We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location and nice staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hampton by Hilton York
Ranked #9 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
south yorkshire
Level Contributor
187 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Central location and nice staff”
Reviewed 22 January 2013

This is a cut down version of a Hilton hotel, nicely set out modern room with the usual friendly staff. It is centrally located on a back street behind the station. It has only been open since October and is clean and well appointed. As usual staff were excellent and we managed to check in at 10:30 am leaving us the day to mooch around this lovely historic city.

Breakfast included and a reasonable selection at the buffy. This hotel is oposite Yorks largest nightclub but we did not here any noise from this except as we were coming in, even then it was not too noisy.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 25 January 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was delighted to read that you liked the hotel and that you had a lovely stay., and enjoyed our free breakfast.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,266
    838
    192
    29
    15
See reviews for
556
1,004
82
252
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Just returned from a weekend in this lovely City and this Hotel was a great base to choose for your stay. Located just inside the city walls, everywhere you could want to go is in walking distance or for the less mobile, a very short taxi ride. It was a modern and extremely clean hotel with most amenities available and we chose the train rather than the car on this occasion which was a wise choice. No need for a taxi as this was a mere 4/5 minutes walk from York rail station and about the same amount of time or less to walk to the shops and the river in the centre of town.
I always try to be balanced with my reviews so what can I fault with this hotel.
Well, not a lot really!
We had pizza and chips one night as a family snack and the chips were not good but the pizza at £7.95 was great value for money. Drink prices at the bar were just about the same as any bar. Only one TV in the bar area though so no good going down to the bar to watch sport unless you can get one of the 3 or 4 seats near the TV.
I'm struggling really to find fault so what was good about it, well, Breakfast is a must, simply a great selection of nicely prepared food to set you up for the day. Either a little fruit or cereal for the diet conscious or if your like me and not particularly watching your figure, the full monty 4 course belly busting eat all you can brekky. The bedroom had an extremely comfortable pull out sofa bed for our daughter which she loved and we had a double. Rooms were not over spacious with both beds out but there was a modern TV, free WI Fi and tea / coffee making facilities. Each room also had ample lighting, a clock radio and air conditioning with heating too.
Bathroom had shower gel, shampoo, conditioner and moisturiser all supplied along with lovely clean towels, a hair dryer and an iron.
I suppose I should mention that there is a nightclub across from this hotel but don't be put off, we never heard a thing and it was Friday / Saturday night when we stayed. This has to be one of the quietest hotels we have ever stayed in.
The staff were very friendly and very helpful. You can also leave your luggage at the hotel if your not going home until later on your day of checking out although check out is a very comfortable 12pm. Will definitely be staying at this hotel next time we visit York.

Room Tip: All rooms by design are in a quiet area of the hotel although some rooms are overlooked by the rail...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rousie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 22 January 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was delighted to read that you liked your room and that you had a lovely stay and enjoyed our free hot breakfast.

I was sorry to hear that you felt the TV's were insufficient in the bar. You may be surprised to learn that we actually have 2 TV's in the bar (one smaller one at the back of the bar), and we also have another large TV in the restaurant area for guests to use on an evening.

I am glad you enjoyed your Pizza, and you wil be pleased to know that based on customer feedback such as yours, we have recently changed our chips to another product, so hopefully you will find these much nicer next time you stay.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

My wife booked me in to this hotel for a fiftieth birthday surprise. We had a little problem finding it as Google maps kept sending us to the wrong place, but it was worth the walk (more on that later). The check-in was quick and professional with the staff being friendly but not being overly friendly. I hate it when staff of any place (hotel, pub etc) act as if you are their new best friend. On to the room, this was on 4th floor 417. The booking my wife had made had been the hotels web site and she had got a disabled room as that was the only one free at the time of booking. This meant that the room was bigger than normal and the bathroom was massive.
The standard of room was very high and looked new. The shower/bathroom was clean and of a high standard.
I will now list the points that we felt let the hotel down and finish with the points that made this hotel the best hotel we has so far stayed in, in York as I always like to finish a review on a positive when I can.
Bad points.
On arrival (approx 2:30) the champagne that she had ordered for our arrival (bearing in mind that we could not book in before 2pm) had been “on ice all day and the ice will have melted” so we had to wait while someone went to our room and placed new ice in the bucket.
When we got in to the room there were large amounts of water left on the table where the bottle had been placed while this had been done.
Next day the room was clean but the empty champagne bottle, bucket and dirty glasses were not removed. This was the case all through our stay and they were still there when we booked out after 2 nights.
We left a phone charger in the room and they have not yet sent it on, or tried to contact us.
When we contacted them it “was not found” so may be the phone fairy had taken it?
Good points.
The bed was of a high standard, a good size and of a nice firmness. The pillows were too soft for our taste.
The air con worked even though the weather outside was very cold.
Shower lovely and hot, but not very strong.
Good amount of shower gel etc.
Breakfast was of a high quality and if you did not leave it too late there was plenty of space. Liked the way they kept everything covered so everything was hot. The food was replaced very frequently so there was always plenty of it and it was very fresh, I had the best scrambled eggs ever there.
Cutting through the car park of Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa, the hotel was easy to find from the railway station and doing this cuts loads of time off.
The television had all the channels and none of the silly pay-for-view channels that you get in some other hotels.
All in all a fantastic hotel and we enjoyed our stay there. We would try others in the group to see if they are as good.

A word of warning there is a large disco opposite that wasn’t open when we stayed there, so we are unaware what if any sound you can hear from it, but I would ask for rooms that are at the back of the hotel just to be safe.

Room Tip: Cutting through the car park of Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa, the hotel was easy to find from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mcfc4tony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 22 January 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was delighted to read that you liked the hotel and that you had a lovely birthday.

Thank you for your comments regarding the champagne bucket. It is always difficult to know when guests are arriving, however I believe on this occasion, the ice was clearly placed in the room far too early. I have shared your comments with my team in order to ensure that in future ice buckets are not placed in rooms until the afternoon.

I am sorry that we were unable to locate your phone charger, if you could e-mail me directly at QQYTG_hampton@hilton.com, with details of your room number and what type of charger it was, I would personally look into this for you.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

stayed at this hotel just before Christmas for a spot of shopping in York. Hotel was immaculate, room was comfortable with everything you need for an over night stay. Bathroom had shower gel, shampoo, conditioner and moisturiser all supplied along with hair dryer and iron. Breakfast was lovely and the staff were very friendly and helpful. You can also leave your luggage at the hotel if your not going home until later. Will definitely be staying at this hotel next time we visit York. Hotel is also only a two minute walk from train station and about a five minute walk to the city passing lots of bars and eateries on the way.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at back of hotel as there is a nightclub across the road however we did not hear any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tess417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 18 January 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was delighted to read that you liked the hotel and that you had a lovely stay., and enjoyed our free breakfast.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

We spent a lovely weekend in York staying at the Hampton. The staff were very welcoming and the hotel was super clean. Being located just inside the old city walls made walking the city and visiting the sites really easy. It had to be one of the quietest hotels we have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank parchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 18 January 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was delighted to read that you liked the hotel and that you had a lovely stay., and a peaceful nights sleep.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2013

Stayed here for 1 night (Saturday 12th), we had booked a room for 3 adults, rooms were lovely, very clean. We had arrived very early about 11 and our room was ready. Great location, had a fab night out with drinks later in hotel bar, Alan the bar man was a gem... Well done Hilton :)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tot34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 18 January 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was delighted to read that you liked your room and that you had a lovely stay. I am also delighted that Allan looked after you well at the bar..he will be pleased that you took the time to mention him.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 January 2013

My husband and I booked one night (sat 12 Jan 2013) We wanted a mini break as we have a young baby and had a baby sitter for the weekend so we decided to book last min some where that would have nice rooms and somewhere not to far out from the Centre. We booked to visit the Hampton. On arriving we were greeted by friendly staff that made polite conversation. We were given our room number and offered a map of the city, they explained about the parking but we had already parked at the other side of the city so moving to the paid allocated parking would not have saved us money. The room was lovely! The hotel still has that lovely new feeling to it. We had a peaceful night no distubances at all (we had asked for a back room because of the reviews about the night club across the road, although I believe they have now had work done on the windows on the club side any how) It was nice to be able to control the temperature in the room I hate hotels that insist they have the heating on full blast all the time. The shower room was great. The breakfast was every thing you would need to set you off on your day, We did not think that it was to busy but maybe it was a quiet weekend. Overall I would recommend this for any one for a business trip or for pleasure. Thank you for a lovely break!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kerrygaldana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 16 January 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was delighted to read that you liked the hotel and that you had a lovely stay., and a peaceful nights sleep.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
1,198 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.1 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#10 of 46 in York
1,161 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#39 of 46 in York
2,709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton by Hilton York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton York

Property: Hampton by Hilton York
Address: Toft Green, York YO1 6JT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 46 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton by Hilton York 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton by Hilton York is five minutes' walk from York railway station in the heart of the historic city centre. Stay in a cosy guest room and sleep well on a comfy Hampton bed(C), staying connected in your guest room with free high-speed internet access. We also offer a range of amenities to make your stay more enjoyable. Start each day with Hampton's inclusive hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton by Hilton York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing