cater for the busy times (and school holidays). Having said that the breakfast was a good selection and kids enjoyed the whole experience...

we had a fanstastic view from the 5th floor of the York wheel which at night is all light up, so thank you to the hotel for accomodating our request. Parking at the NCP is just down the road, and a good price as you are able to get your ticket validated at the hotel for a discounted rate £10, for 24hour.

just to be aware, you will need to request extra towels, tea, coffee and mugs for your room if there are more than 2 of you in the room. unfortunately this wasnt automatically provided, you had to ask (and we still didnt get the extra mugs/tea etc even when we phoned reception).

Room Tip: room 507 has excellent view of the York Wheel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KateClark_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 1 November 2012
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was delighted to read that you liked the hotel and that you had an enjoyable stay.

Please accept my apologies for the inconvienence cause by your room not being set up for the correct number of people. Rest assured we have spoken to our housekeeping company to ensure that all family rooms are set up correctly in future.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the not too distant future.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2012

We recently stayed for 1 night with relatives , room was lovely, very clean, nice breakfast although seating area rather small for size of hotel. Parking was close by in a public car park at reduced rate of £10 pr 24hrs

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank silverfox18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 31 October 2012
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was delighted to read that you liked the hotel and that you had an enjoyable stay.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the not too distant future.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Stayed three nights hotel nice and clean room we had was on the third floor away from nightclub very quiet, bed comfy had a great sleep, bathroom ok not much power in the shower and need bigger tap over sink as previous review mentioned hard to wash hands .Breakfast was not to busy but we did go down very early sausages are the worst I have ever eaten food ok if you just want cereal and toast . Easy walk to bars and restaurants shame no parking but you are right in the centre of everything staff all friendly would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stanleycromo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 5 November 2012
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was delighted to read that you liked the hotel and that you had an enjoyable stay.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the not too distant future.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire UK
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights after the hotel had only been open 2 weeks, and we really don't have any complaints. We had a room on the fourth floor at the back of the hotel, from which there was a lovely view of the York wheel and the city walls. Our room was perfectly clean and tidy. The bathroom had a selection of toiletries, including shampoo & conditioner, shower gel and moisturiser. We stayed on a Thursday night and Friday night. We went down for breakfast at about 8:30 on the first morning (Friday) and there was only 2 other couples having breakfast. There was plenty of selection of hot and cold breakfast items to choose from as well as newspapers to read and it was very relaxing. However, the second morning (Saturday), we went down at about the same time and it was absolutely packed. We got a table in the far corner and everything seemed much more rushed and chaotic, although there was still plenty of food. The only negative of this hotel is that it doesn't have its own car park. Hotel guests do get a discounted rate on the NCP car park (£10 per day) at the far end of the street, although it's not a manned car park and doesn't seem to have security (although I think they lock it up at night). Also, when we arrived at about 3:30 on the Thursday, there was only about 2 spaces left and we were lucky to find one. If you have a bit of luggage, I would suggest parking outside the hotel and dropping your bags hotel first because the car park is at the other end of the street. On the plus side, because of the location of the hotel to the city centre, we left the car in the car park when we arrived and didn't need it again until we left. The hotel location is very convenient, as long as you don't mind a 5/10 minute walk to the amenities. The car parking situation wouldn't put me off in future and I would definitely stay here if visiting York again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathrynnaomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 29 October 2012
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was delighted to read that you liked the hotel and that you had an enjoyable stay.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the not too distant future.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambridge
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

My partner and I stayed here for a long weekend away. The hotel had only been open two weeks and because of this everything was super clean. Everything is ultra modern and the location is great. Staff all very friendly and helpful. Only negatives - if you can call them that are the tap in the bathroom is too close to the edge so you can hardly get your hands under it, the shower doesn't get hot enough and isn't very powerful and the breakfast area is very manic, I think partly because of the layout and size of the breakfast area. Also would be great if the hotel had its own car park rather than paying £10 per day at the NCP. That said it is only about 200 yards down the road. Overall a good experience and we would go back again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kt_brett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 29 October 2012
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was delighted to read that you liked the hotel and that you had an enjoyable stay.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the not too distant future.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 October 2012

we went on a well earned break for 2 nights,the location is great about 10 minute walk into the centre.On the day of arrival we checked into our room and was pleasently supprised it was lovely and new. Then was hit by the noise out the back, builders cutting flags with a stilth saw. we thought never mind we only dropping our case off and heading out, thinking it saturday tomorrow they might not be there. Oh how wrong was i. 7.20am or so we were woken by the builders, when i looked out they were digging some kind of building material in to a dumper with a digger . As you can imagine i was not inpressed . i am not a good sleeper and need all the sleep i can get and my partner said it like being back at work for him. The windows are ok but felt chilly as the temperature in the room not great even when pressed right up to it limit at 25 degrees, breakfast can be bit chaotic not enough space and was told you can sit any where there a seat, did not w fancy having to walk across to the bar area to sit ,found we had to share a table for breakfast not my expectations of a hilton hotel of this standard who ever designed it did not have a big enough area to seat all them people at breakfast.Breakfast it self was very nice .There was not enough milk in rooms 2 cartons not enough for 2 people, had to go to reception when returned one evening after day out they had not filled the coffee and milk up from cleaning the room that morning. Over all i feel a quick call to the enviroment health from the hotel will sort the problem out as we have found out when reporting to reception it is not there building work there are considerate constructer regulations they should follow in respect to weekend work.I also feel if this is a on going problem we should have been told by the hotel . It such a shame because it a beautifull , clean hotel and would not hesitate to try again , but this will not be soon as i feel they need to get these issues sorted. so much for the policy ,if you not happy, you not pay policy they have on reception. Overall the staff help full but what could she say it was busy when we were checking out, and i didnot want to embaress the lady so i did not tell her my other issues, the hotel is very nice but when comparing to the hilton we have also stayed in it does not quite compare. Only it is cheaper to stay , there the parking is cheaper and breakfast is free, the staff friendly .

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 366jazzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 29 October 2012
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was delighted to read that you liked the hotel and that you found the staff helpful.

Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience caused by the building work being carried out to the new City Council Offices. Follwing the disturbance at the weekend, we have been assured that this was a one off, and work to the grounds area has now been completed.

I do hope that you chose to stay with us again in the not too distant future.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
1,200 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.1 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#10 of 46 in York
1,164 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#39 of 46 in York
2,709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton by Hilton York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton York

Property: Hampton by Hilton York
Address: Toft Green, York YO1 6JT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 46 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton by Hilton York 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton by Hilton York is five minutes' walk from York railway station in the heart of the historic city centre. Stay in a cosy guest room and sleep well on a comfy Hampton bed(C), staying connected in your guest room with free high-speed internet access. We also offer a range of amenities to make your stay more enjoyable. Start each day with Hampton's inclusive hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton by Hilton York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing