We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic choice for a central hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton by Hilton York
Ranked #9 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Westhouses
1 review
“A fantastic choice for a central hotel”
Reviewed 28 November 2012

Fantastic hotel. Just got back from a weekend away with my friends. short distance from train station and shops/pubs/clubs. Hotel is very clean, the breakfast was great and plenty to choose from, the bed and pillows were the most comfortable ive ever slept on. No need to take hairdryer, shampoo, conditioner, shower gel hand cream as its all provided and they are all very good products. Tea/coffee in room which can be restocked as and when. The staff were all both professional and friendly. I would have no problem reccomending this hotel to any of my friends and family. If i had to be really picky then id rather my bacon was grilled! lol. I will definateley be going back!

Room Tip: From what i heard from other guests no room is a bad/poor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 29 November 2012
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was delighted to read that you liked the hotel and that you had an enjoyable stay.


I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the not too distant future.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,289
    844
    196
    32
    15
See reviews for
569
1,016
82
256
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, UK
Level 6 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2012

As others have mentioned in their reviews, this hotel has only recently opened. As such it is a very good place to stay with a lot of thought having been put into its planning. I stayed for four nights in November 2012 and would happily do so again.
My room, while not large, was perfectly adequate for two people. In addition to the double beds, there was a settee which looked as though it could be opened to form a bed for a child; a footstool and an office chair.
The bathroom had a large walk-in shower, wash basin and toilet. It had dispensers for shampoo, body wash and conditioner in the shower (no bath), and hand wash and moisturiser by the wash basin. in the wardrobe was an ironing board, iron and hairdryer. By the side of the bed was a clock radio and at the foot of the bed was a 32in TV offering the full range of Freeview TV and radio channels.
The hotel makes a point of ensuring that the TV remote control is in the room - some guests at other hotels have been know to take them! A clock radio was by the side of the bed and was the phone.
There is a desk at which one can use a computer - there is free wifi in the rooms - an ethernet cable is provided for those without wifi.
Breakfast was available from 6am to 10am on weekdays and from 7am to 11am at weekends. However, I was told at reception that they were full on the Saturday and Sunday and therefore it would be best if I had it early to avoid difficulty finding a table.
I only have three minor criticisms. First there was no shaver socket in the bathroom - the first time I have ever stayed in a hotel without such a facility. While I know that many shavers are rechargeable now and so are electric toothbrushes, they still have to be charged and although there are several three-pin sockets in the room, there is no two-pin. Tip: bring a three-pin to two-pin adaptor.
Secondly, my room only had three drawers, one of which was occupied by the safe. I think that a hotel of this quality should have more drawer space.
Thirdly, there were only two tea bags and two sachets of instant coffee left in the room every day. Even Travelodge provides four coffees! A packet of biscuits would have been welcome too. However, additional supplies of tea and coffee can be obtained from the breakfast area.
The serve-yourself breakfast was superb, let down only by the poor coffee from a machine.
The hotel has a bar and offers a limited range of snacks and main courses. Near the Micklegate at the top of hill in which the hotel is located there is a Wetherspoons pub (closed for refurbishment at the time of writing but reopening very soon). Nearby there are two pubs both of which serve food and further along the road is a Sainsbury's Local.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1948Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 29 November 2012
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was delighted to read that you liked the hotel and that you had an enjoyable stay.


I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the not too distant future.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guisborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012

We stayed at this hotel with family and had a great time.We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful, the rooms well decorated modern clean and warm.The breakfast was more than adequate and set us up well for the day ahead.With a walk of just over 10 minutes to the minster and the centre what more could we want,we thoroughly enjoyed our stay .

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beth2626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 26 November 2012
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was delighted to read that you liked the hotel and that you had an enjoyable stay.


I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the not too distant future.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012

Just returned from a nice weekend at this hotel. Location great 5mins walk from train station. Rooms very comfortable and adequate.....breakfast was good found the drinks machine to be fine cafe au lait just how i like it. Nice new clean hotel with very pleasant helpful staff in all areas. I would not hesitate to book this hotel again in the future and would recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dekjan_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 26 November 2012
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was delighted to read that you liked the hotel and that you had an enjoyable stay.


I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the not too distant future.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012

where shall start ,what a brilliant hotel , close to everything really great location , food was great value , staff where very helpful couldn't fault them ,even lent us a umbrella , the room was at the front which i was a little worried about the club across the road , well for the biggest nightclub in york it not very noisy , we never heard it once . the room was clean and had plenty of room for the two of us . the restaurant was faultless, breakfast was lovely the staff were always happy to help all you can eat buffet .we ate at a lots of places but by far the besbigf t was ask Italian in the middle of york 1 minute from the minister ,the worst by far was jumbo chinese , all you can eat for £10 , 1 minute from the hotel dont go its terrible , yes £10 is cheap. but it should be free its that bad ..

I big thanks to hamptons for making our 12th anniversary special

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dkw2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 26 November 2012
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was delighted to read that you liked the hotel and that you had an enjoyable stay.


I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the not too distant future.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012 via mobile

Very clean and smart hotel. Our favourite thing was the buffet breakfast. Really very nice.
The bathroom was an odd shape, which means fitting around a wall to get near the toilet.
One girl on reception wasn't the best. She was on the phone when we turned up and didn't even acknowledge us. She wasn't even talking to anyone on the phone and appeared to be just waiting to talk to someone. I thought this was incredibly rude. In the end, about ten minutes later, someone else came to check us in, who was far friendlier.

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank djdavemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 26 November 2012
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was delighted to read that you liked the hotel and that you had an enjoyable stay.


I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the not too distant future.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012 via mobile

First impressions mean everything! We entered this gleaming new hotel with excitement only to be greeted by scowls from the reception staff, Obviously not quite grasped the concept of service with a smile! We were given keys to our 2 double rooms situated on the 5th floor facing the front of the building! The rooms themselves were very clean and comfortable but for some strange reason Hilton have decided to take the right of a guest being able to open their own window away? I like fresh air, even in November, I woke the first morning unable to speak due to the air con system forcing dry air in to my lungs as I slept, The second night I ensured the air con system was well and truly off! We stayed Friday and Saturday night and had to contend with the two clubs directly opposite and their merry patrons partying until 5am in the morning, I would advise you ask for a room at the back of the building if you intend on sleeping at all during your stay! Breakfast......where do I start...they say its complimentary but as we all know nothing is ever free, The sausage was of a very poor stantard as was the bacon, The scrambled egg was like rubber! Orange juice was from concentrate, Coffee was a disgrace! Not enough space in the dining area for all guests, On a morning theres people eating in the reception, bar, stairwell, its comical! I really can't see the point of providing the breakfast when it's of such a low standard it just leaves a negative thought of the hotel as it is the last thing the guest will experience before checking out.....Saying that the actual checking out is not a pleasant experience either, No smiles again! I genuinely would never stay here again! Not for the money we paid £400 for 2 doubles/2 nights! I wonder if when the manager reads this they will copy and paste the same response they have to all the other reviews?

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 26 November 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel.

It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay.

We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel did not meet your expectations.
Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards.

Please be assured that the issues raised will be fully investigated.

Thank you once again for your review.

Victoria Burnham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,243 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.4 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 47 in York
2,753 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#10 of 47 in York
1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton by Hilton York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton York

Property: Hampton by Hilton York
Address: Toft Green, York YO1 6JT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton by Hilton York 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton by Hilton York is five minutes' walk from York railway station in the heart of the historic city centre. Stay in a cosy guest room and sleep well on a comfy Hampton bed(C), staying connected in your guest room with free high-speed internet access. We also offer a range of amenities to make your stay more enjoyable. Start each day with Hampton's inclusive hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton by Hilton York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing