We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton by Hilton York
Ranked #8 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 February 2013

We stayed for 2 nights and were very impressed by this hotel. It's in a great location and didn't take long to walk to York's main attractions. Our room was clean and comfortable and the public areas of the hotel were bright and well maintained. The staff were very friendly and made us all feel welcome. We travelled with our 2 daughters aged 1 and 3 and my husband's parents and from the minute we arrived we felt at home. Steve, the manager, brought pictures and crayons for the girls to play with while we relaxed in the bar and even provided some kids cutlery at breakfast. We were really impressed by the breakfast choices, plenty of cereals, fruit, yoghurt, muffins etc and, of course, full English. The takeaway coffee cups were a nice touch too. As we were getting ready to leave one of the waiting staff from the breakfast area made a point of coming over and wishing us a safe journey, which was a nice end to our stay and testament to the attention to detail of the staff. We will definitely stay at this hotel again in the future. Also, the Old Siam Thai restaurant is fabulous and only a few minutes walk away on Micklegate.

Room Tip: We requested a room at the back, as other reviews said the front rooms can be noisy. We didn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FBennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2013

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was delighted to read that you liked the hotel and that you had a lovely stay with your family . The staff will be delighted to read your lovely comments.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit to York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,576)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,367 - 2,373 of 2,576 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2013

We stayed on a Friday & Saturday at the end of January. This is a good value hotel in a reasonable location (probably a 10 min walk from the main shope and restaurants) very warm welcome including sorting out an issue with our booking where it seemed that although we had booked 2 nights we only had a room for Friday! Everywhere was spotlessly clean as you would expect from a new hotel. No problem with the nightclub although our room was at the back if the hotel. Breakfast was good although it pays to get down early on a Sunday as it does get very busy. If I was being really fussy I would suggest changing sausage supplier as they do not seem to have much meat in them! Our only negative point would be with the people who fitted the sink in our room because the water from the tap falls less than an inch from the back of the sink (see photo) making it almost impossible to use without making a mess!

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2013

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was delighted to read that you liked the hotel and that you had a nice stay. I was sorry to hear that there was a problem with your booking on arrival, hoefully we resolved this to your satisfaction.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit to York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights with my husband and 2 friends. Can not fault this hotel at all. it was very clean comfy and modern. The staff were very friendly and polite and even helped me when i had trouble getting the free wifi on my phone. The breakfast was lovely with plenty of choice. We ate early which was good as it was quiet but we did notice it got very busy later. very suprised that it is only 3 star rating and not 4. it is a good location only 10 min walk from train station and the same into the town. Will deffinately be returning here.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saville-jj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2013

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was delighted to read that you liked the hotel and that you enjoyed our free breakfast.

IThank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit to York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

We stayed at the Hampton for three days between Christmas and New Year. This is a new hotel which had only been open for 8 weeks. It is situated within easy reach of all of Yorks attractions and is the budget end of Hilton. We paid just over £80 a night which is a good price for York.
We arrived before check in but they had a room ready so that was good, but we had a dispute about the price. They were asking for that day's quoted price and as we had booked through a hotel booking website that was cheaper I had to produce the confirmation email before they agreed we should get the cheaper price. Apart from that we had an excellent stay at this hotel, it's clean and comfortable. the room we had was supposed to sleep 4, two on a sofa bed. The sofa bed was set up making the room seem small and cluttered. As we didn't need this we asked reception if they could take the bedding off it and we'd just have it as a sofa. They did this whilst we were out and this made the room quite a decent size. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom excellent, the best one I have been in for a while from a safety point of view, walk in shower and grab rails (as someone who has had a hip replacement I am always concerned about baths/showers that don't have suitable grab rails or are slippery).
Breakfast was good, the restaurant was pleasant, with a large assortment of hot and cold food, and the bar was really nice. All the staff we dealt with were polite and helpful.
The hotel is a five minute walk from the rail station and it's another five minute walk into the centre or to the Minster. We parked in an NCP multi storey a few minutes away, you get a ticket from the hotel which gives you a reduced rate, it was locked up at night so we knew the car was safe
All in all we thought this hotel was excellent value for money and we'd definitely recommend it to anyone wanting a few days in York.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sal1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2013

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was delighted to read that you liked the hotel and that you had a lovely stay .

Please accpet my apologies for the few issues you had with the rate on check in. I can only assume that this was down to a technical problem, but hopefully we resolved this to your satisfaction.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit to York.

Kind Regards
Victoria Burnham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2013

my friends and i stayed at this hotel over the weekend 3rd feb and have gotta say we all agreed it was a lovely hotel from the welcome we recieved on arrival all the way through to departure what lovely staff even the night guy(allan) when we came in the bar for a night cap a little bit tipsy was great mind you his colleague didnt look too thrilled to see 3 drunk women coming in at 3 in the morning but allan chatted to us and was lovely. Breakfast next day was nice even though they ran out of food we wasnt kept waiting long and all the staff were very professional. All in all a lovely stay and we will certainly be recommending to our friends.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kath h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2013

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was delighted to read that you liked the hotel and that you had a lovely stay .

I am sorry you had to wait for breakfast, we do try our best to ensure delays are kept to a minimum, however this is sometimes difficult to predict given the fact that we offer a free breakfast, which all guests are entitled to, which means at certain times we do get extremely busy. On a positive note, I am glad you thought the team managed it well.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit to York.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2013

Stayed at the Hampton by Hilton on Sunday 3rd February. Hotel is new and very modern, great location, 2 mins from NCP car park and 5 mins walk over the bridge into the centre of York. Requested quiet room on a high floor which is just what we were given, nice touch my management a birthday card for my partner was in the room. Room was great, modern and very well laid out, even a sofa with a foot rest. Bathroom was fab, had a large walk in shower and not only shower gel, shampoo, conditioner had hand wash and moisturiser by the sink.
Staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was fine. I would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lawrenceEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2013

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was delighted to read that you liked the hotel and that you had a lovely birthday .

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit to York.

Kind Regards
Victoria Burnham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2013

Clean and neat new hotel,I am sure it will be a favourite of many if the service continues like this. I would recommend the Hampton to anyone,just 1thing be prepared for a bit of a wait if you go for breakfast at the wrong time as it can get busy but the lovely staff do their best to accommodate everyone ASAP

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank bargainbucket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2013

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was delighted to read that you liked the hotel and that you had a lovely stay .

I am sorry you had to wait for breakfast, we do try our best to ensure delays are kept to a minimum, however this is sometimes difficult to predict given the fact that we offer a free breakfast, which all guests are entitled to, which means at certain times we do get extremely busy. On a positive note, I am glad you thought the team managed it well.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit to York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#39 of 47 in York
2,949 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 47 in York
1,458 reviews
1.2 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton by Hilton York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton York

Address: Toft Green, York YO1 6JT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range: £81 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton by Hilton York 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton by Hilton York is five minutes' walk from York railway station in the heart of the historic city centre. Stay in a cosy guest room and sleep well on a comfy Hampton bed(C), staying connected in your guest room with free high-speed internet access. We also offer a range of amenities to make your stay more enjoyable. Start each day with Hampton's inclusive hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton by Hilton York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing