We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton by Hilton York
Ranked #8 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 March 2013

This hotel opened last October. A collegue recommended it and I must say I was really impressed.
It is propably 1 notch up from a Good Premier Inn. Nice size rooms and good facilities. The staff were friendly and gave a good service. Rooms were very clean too. The bar food is a bit average, but ok when you just want a lite bite. Good bar facilities and to top it all the location is great, 2 minute walk from the station, but in a quite location.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2013

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was delighted to read that you liked the hotel and that you enjoyed your break.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit .

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,625)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,383 - 2,389 of 2,625 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2013

My friend and i meet up regularly (in the middle ) for the both of us is york . Usually we stay on the other side of the river near the minster but decided to pick the hampton for the closest to the rail station . Easy to find turn left from station round the first round about is the cedar hotel turn in the gated walkway past the cedar,council offices on left look right and its there . Checkin is easy the hotel is rather like a posh ikea in appearance ,clean lines, mahogany and beige effect carries through to the rooms . Large spacious , we had room 424 on the corner of the 4th floor . lovely and clean with free toiletries , hairdrier , wi fi etc . cleaned and re stocked with tea and coffee nt day .The breakfast is served 6am till 10am we went down about 830 and found that time fine ,no q and plenty to eat serve yourself with a choice of cereals, fresh fruit ,cooked breakfast ,toast and preserves and unlimited drinks . When we checked out thurs morning we were able to leave our cases till it was time for the train a bonus as it left us free to go back into town for a bit . All in all a wonderful stay not fair to single any staff member out as they were all great . Will certainly be booking a return trip !

Room Tip: rooms high up lovely and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bomberslady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2013

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was delighted to read that you and your friend liked the hotel and that you enjoyed our free breakfast.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit .

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Good central location only 2 minutes from the city centre, staff very friendly and helpful. Lack of on site parking the only let down, however public car park at end of the street, would recommend for any type of visit to York.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jimarthurs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2013

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was delighted to read that you liked the hotel and that you enjoyed your stay .

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit .

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Stayed for a couple of days over Valentines day and couldn't have been more impressed with the price and location. We had a basement room (if you can call it that) it was simply lower than the road looking out onto the attractive building next door. The room had high ceilings and a lovely walk in shower. It is only a few minutes to cross the bridge to the shops and the attractions. The city centre had a power cut the first night but the bar continued to serve in the glow of the emergency lighting before it came back on again. It is definitely an option to consider when staying in York.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flossie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2013

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was delighted to read that you liked the hotel and that you enjoyed your Valentine's break.

Please accept my apologies for the power cut, unfortunately it was out of our control, however hopefully the low lighting added to the romance of your evening!

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit .

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Me and my good lady decided to pay a visit to York just for a couple of days. We looked on various websites and decided to stay at the Hampton by Hilton at York for the Friday night. We made this dicision having read the previous reccommendations.
Well folks, they were all correct. The reception staff were 1st class, and we were quickly pointed in the direction of the nearest car park, NCP which was about 100 yards away ( don't forget t to have your car park ticket validated by the hotel before leaving, it saved us £7 for one night ) The room was fantastic, the bed very comfy, and the pillows aaaarg ! so relaxing. We had a drink in the hotel before going to bed, I had a pint of Stella Artois, at £3.50 not over the top. It went flat very quickly though. Havind said that, a member ofthe bar staff asked if everything was OK, and having been told about the poor quality of the beer, she replaced it with alarge whiskey. Brilliant.

The Breakfast " experience " was something else. Not complainaing here, but I think that everybody in the hotel seemed to converge in the dinning room at 9am. It was like a bun fight trying to get a table. However, after a few minutes, we found a table. The food on offer was extensive, wqarm and very tastey.

Will we stop there again, YES.

Will we reccommend this hotel to others YES

Room Tip: Room 414 was perfect. No noise. Peacefuly nights sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2013

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was delighted to read that you liked the hotel and that you liked the beds.

Thanks for your comments regarding breakfast. We do try to alert guests to which times are busy for breakfast, but hopefully you weren't too inconvenienced and I was gald you managed to get a table quite quickly.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit .

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Had an enjoyable stay in the half term break. Staff on reception very friendly and helpful. Room ok size but not as generous as Premier Inn Family rooms. Everything very clean and great view of York eye from window at end of our corridoor. Breakfast pros were the option of having a take out hot drink in disposible cup (boys enjoyed breakfast then had a hot chocolate to go). The breakfast niggle with me was no tomatoes but that is just a little niggle as there was lots of choice of other items. The validation of car park pass did not work but gentleman on reception informed me of this and to just press the help button at pay machine and the discount would be taken off remotely which it was with no hassle. Would return.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mariaofsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2013

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was delighted to read that you liked the hotel and that you enjoyed your stay with your family.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit .

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Hotel was very clean, looked like it had a referb as everthing looked new.
bathroom and bedroom very clean. Breakfast was ok, not very warm tho. There was a good selection of hot and cold food to choose from. Overall a good hotel which I would revisit.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheBockos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2013

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was delighted to read that you liked the hotel and had an enjoyable stay.

Thank you for your feedback regarding breakfast. I am sorry that it did not meet your expectations on this occasion. Please be assured that your comments will be passed to the chef in order to ensure this does not happen again.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit .

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 47 in York
2,999 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
1.2 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton by Hilton York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton York

Address: Toft Green, York YO1 6JT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range: £69 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton by Hilton York 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton by Hilton York is five minutes' walk from York railway station in the heart of the historic city centre. Stay in a cosy guest room and sleep well on a comfy Hampton bed(C), staying connected in your guest room with free high-speed internet access. We also offer a range of amenities to make your stay more enjoyable. Start each day with Hampton's inclusive hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton by Hilton York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing