We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost but a disappointment.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton by Hilton York
Ranked #9 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Almost but a disappointment.”
Reviewed 9 April 2013

When we visited it had been snowing. This was a slight problem as we had to park in the NCP Car park 100 metres from the hotel, we then had to pull our luggage up a snowy uphill road. Check-in was very pleasant and welcoming. The room was very clean and modern with very good facilities, however during the night it was swelteringly hot even with the air conditioning on the lowest temperature, we didn't even have a window that could open! During the night the corridor was noisy and the noise of banging doors seemed to travel. There was also a night club directly opposite the hotel, we didn't hear noise from that, but do wonder if the noise in the corridor was linked... Breakfast was not particularly exciting a self service free for all fighting for table space. Overall a nice hotel just lacking in some areas.

Reading other people's reviews I have noticed the generic response to the customer reviews, which I now anticipate. It's really tells you all you need to know...

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimRuth24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was sorry to hear that your sleep was disturbed by other guests in the corridors. We do have staff on 24 hours a day to deal with issues such as disturbances from other guests, I am on sorry that you did not bring this to our attention at the time so that we could have investigated the noise.

I would also like to apologise for the issues you experienced with the air conditioning in your room. We do try to rectify all issues as an when they arise, and we will certianly be conducting a thorough check of all our rooms in order to ensure that the air conditioning is fully operable for all future guests.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,289
    845
    196
    32
    15
See reviews for
569
1,016
82
257
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

A new hotel located in a very good location for access to the railway station and the centre of york.
Staff were very friendly and helpful. Everything is very new and fresh as you would expect.
Breakfast time was a little bit chaotic and although you may get bored with the selection if staying more than a few days, what was available was good.

The hotel is across the road from a night club and although our room overlooked it we were not disturbed by it.

Room Tip: If you think you may be concerned about the night club ask for a room on the opposite side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carmass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was delighted to read that you liked the hotel and enjoyed your break. I was also pleased to hear that you had a good nights sleep. We have recently had additional glazing installed which is clearly preventing any potential noise from being expereinced in those rooms.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit .

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Situated in the heart of York, a stones throw from the river. No car parking but nearby NCP. Take your ticket to the hotel for a discount.

Modern hotel with good sized, well equipped rooms. Cant open windows so can get a bit stuffy or noisy if you turn air conditioning to max (even then not very efficient).

Breakfast area is too small so can be a bit of a scrum at peak times.

Staff very friendly. Reasonable value for money.

Overall a very good hotel.

Room Tip: All pretty much the same and no real views to talk about
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tiredbusinessman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was delighted to read that you liked the hotel. I was sorry to hear that the air conditioning wasn't working very well in your room. We will certainly be investigating this in order to ensure that is fully operable for any future guests.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit .

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Arrived for an overnight and one of the rooms wasn't ready until 3.15 which was inconvenient but not a disaster. The rooms were lovely and had hair dryer and iron . Iron kept fusing the lights , however when notified the staff were vert quick to sort it out . All in all a decent stay

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was sorry to hear that we were not able to get you into your room until 3.15pm. Admittedly during the school holidays guests tend to check out a lot later and check in earlier which means that occasionally rooms are not ready on time. I appreciate however that this must have been frustrating for you, and I would like to personally apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused you.

I was also extremely concerned to hear about the issue you had with the iron, but on a positive note, I am glad that we were able to rectify this while you were staying with us.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit .

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford Haven, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Arrived by train and found the hotel to be close to the station - just a couple of minutes walk. The hotel itself is modern, bright and airy, and spotlessly clean, with friendly and helpful staff. The breakfast selection is excellent with plenty of choice, but make a point of getting there early as it does tend to get busy. All the City attractions are just within a few minutes walk, and after a hectic day sightseeing it was good to relax in the comfortable hotel bar for a nightcap with the drinks at very reasonable prices. We had no problem with noise whatsoever, and whilst we were there the glazed widows were being upgraded. I have no hesitation of recommending this hotel, and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was delighted to read that you liked the hotel and that you enjoyed our free breakfast, and enjoyed your break.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit .

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

We researched a lot of hotels before booking this one for a weekend in York. The hotel is clean, modern and has everything you could need to stay in York. Most of the city attractions are within a short walking distance. We read previous reviews regarding noise from the nightclub opposite, but our 2nd floor rooms, one front one rear, were fine and we slept well even with a busy weekend nightclub trade. We also thought the breakfast selection to be very good and although the breakfast room could get busy, the staff were very accommodating and quickly cleared tables for guests to use. The modern bathroom was excellent, although my teenage son complained that he couldn't work out the shower controls!! We used the NCP to park our car and the lady at reception was very efficient ensuring we had the correct ticket for a discounted rate. Overall, a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrh422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was delighted to read that you liked the hotel and that you enjoyed our free breakfast, and enjoyed your Easter break. I was also pleased to hear that you had a good nights sleep. We have recently had additional glazing installed which is clearly preventing any potential noise from being expereinced in those rooms.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit .

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincoln
1 review
Reviewed 5 April 2013

We spent two nights in the York Hampton by Hilton the week after Easter. Cannot fault the hotel. Room modern, clean and well equipped. Staff polite and helpful. Breakfast plentiful, varied and reasonable quality. Good central location. Would stay again and recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 936nicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was delighted to read that you liked the hotel and that you enjoyed our free breakfast, and enjoyed your Easter break.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit .

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,249 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.4 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 47 in York
2,755 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#10 of 47 in York
1,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton by Hilton York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton York

Property: Hampton by Hilton York
Address: Toft Green, York YO1 6JT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton by Hilton York 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton by Hilton York is five minutes' walk from York railway station in the heart of the historic city centre. Stay in a cosy guest room and sleep well on a comfy Hampton bed(C), staying connected in your guest room with free high-speed internet access. We also offer a range of amenities to make your stay more enjoyable. Start each day with Hampton's inclusive hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton by Hilton York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing