We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton by Hilton York
Ranked #9 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Hull - Yorkshire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fab hotel”
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Just returned from one night's stay at Hampton by Hilton. Brilliant location right opposite the train station. For those arriving by train, leave the station and walk left - you will see after @ 200yds Cedar Court Grand hotel on the right - walk through the courtyard to the right of their hotel and when through the courtyard, turn right - the Hampton is 100 yds ahead.

Staff are friendly, rooms are bright and modern, bar area is excellent value - pint of premium Stella lager just £3.30 - absolute bargain for such a better class hotel. Breakfast is plentiful.

Could not fault our stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Captain_Merlot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 26 March 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was delighted to read that you liked the hotel and that you enjoyed our free breakfast, and I am glad that you found the bar prices reasonable.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit .

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,266
    838
    192
    29
    15
See reviews for
556
1,004
82
252
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

First time at a Hampton - highly impressed!
My wife and I stayed here for three midweek nights. Having travelled up by train, it was nice to find the hotel was only a couple of minutes around the corner. The hotel is only a matter of minutes away from the centre of town, yet far enough away not to get caught up in the tourist bustle, albeit, it was March!
I made the booking over the internet and asked for a quiet room away from the road. We were very pleased to find on arrival, that we had been allocated the very end room on the third floor, away from the road - peaceful to say the least. The room was bigger than we expected and was very well appointed. Comfortable bed, good hot shower and very, very clean.
Breakfast was self service and very well organised, with regular replenishment of stock. Options were good, ranging from fresh fruit and cereals to full cooked. Everything we had was of a good quality. We ate out each evening, but what we saw of the evening options, they looked quite standard fare, but with the number of restaurants in York, it is likely that most people would eat out.
All of the staff we found to be very helpful and efficient, each finding time to make you feel welcome. The management should be commended for how well they run the hotel.
We would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to everyone looking for a reasonably priced hotel in York.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are quiet and away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tredelerch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 25 March 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was delighted to read that you liked the hotel and that you enjoyed our free breakfast, and I am glad that we were happy with the room we alloacted for you.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit .

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

The Hampton is ideally placed close to the railway station, situated within the old city walls and just a short walk to the town centre and the cathedral. It's a modern Hotel with nice reception and facilities, it's bedrooms are spacious, the beds are really comfortable and the shower room is very nice. I'll certainly stay at the Hampton by Hilton when next in York. Although the Hampton has no parking itself it does have a deal with the NCP car park 50 metres down the road that gives you 24hours parking for £10, that's about 40% off. That's cheap for parking anywhere in York!

Room Tip: Any room is a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ripleylad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 25 March 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was delighted to read that you liked the hotel and that you enjoyed your stay.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit .

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 March 2013

We stayed here for one night with family while we enjoyed a night out in York. The rooms were spacious and immaculately clean. Staff were friendly and helpful throughout. The hotel is in a great location and walking distance to some lovely bars and restaurants. Breakfast was good, with a selection of hot food and also fruit, croissants and cereals. All in all we had a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ktownchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 25 March 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was delighted to read that you liked the hotel and that you enjoyed our free breakfast.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit .

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Lovely hotel with great views of the city, excellent staff who were very helpful, clean rooms, would defiantly stay here again. Hotel in perfect location for bars, restaurants and shops. Right beside train station.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BevAndCarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 25 March 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was delighted to read that you liked the hotel and that you enjoyed your stay.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit .

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moraira, Spain
Level Contributor
69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

We visited here in March for my Husbands birthday, the Reception Staff were friendly and welcoming, the layout of the hotel good and the rooms were lovely and comfy and well designed.

We stayed for 3 nights and it was one of the best hotel rooms we have stayed in, we had really good nights sleep was comfortable and warm and the area was lovely and quiet, what more could you ask for?

Breakfast was included in our stay and it was really good, there was such a good variety of choices and the only thing I could find they were lacking was decaf tea although in fairness they might have had it as I didn't ask, it made a change to have normal tea.

It was only a 5 minute walk from the train station, from the station turn left and go under the road archway on the right look for the Cedar Court hotel, cut across in front of the entranced and then look to your right and you'll see Hampton up the hill.

I would recommend this place to anybody that likes a bit of style and comfort

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 25 March 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was delighted to read that you liked the hotel and that you enjoyed your husbands birthday with us. You will be pleased to know that we do have decaffinated tea available at the breakfast buffet as well.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit .

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
234 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

This was our third stay at the Hampton Inn, York and we will stay there the next time we are in the area, The hotel is new and is a little difficult to find but is within five or six minutes walk of York station. The rooms are all the same. They are well designed and of a very good standard and with comfortable super king beds. The bed is perfect for our sleeping comfort. Breakfast is included in the price of the room. The staff was welcoming and made us comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for the fifth floor. Nice view of the York ferris wheel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerald P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 22 March 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was delighted to read that you liked the hotel and that you enjoyed your stay.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit .

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
1,198 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.1 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#10 of 46 in York
1,161 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#39 of 46 in York
2,709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton by Hilton York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton York

Property: Hampton by Hilton York
Address: Toft Green, York YO1 6JT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 46 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton by Hilton York 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton by Hilton York is five minutes' walk from York railway station in the heart of the historic city centre. Stay in a cosy guest room and sleep well on a comfy Hampton bed(C), staying connected in your guest room with free high-speed internet access. We also offer a range of amenities to make your stay more enjoyable. Start each day with Hampton's inclusive hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton by Hilton York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing