We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hampton by Hilton York
Nearby Hotels
York Marriott Hotel(York)(Great Value!)
US$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$125
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Park Inn by Radisson York(York)(Great Value!)
US$221
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hilton York(York)
US$136
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$288
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel(Fulford)(Great Value!)
US$110
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$191
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$184
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$125
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn York City Centre(York)(Great Value!)
US$91
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn York(York)(Great Value!)
US$95
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$84
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,717)
Filter reviews
2,717 results
Traveller rating
1,470
962
228
38
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,470
962
228
38
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationncp car parkmodern hotelcomplimentary breakfastthe breakfast areacity centrefree wifithe sofa bedinside the city wallsexcellent hotelfew minutes walkbuffet stylegood sizeshower gelwalk in showerbeanswould definitely stay here again
Filter
Updating list...
2,406 - 2,411 of 2,717 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2013

We travelled to York by train for a 2 night stay and were so thrilled to find out how close this hotel was to the station...and the heart of York! The facilities are new and light; check-in staff were quick, knowledgeable, warm and helpful and the rooms were larger than expected. (We were given a certificate for a snack and beverage which did make us smile.) The bed was probably our most comfortable in our entire 11 day stay in England. Our room overlooked the city wall. We needed to keep in touch with family oversees and the internet worked well. Breakfast was good (a bit busy at prime time, but we had no trouble finding a table). I just have to reiterate how we appreciated the location...easy in and out to the train...near the river walk, cathedral, wall access and safe, comfortable walk back to the hotel after dinner and pubs.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Southshore4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time to complete your recent questionnaire following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was delighted to read that you liked the hotel and enjoyed your stay and in particular found or location perfect. The team and I really appreciate this fantastic feedback.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the not too distant future.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Location - About a Five minute walk from York train station if that. Five minute walk to most attractions .Central location.

Check in - very quick and efficient.

Rooms very bright and modern. Had a 32 inch tv with numerous channels .The bathroom - again very modern with lots of towels supplied. Hotel also supply shampoo/conditioner/ hand was etc. There was an iron/board and hairdryer in the room. There was also a telephone and i pod docking station with alarm .

Wifi - in all areas of hotel .Was off on 1st night of stay,but manager apologetic and was working by morning.

Breakfast . Has everything you would want for breakfast . Full English,fruits,toast,cereals,cakes,juices,tea,coffee etc. I have read other reviews and they are correct about how busy breakfast can get,but to be fair the Hotel clearly display busy times using a traffic light system .green 6 till 8 am (quiet) , amber 8 am till 9.15 am (busy) and red 9.15 am onwards ,very busy .

Bar Area - has range of usual drinks at normal Hotel prices and a small snack shop. They also sell food such as pizzas,burgers etc,but i never tried hotel food. Not fine dining if thats your thing.

Noise - never heard any ,but did stay midweek. Glaziers were at the hotel fixing further gazing to front of hotel due to nightclub being opposite entrance.Can't comment on weekend noise.

Staff - very good and very busy.

Room Tip: E mail hotel and ask for room at rear of hotel .Was really quiet.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jasoer123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time to complete your recent questionnaire following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was delighted to read that you liked the hotel and enjoyed your stay.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the not too distant future.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York.

Mike Sweeting

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Stayed here one night - fabulous location, 5 minitutes walk from the Minster. Clean, quiet and welcoming hotel. Very nice staff. Room good size with everything you could need. Free internet and good bar prices. Breakfast was included in the room price (which was very reasonable) and offer a varied choice of menu and fresh food cooked well. Disabled parking outside or the NCP car park just down the road. Only draw back was finding the hotel, directions were hard to follow - got lost but a lovely taxi driver guided me to the door to - whom I wish to say a big big thank you. The hotel is next to York council building which would have been a big help in finding the place - as I have no sat nav ! Would stay here again !

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fly243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time to complete your recent questionnaire following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was delighted to read that you liked the hotel and enjoyed your stay.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the not too distant future.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York.

Kind regards

Mike Sweeting
Mike Sweeting

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

if you want to stay in a modern hotel in the walls of the city of York and then choose this, 5 minutes on foot from the train station, 5 minutes walk from the Cathedral. The rooms are large and well equipped with 32 TV and free internet connection. Bathrooms are Villeroy Boch & with Grohe fittings. Complimentary breakfast is of good quality and self-service, (so fill your boots). The staff is excellent, reasonable prices at the bar and if you want a mouthful of food micro then they can provide. York brewery is opposite

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2013

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was delighted to read that you liked the hotel and enjoyed your break. I was also pleased that you liked the fixtures and fittings in the bathroom, and the proximity of the hotel to the city centre.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit .

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

When we visited it had been snowing. This was a slight problem as we had to park in the NCP Car park 100 metres from the hotel, we then had to pull our luggage up a snowy uphill road. Check-in was very pleasant and welcoming. The room was very clean and modern with very good facilities, however during the night it was swelteringly hot even with the air conditioning on the lowest temperature, we didn't even have a window that could open! During the night the corridor was noisy and the noise of banging doors seemed to travel. There was also a night club directly opposite the hotel, we didn't hear noise from that, but do wonder if the noise in the corridor was linked... Breakfast was not particularly exciting a self service free for all fighting for table space. Overall a nice hotel just lacking in some areas.

Reading other people's reviews I have noticed the generic response to the customer reviews, which I now anticipate. It's really tells you all you need to know...

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TimRuth24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was sorry to hear that your sleep was disturbed by other guests in the corridors. We do have staff on 24 hours a day to deal with issues such as disturbances from other guests, I am on sorry that you did not bring this to our attention at the time so that we could have investigated the noise.

I would also like to apologise for the issues you experienced with the air conditioning in your room. We do try to rectify all issues as an when they arise, and we will certianly be conducting a thorough check of all our rooms in order to ensure that the air conditioning is fully operable for all future guests.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews