We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, not so great breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton by Hilton York
Ranked #8 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 March 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights over a weekend and the price was roughly the same as the Premier Inn as York is not the cheapest city to visit. The hotel was in a great location with the NCP car park just down the road. The room had everything you needed - only minor complaints were that the room was a little cold (it was a very cold weekend) and there were no biscuits. The bathroom was great with a massive shower and lots of shower gel, shampoo and conditioner. The breakfast is deemed to be 'free' as it is included in the room price so difficult to complain but there wasn't a great deal of choice for hot options - no tomatoes, mushrooms or fried eggs - and on Sunday morning the breakfast room was super busy. All the staff were friendly and helpful and the bar prices weren't outrageous as can sometimes be the case. Would definately stay again if the price was right.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maryios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2013

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was delighted to read that you liked the hotel and that you enjoyed your stay .

Thank you for your comments regarding breakfast. As you mentioned, breakfast does tent to be quite busy, however we do try our best to inform guests as to when the quieter times are. I am glad that you found the staff helpful however.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit .

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,548)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,306 - 2,312 of 2,548 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2013

The hotel looks close to the station, but you cant actually get in that way and it's quite a hike around to gain access. We did wait a while to check in and staff seemed happier going about their work than making eye contact, but the room was very nice indeed. Spacious, modern and elevated by touches of luxury. A small sofa was a decent addition too.

General areas were clean and well maintained also. For us, a big part of a hotel stay is a nice cooked breakfast. I have to say, this was the worst I've encountered in my entire life. Ingredients consisted of burned bacon, low quality sausage, beans and the worst processed scrambled egg I've ever tasted. It didn't even look like egg, and it was truly disgusting. You wouldn't get this in an army mess today, let alone a decent hotel. A cooked breakfast needs more ingredients such as tomatoes and mushrooms and the staple ingredients need to be of reasonable quality and properly cooked. Come on Hampton. Stop being such cheap skates. Prisoners would complain about this standard of food and it really put a damper on our stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel.

It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay.

I sincerely apologise that on this occasion our breakfast did not meet your expectations.

Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards.

I do hope that you will choose to stay with us again soon.

Thank you once again for your review.

Victoria Burnham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Just returned from a short stay at Hampton by Hilton. Hotel only opened in Oct 12 . Excellent price included a buffet style breakfast with hot food. Hotel ideally situtated only 5 minutes walk into city centre.Not recommended for car drivers as Car Park NCP costs £10. a day - let the train take the sstarin and relax whilst in the delightful city.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same. A sofa bed to sleep 2 persons is also in your room so ideal for a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank avisanddavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2013

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was delighted to read that you liked the hotel and that you enjoyed your stay and our free breakfast.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit .

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

We only stayed for one night. The rooms were spacious and comfortable but the bar, reception and breakfast areas were very clinical and pretty average. The hotel lacked any character or atmosphere which was disappointing in such a charismatic city as York. The service at the bar was poor, in that; the staff did not seem to be enjoying their job and the service was slow. The breakfast was poor quality and more like a fast food joint than a high rated hotel. Overall; would not recommend or stay here again. I have been to much better hotels for the same money or less.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel.

It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay.

I sincerely apologise that on this occasion our breakfast did not meet your expectations.

Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards.

I do hope that you will choose to stay with us again soon.

Thank you once again for your review.

Victoria Burnham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013

This hotel opened last October. A collegue recommended it and I must say I was really impressed.
It is propably 1 notch up from a Good Premier Inn. Nice size rooms and good facilities. The staff were friendly and gave a good service. Rooms were very clean too. The bar food is a bit average, but ok when you just want a lite bite. Good bar facilities and to top it all the location is great, 2 minute walk from the station, but in a quite location.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2013

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was delighted to read that you liked the hotel and that you enjoyed your break.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit .

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

My friend and i meet up regularly (in the middle ) for the both of us is york . Usually we stay on the other side of the river near the minster but decided to pick the hampton for the closest to the rail station . Easy to find turn left from station round the first round about is the cedar hotel turn in the gated walkway past the cedar,council offices on left look right and its there . Checkin is easy the hotel is rather like a posh ikea in appearance ,clean lines, mahogany and beige effect carries through to the rooms . Large spacious , we had room 424 on the corner of the 4th floor . lovely and clean with free toiletries , hairdrier , wi fi etc . cleaned and re stocked with tea and coffee nt day .The breakfast is served 6am till 10am we went down about 830 and found that time fine ,no q and plenty to eat serve yourself with a choice of cereals, fresh fruit ,cooked breakfast ,toast and preserves and unlimited drinks . When we checked out thurs morning we were able to leave our cases till it was time for the train a bonus as it left us free to go back into town for a bit . All in all a wonderful stay not fair to single any staff member out as they were all great . Will certainly be booking a return trip !

Room Tip: rooms high up lovely and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bomberslady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2013

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was delighted to read that you and your friend liked the hotel and that you enjoyed our free breakfast.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit .

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Good central location only 2 minutes from the city centre, staff very friendly and helpful. Lack of on site parking the only let down, however public car park at end of the street, would recommend for any type of visit to York.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jimarthurs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2013

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was delighted to read that you liked the hotel and that you enjoyed your stay .

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit .

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 47 in York
2,920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,432 reviews
1.2 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton by Hilton York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton York

Address: Toft Green, York YO1 6JT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range: £85 - £211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton by Hilton York 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton by Hilton York is five minutes' walk from York railway station in the heart of the historic city centre. Stay in a cosy guest room and sleep well on a comfy Hampton bed(C), staying connected in your guest room with free high-speed internet access. We also offer a range of amenities to make your stay more enjoyable. Start each day with Hampton's inclusive hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton by Hilton York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing