We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton by Hilton York
Ranked #8 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2013

I'll probably echo quite a bit of what other people have already said here.

We stayed here for a couple of nights and, overall, was impressed. Our sat-nav didn't make it easy for us to find but it is close to the city centre and so within very easy reach of all the main attractions. Check-in was quick and easy and our room was large and clean with good facilities.

As others have said, the buffet breakfast was good and had a great choice but get down there before 9 as after then it's like World War Z and a horde of other guests suddenly show up and it's hard to get a seat.

A few disappointments though...

Firstly, it wasn't clear when booking that the car parking wasn't on-site. I know it's fairly common for city-based hotels to use other car parks but had I known this from the start, it may have influenced my decision to choose this hotel.

Secondly, the car park is close but only stays open until 10pm. I think this is pretty poor and means that you can't venture late beyond the city if you wanted to.

Finally, several of the TV channels didn't work. Someone else has pointed this out too so it was more than just an isolated incident.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was glad that you had an enjoyable stay and liked the hotel and it's ameneties.

I was sorry to hear that you didn't feel the car parking was suitable for your needs. Whilst we do offer discount at the NCP on Tanner Row, which is advertised on our website, there are several other car parks in the vacinity that guests are free to use. Unfortunately we do not have our own car park, as is the case with several hotels in York, but we have negociated a special discount with a local car park which we feel is of benefit to the majority of our guests. Unfortunately for security reason's the car park does close at 10pm, however you can park outside the hotel overnight if you arrive later than 10pm or need to park after 10pm.

Thank you also for your comments regarding breakfast, we are aware that breakfast can get very busy at peak times, and we do provide information at the lifts as to which are the quieter times, and ask guests to use the bar seating area as well as the restaurant. Unfortunately as we provide an inclusive breakfast for all our guests, it is often busy, especially when many guests choose to eat between 9am and 10am.

Please accept my apologies for the issue with the TV reception for some of the channels. This has since been resolved and all channels are now working fully and I am sorry that this could not be resolved dueing your stay with us.

Thank you once again for your review and we do hope you will choose to stay with us next time you visit York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,643)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,130 - 2,136 of 2,643 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2013

We stayed one night at this hotel in June, and what a lovely hotel, first impressions were very good, staff friendly, the room was lovely with a pleasant view. Good location although a good 5-10min walk to the centre, yet even in the rain this did not bother us. Breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay (despite the rain), and that you liked the hotel and the inclusive breakfast we offer.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit to York...and don't forget to pack the sunshine next time you come!

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

The hotel's location is excellent, just a 5-10 minutes walk to all the attractions in the city center. I was impresses that the room and bathroom were perfctly clean and had a nice modern decoration as most of the value-Hilton hotels. The only let down was the breakfast as i would have expected more choices like cheese or fried eggs or maybe omelettes. Coffee is not great as it's from a coffee machine, but there are nice quality tea choices. The bacon and sausage tasted good. The staff are polite and helpful. At the end of the day, the hotel is really good value for money whilst many other guesthouses or hotels are artificially increasing their prices thru the bank holiday weekend. The park is convenient. If you arrive after 6 pm, you can park on the street for £2 till the next morning 8am. The hotel has a special deal fom the NCP just 100 yards down the road, either 44% discount or £10 for 24 hours instead of £17.90 which I thought was great. Don't forget to ask for a higher floor room at the time of booking. Some of the ground floor rooms only see a high wall. In a nutshell, a brilliant hotel with reasonable prices in the city center of York.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank percan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.


I was pleased to read that you liked the hotel and found the location convenient.

Thank you for your comments regarding breakfast, whilst we are limited by what the brand allows us to provide for breakfast, we do however review our products regularly and this information will be invaluable to us when choosing what to offer.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit to York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Very short walk from the train station and close enough to walk around town and back. The hotel was clean and quiet with comfy beds. Daughter slept on the sofa bed and said it was fine. Loved the shower. Wifi and flat screen TV. Breakfast was included and there was a lot to choose from although very busy when we went. This is a perfect place for a short stay in York when traveling ny train.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hjbj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to ready that you had an enjoyable stay with your daughter, and that you enjoyed the inclusive breakfast we offer.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit to York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely two night stay here. The room was excellent. It was clean, spacious and comfortable. We both slept fantastically well. The staff were very pleasant and really helpful. The only downside was the self service breakfast. The coffee was from a machine and was not great, although the rest of the breakfast items were okay.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lendersx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was glad to hear you liked your room and had an enjoyable stay.

Thank you for your comments regarding breakfast, whilst we are limited by what the brand allows us to provide for breakfast, we do however review our products regularly and this information will be invaluable to us when choosing what to offer.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit to York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

The hotel is not bad, clean room and bathroom, quite street. The main problem is the parking: the hotel has no own parking, you must use a public parking 200 meter far. It wouldn't be such a great problem, but this parking closes at 10:00 pm, after that hour, you can't get your car, neither park it. I had a proposal for a job meeting at 7:00 pm outside York, but I had to decline, since it would have been impossible to park going back to the hotel. The only alternative is parking in the street, but it means to wake up at 7:50 am, and pay the parking at exactly eight o'clock. Well, this is not an unexpensive hotel, and I expect better services. The parking is not the only defect, here: as a Gold Hilton member I did not receive any upgrade; and the breakfast is on the bad side, poor choice of food, coffee and milk coffee among the worst I have ever drunk. Not hygienic position of forks and knives, in a shelf at about 70 cm from the floor, where trousers and legs can easily touch them. Hotel workers polite but not friendly. I left the hotel not relaxed at all.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andreasbln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was sorry to hear that you didn't feel the car parking was suitable for your needs. Whilst we do offer discount at the NCP on Tanner Row, there are several other car parks in the vacinity that guests are free to use. Unfortunately we do not have our own car park, as is the case with several hotels in York, but we have negociated a special discount with a local car park which we feel is of benefit to the majority of our guests. Unfortunately for security reason's the car park does close at 10pm, however you can park outside the hotel overnight if you arrive later than 10pm or need to park after 10pm.

Thank you for your comments regarding breakfast, whilst we are limited by what the brand allows us to provide for breakfast, we do however review our products regularly and this information will be invaluable to us when choosing what to offer.

With regards to your comments regarding your HHonors upgrade, unfortunately we are not able to offer upgrades in Hampton by Hilton hotels as all of our rooms are of the same standard. We do however offer the other HHonors benefits such as a free newspaper, and a drink and snack of our choice, or your bonus points depending on your personal preference. I am sorry that you didn't feel able to bring this to our attention at the time of your stay as this could have been explained to you.

If you do choose to stay with us again, please contact me directly and I will personally make sure that you are looked after.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit to York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stayed at the Hampton for one night while visiting York.
We had a little trouble finding the hotel by car as the sat nav got confused with no access streets. It was near to the train station and would be easy to walk to.
Once we found the hotel we were directed to park the car in the ncp car park across the road, which we did and the receptionist then stamped the ticket to add discount (cost of £10 for 24 hours parking). Check in was very easy - we had booked online.
The room 506 was very nice and very clean.
Liked: Comfy, clean bed with plenty of pillows. Small sofa seating area, ironing board & iron, hairdryer (didn't use), good size tv with plenty of channels, tea & coffee making facilities, clean bathroom with spacious shower, plenty of soap & shampoo etc.., 24 hour snack bar in reception for drinks & nibbles.
Little niggles: No shower caps, No proper curtains (just like an opaque material) so could see in the room at night with the light on, some of the channels on the tv seemed not to be tuned in properly, no water or soft drinks in the room.
We had breakfast included in our room price which had plenty of choice, although we didn't like the sausages or the scrambled egg. Everything else was good and we had plenty of toast & muffins. We were also able to make up take away tea & coffee in take out cups.
Overall we were really happy with our stay. The price was reasonable, we were within the city walls, the hotel was clean & comfy and the staff were friendly & helpful.
Would recommend & would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank millymooEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was glad to read that you enjoyed your stay, and was really pleased you enjoyed the breakfast and liked the room amenities.

Thank you for yor comments regarding the TV channels. Please accept my apologies that some of the channels were not working during your stay. This has now been rectified.

I was sorry to hear you felt the room wasn't dark enough at night. We do have black out blinds in all of our rooms as well as voiles. Perhaps you may not have noticed this?


Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit to York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,551 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 47 in York
3,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
0.6 mi away
Hotel 53
Hotel 53
#30 of 47 in York
1,905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton by Hilton York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton York

Address: Toft Green, York YO1 6JT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range: £73 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton by Hilton York 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton by Hilton York is five minutes' walk from York railway station in the heart of the historic city centre. Stay in a cosy guest room and sleep well on a comfy Hampton bed(C), staying connected in your guest room with free high-speed internet access. We also offer a range of amenities to make your stay more enjoyable. Start each day with Hampton's inclusive hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hampton by Hilton York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing