We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“porto” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton by Hilton York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hampton by Hilton York
Ranked #10 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“porto”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013

This newly built hotel is very handily situated within the city walls and close to the city centre tourist attractions. The room was a good size and clean with very comfortable beds. Facilities included a tv, ironing board, iron and a small tea/coffee tray. (No biscuits) Thee en suite shower room and toilet was fine for our limited stay. If staying longer I would have liked a room with a bath. A serve yourself breakfast was included in the price and offered a selection of cereals, yoghurts, fruit and hot items. On arrival the reception staff were helpful in finding a freshly prepared room and allowing us to check in at 1200 rather than at the advertised time of 1400. This enabled us to change in our room and attend a 1400 wedding in the Minster. The biggest drawback to this hotel is the lack of its own car park. There is an arrangement for parking at an NCP car park about two hundred metres from the hotel where there is a reduced rate for hotel guests of £10 for 24 hours as opposed to the full rate of £17.The essential requirement to secure the reduced rate is to have your parking ticket validated by the reception staff. I was handed a slip when I checked in which said there had been problems with the hotels car park ticket validating machine and sure enough when I tried to pay for my parking the charge came to £17. After contacting NCP I eventually secured the reduced rate. Incidentally finding the pay station in the car park was not easy as there was no sign to indicate that it was in the furthest corner of the car park from the exit barriers.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Foodcritic186411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was delighted to read that you liked your room and found it a good size and clean. I am afraid none of rooms come with baths.

I am sorry you found the NCP car park a little challenging. We as a hotel try and do everything we can to ensure the car parking tickets are validated correctly so this discounted rate is added on.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,181
    797
    184
    27
    15
See reviews for
526
938
78
236
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

Very good location, large, modern, clean rooms, although bring your own biscuits and hot chocolate because tea/coffee tray was very poor.

Self-service breakfast in morning (get up early to avoid queues), fairly limited hot items choice, very poor tasting instant coffee dispenser (which after the poor choice of in-room drinks wasn't good), and oddly nowhere to really balance your tray when dishing up the food.

The NCP carpark across the road is handy, clean and secure but beware the special £10 for 24 hour rate that the hotel offers there (reduced from £17) as the swiping machine at reception doesn't appear to validate the card properly and you end up having to argue with a NCP call centre drone to allow you to pay the £10 (with the ineviatable queue of people building up behind you).

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank prinkipo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was delighted to read that you liked the Hotel finding it modern and clean.

We do offer more in-room Twining’s tea and Nescafe coffee available from our Front Desk 24 hours a day. I am sorry you found the Kenco coffee on breakfast not to your taste.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dukinfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

Just had an excellent stay at this hotel. Travelled by train to York and the hotel was a short walk from the station. The staff, room & facilities were great. Would definitely stay there again when in York.

Room Tip: Central for visiting York for sightseeing & shopping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DawnCheshireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was delighted to read that you liked the hotel and enjoyed your break. I will pass on your praise to our team; it is always great to receive positive feedback.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit.

Kind regards

Mike Sweeting
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

Just returned from this great hotel.We travelled by train, just 5 minutes walk to the hotel and 5 minutes walk from the hotel to the shops or minster, the room and bathroom were spotless,warm and modern, the staff were all efficient and very welcoming and the breakfast was very nice,we ate at 8am and it wasn't busy but gets busy a round 9am. We were a bit worried that our room at the front would be noisy as it directly overlooked the nightclub but due to the excellent extra glazing recently installed we didn't hear anything at all( and this was a Friday and Saturday night) We found the hotel great value for money and will definitely be returning on our next visit to York.

Room Tip: Don't worry if you are at the front ,there's no problem with noise now
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shaynewardfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was delighted to read that you liked the hotel and enjoyed your break. Thank you for your positive comments regarding the triple glazing work that has been completed at the Hotel


Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit .

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

Lovely Hotel , I have recommended you to a friend who has just booked a 4 day break with you . lovely clean rooms and the most comfortable bed ever!!, lovely breakfast and room facilities, great having an ironing board in room and great to get discounted parking. Nice short walking distance from centre. Cannot fault hotel at all or the friendly staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete your recent questionnaire following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was delighted to read that you liked the hotel and that you enjoyed your stay that much you recommended us to your friends.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the not too distant future.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York.

Mike Sweeting
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013 via mobile

Decided to book a short 2 night stay here after finding it was a better deal than premier inn through Hotels.com and quidco
I was a bit concerned at some comments saying noisy club next door but glad to say although we were there all weekend we found our stay to be the most peacefull and relaxed stop we have ever had in York
The hotel and staff were faultless with rooms large and very clean.
Breakfast was a little busy but took our food into the bar area where it was very quiet.
The location could not be better with just a short walk to all attractions. River trip was interesting and an unbelievable number of bars and restaurants to try.
A credit to the manager and staff.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rotdoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was delighted to read that you liked the hotel and enjoyed your break. I was also pleased that you liked the size of your room and the proximity of the hotel to the city centre.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit and hopefully bring some nice weather with you!

Kind regards

Mike sweeting
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tunbridge Wells
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013

We picked the Hampton for our brief 2-day trip to York for its location within the city walls and the adjacent car-park. Would have preferred an even more central less-modern hotel but they were either unavailable or had mixed reviews, or wouldn't guarantee a car space.
Very pleased with the clean spacious room and shower-room, and all the accessories. Had no problems with heating, aircon or noise as some reviewers report, although the wifi was down the night we stayed.
It's a bit more than 5 minutes to the Minster but the city is a brilliant place for walking and our car stayed in the NCP car-park for 24 hours (£17 but have your card authorised at reception and it's only £10).
Perhaps the only drawback was the scrum at breakfast but it was school holidays and we thought the staff worked really hard to clear tables, replace food, etc. and the choice was good.

The city is magnificent with its ancient city walls and the stunning Minster and numerous pedestrianised streets, and it feels busy and vibrant, probably due to the students and sightseers, and lack of traffic in the centre. We'd never visited before and we loved every minute !

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 14 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete your recent questionnaire following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was delighted to read that you liked the hotel and enjoyed your stay. We were in the process of upgrading our WIFI at the hotel, so I am sorry it was not at full strength during your stay.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the not too distant future.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York.

Kind regards

Mike Sweeting
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.1 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 976 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 46 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton by Hilton York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton York

Property: Hampton by Hilton York
Address: Toft Green, York YO1 6JT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 46 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton by Hilton York 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton by Hilton York is five minutes' walk from York railway station in the heart of the historic city centre. Stay in a cosy guest room and sleep well on a comfy Hampton bed(C), staying connected in your guest room with free high-speed internet access. We also offer a range of amenities to make your stay more enjoyable. Start each day with Hampton's inclusive hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hampton by Hilton York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing