We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nasty neighbours”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton by Hilton York
Ranked #8 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nasty neighbours”
Reviewed 28 December 2012

I spend four days of the Christmas holidays in this hotel and had a very good time. The room was new and modern, with tea/coffee facilities. Only the beds were like concrete for me. But everything was cleaned well, friendly staff. You could walk to the city center within 10 minutes. No complaints about that at all.
Breakfast was 'free' but very English. After four days of baked beans, schrambled eggs, sausages and bacon I could do with some bread and cheese as a Dutch girl ;) But not a big problem. So the hotel itself is lovely and I would certainly go there again, however...the opposite neighbour of the hotel is a nightclub. Fortunately the nightclub wasn't open all nights because of Christmas...but on the last night: screaming boys and girls, loud music, vomit all around the place. Not a nice site. The loud basstones went right through my earplugs. Such a pity. If I was the owner of this hotel (Mr. Hilton?)l I would buy the damn place and shut it down immediately.
Take a room at the back of the hotel or else you won't sleep a wink. And if this is not available, I would consider another hotel because of this.

Room Tip: At the back of the hotel is a must, or else you won't leep a wink because of the nighclub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anna196537
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 31 December 2012
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was delighted to read that you liked the hotel and that you had a lovely Christmas break.


Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York.

Wishing you a happy New Year.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,270
    838
    192
    29
    15
See reviews for
557
1,006
82
253
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
95 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2012

Stayed at hotel with my daughter just before Christmas on short break to York.
The first room we were given was at the front of property but it had no blinds only net curtains. As windows are floor to ceiling that wasn't ideal but front desk happily moved us to another room.
We had no problem with noise but hotel is across road from a busy York nightclub so this might have some noise at weekend.
Couldn't get wifi on my Ipod touch in room which was a bit annoying - hotels shouldn't advertise free wifi unless they have a strong signal in all rooms. Front desk was unhelpful when I asked about this and blamed it on fact that I only had an Ipod touch - it works other places including Starbucks so think it is their problem.
We had twin bed room - clean and spacious. Large walk in shower but basic toiletries and towels rather unfluffy given that this is a new hotel.
Tea/coffee making facilities in room (no biscuits!) and large TV. Adequate hanging space.
Breakfast was good, self service - fruit juice, cereal, yoghurts, grapefruit segments, bacon, sausage, egg etc. Make your own toast and coffee. Warning given that breakfast area gets very busy after 9am but we found that guests were mainly businessmen so breakfast actually quietened down after 9am although probably the opposite at weekends.
Hotel is less than 10 minute walk from station, no car parking but there is an NCP at end of road.
Very good Chinese restaurant - Red Chilli - less than 5 minutes walk away (do not confuse with the all you can eat Chinese buffet restaurant on opposite side of road) but only 5 minutes from lots of other restaurants in York centre.
If you want a clean, basic hotel that is a cut above Premier Inn then I would recommend.
Don't book on hotel's own site as cheaper deals through other hotel booking website - even if these don't say free breakfast included it is as this is one of Hampton's selling points.

Room Tip: Ask for room at back of hotel as possible noise from nightclub across road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cannytraveller2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 31 December 2012
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was delighted to read that you liked the hotel and that you had a lovely Christmas break.

I was sorry to hear you could not get WiFi on your Ipod touch. This should not have been the case as the WiFI should work with all Ipod's. I will ensure that this is investigated and resolved. Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience this caused you.


Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York.

Wishing you a happy New Year.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 24 December 2012 via mobile

Me and my wife booked to stay in this hotel as a break before Christmas. The hotel is very near the train station so you can leave the car at home. The hotel is very clean with a spacious bedroom and bathroom you could not ask for more . The staff were professional and friendly the manager s very cheery . Breakfast is first class and is set out to help yourself .
We will return in the future !

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Billyhaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 31 December 2012
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was delighted to read that you liked the hotel and that you had a lovely Christmas break.


Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York.

Wishing you a Merry Christmas and a happy New Year.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north of England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2012

We stayed here for the weekend with our grandchildren, December 2012...lovely new hotel, spacious room even for 4, very modern and clean with good facilities.
Attractive bar area with friendly helpful staff and a bright airy breakfast room with plentiful buffet breakfast.

The one thing that spoiled our stay slightly was the fact that when we booked we were told car parking was available nearby at £10 per night.When we arrived we were directed to an NCP car park very close by which was fine.Nothing else was mentioned to us by the check in receptionist and when we went back to our vehicle after our stay and inserted our ticket into the parking meter imagine how annoying it was to find that we actually needed to pay £34 in order to leave the car park. A lady told us that we should have had our ticket validated by our hotel but by then it was too late as our ticket was in the machine.Why on earth don't the check in staff mention this to customers on arrival.

Even more annoying was that when we returned home my husband e-mailed the Hotel to tell them what had happened . To date they have not replied.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janetcampbell2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 24 December 2012
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was delighted to read that you liked the hotel and that you enjoyed our free breakfast.


I was sorry to hear you had problems with the car park I am afraid that we don't seem to have received your e-mail. If you could e-mail it me me again on QQYTG_Hampton@hilton.com, and mark the e-mail for my attention, so that I can investigate the matter, I would be very grateful.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York.

Wishing you a Merry Christmas and a happy New Year.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2012

We stayed here December 2012 what a great hotel very central to everything rooms very nice and modern lovely bathroom. staff very friendly breakfast nice . We had a room at the back of the hotel nice and quite you could see the york eye. Dont get a taxi from the train station it is only a 5 minute walk away would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carrol e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 24 December 2012
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was delighted to read that you liked the hotel and that you enjoyed our free breakfast.


I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the not too distant future.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York.

Merry Christmas

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2012

The staff are welcoming and very helpful. The free breakfast was just the ticket for a full day around york. This is new hotel and had only been open a couple of months and was tastefully decorated. The bar area is very welcoming with a few quite ares.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stewpot25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 21 December 2012
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was delighted to read that you liked the hotel and that you enjoyed our free breakfast.


I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the not too distant future.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2012

We stayed here for the weekend in December. The hotel is very fresh and modern and rooms are spacious. I would suggest requesting a room at the back away from the nightclub opposite. The buffett breakfast was very nice but the food in the hotel bar isn't anything special and quite dear for what you get, however there isn't any need to eat here there are plenty of lovely restaurants in walking distance. The hotel doesn't have any parking so we used the carpark near by and this is also quite expensive. All in all though I would recommend this hotel for a short break in York.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shoulderofmutt19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 21 December 2012
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was delighted to read that you liked the hotel and that you had an enjoyable stay.


I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the not too distant future.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
1,200 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.4 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#39 of 46 in York
2,711 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#10 of 46 in York
1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton by Hilton York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton York

Property: Hampton by Hilton York
Address: Toft Green, York YO1 6JT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 46 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton by Hilton York 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton by Hilton York is five minutes' walk from York railway station in the heart of the historic city centre. Stay in a cosy guest room and sleep well on a comfy Hampton bed(C), staying connected in your guest room with free high-speed internet access. We also offer a range of amenities to make your stay more enjoyable. Start each day with Hampton's inclusive hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton by Hilton York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing