We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton by Hilton York
Ranked #8 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Arrived by train and found the hotel to be close to the station - just a couple of minutes walk. The hotel itself is modern, bright and airy, and spotlessly clean, with friendly and helpful staff. The breakfast selection is excellent with plenty of choice, but make a point of getting there early as it does tend to get busy. All the City attractions are just within a few minutes walk, and after a hectic day sightseeing it was good to relax in the comfortable hotel bar for a nightcap with the drinks at very reasonable prices. We had no problem with noise whatsoever, and whilst we were there the glazed widows were being upgraded. I have no hesitation of recommending this hotel, and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2013

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was delighted to read that you liked the hotel and that you enjoyed our free breakfast, and enjoyed your break.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit .

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,641)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,341 - 2,347 of 2,641 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2013

We researched a lot of hotels before booking this one for a weekend in York. The hotel is clean, modern and has everything you could need to stay in York. Most of the city attractions are within a short walking distance. We read previous reviews regarding noise from the nightclub opposite, but our 2nd floor rooms, one front one rear, were fine and we slept well even with a busy weekend nightclub trade. We also thought the breakfast selection to be very good and although the breakfast room could get busy, the staff were very accommodating and quickly cleared tables for guests to use. The modern bathroom was excellent, although my teenage son complained that he couldn't work out the shower controls!! We used the NCP to park our car and the lady at reception was very efficient ensuring we had the correct ticket for a discounted rate. Overall, a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jrh422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2013

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was delighted to read that you liked the hotel and that you enjoyed our free breakfast, and enjoyed your Easter break. I was also pleased to hear that you had a good nights sleep. We have recently had additional glazing installed which is clearly preventing any potential noise from being expereinced in those rooms.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit .

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

We spent two nights in the York Hampton by Hilton the week after Easter. Cannot fault the hotel. Room modern, clean and well equipped. Staff polite and helpful. Breakfast plentiful, varied and reasonable quality. Good central location. Would stay again and recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 936nicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2013

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was delighted to read that you liked the hotel and that you enjoyed our free breakfast, and enjoyed your Easter break.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit .

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Having read reviews we booked this hotel mainly because it was 'opposite' the railway station. Well it is, but only as the crow flies! It is a 5-7 minute walk from the station which isn't far unless the weather's bad and you're dragging luggage. So that was downside number one. Downside number 2 was the nightclub across the road from which drunken youths could be heard yelling and shouting until the early hours on the Saturday and Sunday nights we stayed. I had already read reviews on this and so on booking 2 months before hand, requested a room at the book of the hotel as advised by reviewers. But we ended up at the front with no apology or explanation when we checked in. However, when we were waiting to leave, we heard the same check-in clerk explaining the situation to people checking in. The room itself was lovely and spotlessly clean. The breakfast was more than enough to keep you going for hours with plenty of variety although because it was busy, the tables weren't being cleared away fast enough and we eat our breakfast amongst other people's dirty dishes. I would say that overall this is an excellent hotel and would recommend it to anyone who is not staying at a particuarly busy time (Easter) and is fortunuate enough to have a room at the back of the hotel if the stay covers a weekend. Personally, I would not take the chance again and would definitely prefer to stay somewhere else and get a decent night's sleep!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel and check before you arrive that this has been allocated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sue5312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel.

It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay.

I sincerely apologise that on this occasion we not meet your expectations. You may be interested to know that we are currently in the process of having addiditional work carried out to the glazing in all rooms overlooking the front of the hotel, so any future noise will be eliminated.

Your feedback however is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards.

I do hope that you will choose to stay with us again soon.

Thank you once again for your review.

Victoria Burnham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Clean, modern hotel ideal for a short break. Arrived at 11am to be told our room was a lovely view room but not ready yet. Arrived back at 4pm to be told that room had gone! Child's bed had not been made up despite emails prior to arrival asking that this would be done having seen previous reviews saying this had not happened. Having been given an alternative room (no bath) overlooking a nightclub, we were joined by another couple ten minutes later who had also been allocated the same room! Danny on front desk was fantastic and the assistant manager listened to concerns and acted to address the problems,
Breakfast was ok but not as good as many hotels we have stayed in. I think we were victims of a very busy time where mistakes were made and therefore did not see a fair reflection of what the hotel may well be like for the majority of visitors.

Room Tip: Double check your room allocation!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boing7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel.

It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay.

I sincerely apologise that on this occasion we not meet your expectations.

Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards.

I do hope that you will choose to stay with us again soon.

Thank you once again for your review.

Victoria Burnham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Absolutely faultless! we booked this hotel based on Trip advisor recommendations and we were not disappointed. Staff - so professional, hotel - spotless, location - perfect, all bars and restaurants within 5-10 minutes walking distance. We specifically asked for a quiet room away from street noise when we booked it originally (nightclub directly opposite the front of the hotel) but when we checked in, our room was directly opposite the nightclub!! Within minutes, staff arranged to re-locate us and our room was perfect. Breakfast gorgeous, fresh and hot! Excellent selection. Will without doubt be returning here and cannot wait!! Its a credit to the management and staff at this hotel! I just wish every hotel would adopt the same professionalism. Cant wait to see you again!! Fergal & Linda.

Room Tip: Ask to be re-located away from front of hotel - nighclub opposite and could be noisy in the early ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fergal007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2013

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was delighted to read that you liked the hotel and that you enjoyed our free breakfast, and other facilities we offer.

You will be pleased to hear that we are currently having additional glazing installed to the front windows, so there should be no more issues with noise from now on.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit .

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

good place to go too
close to mostly every thing
5 min waking from the station
good clean rooms the only thing which i did not like is the breakfast was so normal for a hotel like this but
room was so good that is way am advising any one to go to this hotel

Room Tip: room facing the street is good the more the higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dxb_essa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2013

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was delighted to read that you liked the hotel and that you enjoyed your stay, however I was disspointed to hear that you didn't enjoy your free breakfast and would be greatful if you would provide us with more feedback by e-mailling the hotel at QQYTG_hampton@hilton.com, so that we can fully investigate the issues you exerienced?

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit .

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,550 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 47 in York
3,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
0.6 mi away
Hotel 53
Hotel 53
#30 of 47 in York
1,904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton by Hilton York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton York

Address: Toft Green, York YO1 6JT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range: £73 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton by Hilton York 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton by Hilton York is five minutes' walk from York railway station in the heart of the historic city centre. Stay in a cosy guest room and sleep well on a comfy Hampton bed(C), staying connected in your guest room with free high-speed internet access. We also offer a range of amenities to make your stay more enjoyable. Start each day with Hampton's inclusive hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hampton by Hilton York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing