We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton by Hilton York
Ranked #9 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
“A Great Getaway”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

A great getaway, near the train station (5 minutes walk), for all you train spotters like myself. A new hotel, so the furnishing were of a high standard; the staff were always happy to help; very close to all the attractions in York; room was excellent, however, due to our room location, we did not have a mobile phone signal; there was no outlook as we were below ground floor, but that didn't personally bother us as we only used the hotel to sleep in, but may bother others.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Rob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, and that you found the staff friendly and helpful.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit to York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,425 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,321
    853
    201
    33
    17
See reviews for
591
1,030
84
260
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (372)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Great location. Rooms immaculate. Service was fabulous with very professional and friendly staff. Only criticism would be the room needs a mini bar, but aside of that it is a hotel to recomend for families and groups alike.


  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, and that you found the staff friendly and helpful.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit to York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Fantastic staff (very child friendly!) and an excellent hotel all round. The hotel is centrally located and within walking distance of tourist attractions and shops. Very good location for those travelling by train! Parking discount a very welcome bonus meaning that we paid around £14 for 27 hours. I would definitely use this hotel again!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Cheryl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, and that you found the hotel child friendly.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit to York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Nice modern quiet hotel close to all amenities. Just a few minutes walk to old town and to railway station if required. Very comfortable bedroom and excellent multi choice hot/cold breakfast. Staff, especially the manager, were very friendly. Only drawback is having to walk 100yards down hill to the NCP car park. I did not see this mentioned on the website and consequently drove around for several minutes trying to find the hotel car park. In the end I had to stop and phone reception.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Carole T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, and that you liked the hotel and the inclusive breakfast we offer.

I am sorry you missed the instructions regarding the car parking, they are on the website under the directions section. We will however take on board yur comments and look to have this information elsewhere on the website.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit to York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tring, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Stayed here for a long weekend with the family during half-term - it was clean and comfortable, and reasonably priced. Best thing perhaps is that the hotel is very well located for seeing the best of York - park the car in the nearby multi-storey and stroll across the nearby Ouse into the heart of the old city. I would certainly stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, and that you appreciated the location of the hotel.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit to York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

An absolute gem of a hotel.

> Large rooms
> Efficient staff
> Great breakfast choices
> Location perfect
> Ideal for train travellers
> Far enough out of the city to be quiet but close enough to walk

We will be back, well done to all.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, and that you liked the hotel and the inclusive breakfast we offer.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit to York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hook, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

I'll probably echo quite a bit of what other people have already said here.

We stayed here for a couple of nights and, overall, was impressed. Our sat-nav didn't make it easy for us to find but it is close to the city centre and so within very easy reach of all the main attractions. Check-in was quick and easy and our room was large and clean with good facilities.

As others have said, the buffet breakfast was good and had a great choice but get down there before 9 as after then it's like World War Z and a horde of other guests suddenly show up and it's hard to get a seat.

A few disappointments though...

Firstly, it wasn't clear when booking that the car parking wasn't on-site. I know it's fairly common for city-based hotels to use other car parks but had I known this from the start, it may have influenced my decision to choose this hotel.

Secondly, the car park is close but only stays open until 10pm. I think this is pretty poor and means that you can't venture late beyond the city if you wanted to.

Finally, several of the TV channels didn't work. Someone else has pointed this out too so it was more than just an isolated incident.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was glad that you had an enjoyable stay and liked the hotel and it's ameneties.

I was sorry to hear that you didn't feel the car parking was suitable for your needs. Whilst we do offer discount at the NCP on Tanner Row, which is advertised on our website, there are several other car parks in the vacinity that guests are free to use. Unfortunately we do not have our own car park, as is the case with several hotels in York, but we have negociated a special discount with a local car park which we feel is of benefit to the majority of our guests. Unfortunately for security reason's the car park does close at 10pm, however you can park outside the hotel overnight if you arrive later than 10pm or need to park after 10pm.

Thank you also for your comments regarding breakfast, we are aware that breakfast can get very busy at peak times, and we do provide information at the lifts as to which are the quieter times, and ask guests to use the bar seating area as well as the restaurant. Unfortunately as we provide an inclusive breakfast for all our guests, it is often busy, especially when many guests choose to eat between 9am and 10am.

Please accept my apologies for the issue with the TV reception for some of the channels. This has since been resolved and all channels are now working fully and I am sorry that this could not be resolved dueing your stay with us.

Thank you once again for your review and we do hope you will choose to stay with us next time you visit York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,304 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#37 of 47 in York
2,816 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.1 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#10 of 47 in York
1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton by Hilton York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton York

Property: Hampton by Hilton York
Address: Toft Green, York YO1 6JT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton by Hilton York 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton by Hilton York is five minutes' walk from York railway station in the heart of the historic city centre. Stay in a cosy guest room and sleep well on a comfy Hampton bed(C), staying connected in your guest room with free high-speed internet access. We also offer a range of amenities to make your stay more enjoyable. Start each day with Hampton's inclusive hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton by Hilton York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing