We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A favourite”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hampton by Hilton York
Ranked #8 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A favourite”
Reviewed 4 February 2013

This hotel is excellent in nearly every way. The location is right, halfway between the Railway Station and the centre of town, and close enough to both. The room was spacious, well furnished and spotless. The Bathroom was very nice. The breakfast was the only thing that was not perfect, but it was still very good, if a little bland. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thewearyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 6 February 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was delighted to read that you liked the hotel and that you had a lovely stay. Thank you for your comments regarding breakfast. Our products are regularly reviewed, so this feedback will be extremely useful to us.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit to York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,266
    838
    192
    29
    15
See reviews for
556
1,004
82
252
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 February 2013

We stayed here for one night with family. The hotel is in a great location, the staff were very pleasant and the rooms were spotless with modern furnishings. The breakfast is good with a lot of choice. The hotel was full and breakfast got a bit chaotic but there are signs indicating busy times so it an be avoided. The staff were quick to apologise for keeping you waiting for hot food. The NCP car park is only a couple of minutes walk from the hotel and you get discounted rates. There is plenty of room to stop outside the hotel to drop bags off. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: We stayed on level 2. No outside noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was delighted to read that you liked the hotel and that you had a lovely stay wth your familyt.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit to York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester England
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013 via mobile

This was a present so not sure on the cost, location was great only 3 months old so all still very new, breakfast was good but had a bit of a wait! The only 2 negatives are no bath in the room and you can't open the windows so its recirculated air all the time and it was stuffy and couldn't wait to get some fresh air in the morning!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

Please accpet my apologies for the delay you experienced with breakfast. We sometimes get very busy at peak times during breakfast and we do try to advise guests as to when the quieter times will be as well as directing guests to tables in our bar area. I do hope that your experience will not deter you from staying with us again in the future.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit to York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2013

We stayed for 2 nights 26/27th January.
This hotel is great! Excellent value for money! Rooms big enough, clean,comfy bed, iron,ironing board,hair dryer and big enough bathroom with a great shower!
We were in room 133 on the ground floor just down the corridor from reception and the dinning area but was very quiet! There was also an office block car park below our window but other than a bin wagon at 6.40 we heard nothing.
Breakfast was great.... Everything you would want and it flows very well even though it was a busy weekend.
Location was great, just a 5 mins walk into the center over the bridge!
All the staff were very friendly and polite! Well done Hamptons.....we will return!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlackpoolSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was delighted to read that you liked the hotel and that you had a lovely stay., and that you enjoyed our free breakfast.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and welook forward to seeing you again next time you are in York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013 via mobile

After trying a few of the more traditional hotels in York, I've now stayed at the Hampton nearly every week since it opened and would highly recommend it.

The staff are friendly, helpful and really make the effort to make you feel welcome.

The location is perfect for exploring the town and only a couple of minutes walk from the station.

The rooms are spacious, clean and comfy - I don't need more than that!

Free wifi and breakfast are a bonus in an industry with ever increasing optional extras for a charge.

There's a few comments on here about the noise from nightclubs, but in fairness to the hotel, they really do what they can to minimise any disruption. Students will be students & they form a large part of York's demographic. Personally, out of all my stays here, I've only noticed it once and it should not be a reason for giving this place a miss.

Give it a try!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weecazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 1 February 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

I am glad that you like the hotel, and we certainly appreciate your comments regarding the staff.

It's also very pleasing to read that you chose to come back to us every week, and I would like to take this opportunity to thank you very much for choosing us.

Have a lovely weekend, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hampton by Hilton York very soon.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

Stayed here for one night, no complaints at all. The rooms were clean and modern, service was first class and the location was 5 minutes walk from Micklegate. I have noticed some other reviews complaining about noise from the night club opposite but we did not hear a thing. Breakfast was good, hot and cold buffet fayre but was good quality and tasty. Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 31 January 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was delighted to read that you liked the hotel and that you had a lovely stay., and that you enjoyed our free breakfast.



Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit to York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Booked this from the US and was not quite sure what I was getting, since it was new, with no reviews, and I had never been to York. I was not disappointed! The staff sent me clear instructions on how to arrive from the train station, so that was a big plus since I was walking from there. I arrived early and thought I would just leave my bags, but the staff was very helpful and allowed me to check into my room early. The hotel was spotless and my room very pleasant. It was an easy walk into York, down the hill and across the river, even at the end of the day after shopping and touring I enjoyed the walk and took different routes to see different parts of York. It was also an easy walk to the theater, the reason I came to York in the first place! I saw the local production of Calendar Girls! A true treat! PS, the breakfasts were great too!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madym003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 29 January 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was delighted to read that you liked the hotel and that you had a lovely stay., and that you found the staff helpful.

I hope you enjoyed your time in York and that the Calender girls lived up to your expecatations.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit to the UK..

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
1,197 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.1 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#10 of 46 in York
1,161 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#39 of 46 in York
2,706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton by Hilton York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton York

Property: Hampton by Hilton York
Address: Toft Green, York YO1 6JT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 46 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton by Hilton York 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton by Hilton York is five minutes' walk from York railway station in the heart of the historic city centre. Stay in a cosy guest room and sleep well on a comfy Hampton bed(C), staying connected in your guest room with free high-speed internet access. We also offer a range of amenities to make your stay more enjoyable. Start each day with Hampton's inclusive hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HRS, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton by Hilton York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing