We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“surprisingly good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton by Hilton York
Ranked #10 of 45 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“surprisingly good”
Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

although location is good in terms of distance from station and ease of getting to spill the attractions, hotel is in a backroad of office blocks and dodgy looking bars & nightclub. not an attractive hotel outside but inside very different. Clean, modern, well furnished large room &bathroom. spotless white bed linen. only possible criticism is no bath but that is common in most hotels, huge shower though with plenty of really hot water. staff friendly and helpful. breakfast good, if slightly crowded. Will stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jah99_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, and that you found the staff friendly and helpful. I was also glad to read you enjoyed your breakfast with us.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit to York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,208
    819
    186
    28
    15
See reviews for
540
960
80
240
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bowness-on-Windermere, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Recently went on a girls long weekend with my mother. The room was spacious and well equipped - she liked the iron and ironing board, I liked the hairdryer and we both enjoyed being abled to make a cup of tea. The staff were friendly and helpful. Be aware that the car park is just down the road as we struggled initially to find it! The breakfast was plentiful and set us up well for the day. The hotel provided us with a map enabling us to find our way easily around York. It is a great central location.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your girls weekend, and that you found the staff friendly and helpful.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit to York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

There was nothing wrong with this hotel as such but having read the reviews I was expecting something great rather than ordinary. Check in was fine, room was small for a twin, facilities were ok - no bath, very weak shower, basic complimentary toiletries, the room had clearly been cleaned but having a 5 year old with me she picked up a couple of 'bits' from under the bed which weren't ours! Breakfast was good, there was free wifi and the hotel is in a good location. I wouldn't stay here again at the price I paid - I had a couple of choices for around the same price when booking this including the main Hilton in York which I've stayed at before but decided to give this a try based on the reviews but was a little disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silver69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was sorry to ready that you were disappointed with the hotel. Please accept my apologies for the lack of attention to detail regarding the vacuuming of the bedroom. I will certainly be passing this feedback onto my Head Housekeeper in order to ensure that all rooms are thoroughly checked prior to guests occupying them in future.

I was however pleased to read that the inclusive breakfast we offer and appreciated the free WiFi.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit to York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

The York Hampton by Hilton appears to be a business environment but it caters for families, couples and business people alike. All staff have excellent customer service skills and are keen to make things work for you, whilst praising the company they work for.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank padine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, and that you found the staff friendly and helpful.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit to York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Very modern hotel, close to York centre and a 5 minute walk from the train station. The room was spacious, we travelled we out 9 yr old son and there was a decent sized sofa bed for hime to sleep on. Only issue I had with the room was the shower. There was no power to it at all. We all struggled to rinse ourselves, especially me with my longish hair. Was going to complain but imagine that all the showers would have been the same.
We used the gym in the morning which had sufficient equipment and weights for a hotel workout.
Breakfast was good, hot buffet with the usual cereals and pastries available. Good start to the day. Bar was reasonable priced for a wine and a beer. There were a few cocktails advertised but changed our minds when we realised that the barman clearly didn't know how to make any of them. But of a let down. All in all a reasonably priced hotel which was clean, modern and had good facilities.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vegreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay with your family at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, and that you liked the hotel and the inclusive breakfast we offer and the gym.

I was sorry to hear you didn't manage to try one of our cocktails due to the bar team member being inexperienced. I will certainly pass on your comments to my Food and Beverage Manager to ensure that the necessary training is carried out with the team in order to ensure that this does not happen again.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit to York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We stayed here for a quick shopping weekend. It's location couldn't be any better 5 minute walk over the bridge and you can shop all you like. When we arrived the staff were very friendly and helped us in finding parking for only £10 for 24 hours, Bargain!! . The room was fabulous and clean including the bathroom.
The bar downstairs was a nice stop before going into town at night.
We both enjoyed breakfast and the choice was huge, full english, fruit, yogurts, pastries, juice and hot drinks.
We stay in York all the time and now after staying here we will not stay any where else.
Can't wait to come back!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent shopping weeeknd at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, and that you liked the hotel and the inclusive breakfast we offer.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, and we can't wait to welcome you back next time you visit York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 August 2013

A great getaway, near the train station (5 minutes walk), for all you train spotters like myself. A new hotel, so the furnishing were of a high standard; the staff were always happy to help; very close to all the attractions in York; room was excellent, however, due to our room location, we did not have a mobile phone signal; there was no outlook as we were below ground floor, but that didn't personally bother us as we only used the hotel to sleep in, but may bother others.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Rob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, and that you found the staff friendly and helpful.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit to York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 45 in York
1,087 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.1 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 45 in York
1,044 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 45 in York
2,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton by Hilton York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton York

Property: Hampton by Hilton York
Address: Toft Green, York YO1 6JT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 45 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton by Hilton York 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton by Hilton York is five minutes' walk from York railway station in the heart of the historic city centre. Stay in a cosy guest room and sleep well on a comfy Hampton bed(C), staying connected in your guest room with free high-speed internet access. We also offer a range of amenities to make your stay more enjoyable. Start each day with Hampton's inclusive hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton by Hilton York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing